1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Change Boot Animation/delete System Apps?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by narutoninjakid, Jan 1, 2012.

  1. narutoninjakid

    narutoninjakid Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    586
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011

    Aug 18, 2011
    586
    26
    68
    Male
    Student
    NJ
    i want to change the boot animation and sound, can i flash through CWM since i have it insatled. also how do you delete the stock bloatware? can yo do it by uninstalling through Titanium backup or do we have to use root explorer. also how would i change boot animation, i want Droid RAZR boot animation. THanks:):):)



    P.S i have clockworkmod recovery and i am rooted.

    i also have root explorer so could anyone tell me were the boot animation and its sound are located?
     

    Advertisement

  2. twistedriku

    twistedriku Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    449
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011

    Feb 5, 2011
    449
    94
    53
    For the bloatware use root explorer. Never failed me. File Expert did. And there are apps to use to flash bootanimations such as absolute system tools. You can also do it manually but you don't seem too experienced with root so let's leave that out until you do some research and feel comfortable. No the recovery will not install the bootanimation unless the zip file has a script telling it to do so. (Which I have yet to see) overall all your questions can be answered if you search through this forum. (I'd answer you right now but I don't feel like typing a page and a half detailing the instructions on my cellphone)
     
  3. blaxican25

    blaxican25 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,520
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011

    Mar 23, 2011
    1,520
    730
    213
    Another planet Far Away
    Boot animation is in system/media
     
  4. narutoninjakid

    narutoninjakid Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    586
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011

    Aug 18, 2011
    586
    26
    68
    Male
    Student
    NJ
    okay i used Romtools and managed to change teh boot animation but the phone still says MetroPcs even though i went into System/media/poweron and replaced the poweron.mp3 to a droid one with the same name of poweron.mp3. what should i do, i don't want it to say metropcs!:thinking:
     
  5. ShinySide

    ShinySide Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,504
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    5,504
    2,680
    313
    Palm Bay, Florida
    Thats not the right name or right one.Thats actually a left over VZW sound, Its in system>sounds>power and Its named MetroPCS_PowerOn.mp3
     
  6. narutoninjakid

    narutoninjakid Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    586
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011

    Aug 18, 2011
    586
    26
    68
    Male
    Student
    NJ
    thanks guys i got it, also why is Verizon stuff leftover?
     
  7. narutoninjakid

    narutoninjakid Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    586
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011

    Aug 18, 2011
    586
    26
    68
    Male
    Student
    NJ
    also would there be a way for us to change the MetroPCS on the lock screen and in the bar when we scroll down the status bar?
     
  8. twistedriku

    twistedriku Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    449
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011

    Feb 5, 2011
    449
    94
    53

    You could manually edit the eri file and just put spaces like I did on my optimus m. But I didn't like it for long because I like knowing whether I'm roaming or not.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...