1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Cell Resetting randomley

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Annonymous7, Sep 1, 2011.

  1. Annonymous7

    Annonymous7 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    42
    1
    16
    Hey guys,

    So its been about a week since I have installed cm7 BACKside-IHO rom on my rooted Optimus V. So far, its been pretty awesome. However, yesterday I noticed something. While on the usb to my desktop, charging, the cell inexplicably reset. I had no issues after that or any noticed before hand. It simply reset. This morning, I attempted to open an app 2, and each time, the cell rest. Naturally I attributed that to the app, and promptly removed the app. And just now, on the way to the soda pop machine, as I was opening an EMF app, my cell reset.

    About 2-3 days ago, I over-clocked it at 787-480. I have since brought it down a step, both min and max, and set the governor to interactive. It was on Performance.

    That being said, I suppose my question is: Any ideas what the problem might be? I'm hoping that it was simply my specific handset, and the cpu settings. Any ideas would be great.
     

    Advertisement

  2. michaelwoodcoc

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    16
    0
    35
    You posted in my thread about my phone restarting. Mine seems to do it mostly when it's plugged in. Only noticed it once when it wasn't plugged into the computer or the charger.
     
  3. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    Try making a backup in your recovery and then install the backup. For some reason It has straightened out an update or two that was doing what your experiencing. Another thing you could try is make sure that you use a ClockWorkMod recovery as it will wipe everything better when coming from a stock ROM or a different ROM. I personally use asopCWMod v3.0.2.4 as it seem to do a good job of wiping and is recommended for use with the new IHO-CM7 ROM's. Also make sure you wipe and format everything when coming from a Stock ROM or a different ROM. Wipe and format all these things when coming from a Stock ROM or different ROM:
    1.wipe cache partition.
    2.wipe dalvik cache(advanced section)
    3.wipe data/factory reset.Now that your rooted YOU MUST NEVER USE THE FACTORY RESET IN THE PRIVACY MENU ON THE PHONE
    4.format boot,system,data,and cache

    After you have a good stable version of the ROM you like,any update to that ROM will require that you only wipe cache partition and dalvik cache.

    It also doesn't hurt to wait until after you have rebooted the newly installed ROM a couple of times(this seems to tighten up the ROM and it's performance) before you install the theme(this has straightened out a few bugs I had on a couple of updates)
     
    Annonymous7 likes this.
  4. devoe420

    devoe420 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010

    Oct 27, 2010
    16
    0
    35
    I had to dial mine down to 768 for it to stay stable when running apps
     
  5. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    768MHz or 787MHz max-480MHz min seems to be the best place for battery time off charger,and for keeping your battery cooler.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...