1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Cell standby - battery use

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by StreakTheQuad, Mar 11, 2011.

  1. StreakTheQuad

    StreakTheQuad Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    193
    27
    43
    I was reviewing the battery use setting and was surprised to see that cell standby consumed 2% of my power. My xoom is not activated on VZW 3g service and my mobile data connection is disabled in the wireless and network settings.

    Anybody else notice this, or know how to disable the cell standby properly? Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #38
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    5,904
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    5,904
    3,632
    643
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    i doubt you can turn this off. perhaps if you root the device you can gain access to that permission and adjust it, but on a stock device i dont believe you can adjust.
     
  3. howarmat

    howarmat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,580
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    1,580
    229
    163
    Generation Dispatcher
    Noblesville, IN
    Doesn't show up on mine at all, i did not activate mine either
     
  4. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #38
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    5,904
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    5,904
    3,632
    643
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    i have it listed also however i have the 3G active. last i checked it was at 2% which sounds right as it needs to alert the towers to its location form time to time...
     
  5. Brian_83

    Brian_83 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    211
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010

    Mar 29, 2010
    211
    30
    43
    I believe you'll have to turn on airplane mode. That will totally turn off the 3g radio. You can then turn wifi back on manually. I also found an airplane mode tool in the market that let me choose to always leave wifi on when I enable airplane mode.
     

Share This Page

Loading...