1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Change CPU speed? Bugless beast?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by sentinelace, Jun 19, 2010.

  1. sentinelace

    sentinelace Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    159
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    159
    1
    36
    I noticed I had the option to choose up to 1.2GHZ and stayed with 600mhz. How can I change this setting after I've selected it?
     

    Advertisement

  2. inssane

    inssane Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,851
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009

    Dec 17, 2009
    1,851
    156
    163
    Chi-Town
    Seriously, you need to do some reading.
     
  3. nstallion

    nstallion Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,152
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    1,152
    136
    143
    San Diego, CA
    I'm assuming you mean in ROM Manager when you downloaded the ROM. That setting determines what kernel it installs with the ROM. If you want a higher clock speed you will have to download a new kernel that supports it. They can be found in ROM manager but you have to make sure they will work with your ROM.

    P3Droid's kernels can be found here: P3Droid Kernels

    They are .zips you install through recovery and you do not wipe data/cache before doing so.
     
  4. D13

    D13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,088
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    2,088
    234
    143
    Elkridge, Maryland
    +1
     
  5. sentinelace

    sentinelace Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    159
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    159
    1
    36
    yeah that is what I meant. What reading?
     
  6. Krisis

    Krisis Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    18
    3
    16
    The reading they are referring to is information about kernels (found in stickies) and in installation of Bugless Beast itself (see the links for the Bugless Beast FAQ). BB uses innate overclocking without the need for SetCPU, but it is based solely on the kernel you install and does not allow customization for profiles such as when charging, sleeping, etc. SetCPU will allow customization within the parameters of the kernel (the "slots").
     
  7. nstallion

    nstallion Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,152
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    1,152
    136
    143
    San Diego, CA
    Having a rooted phone and not even knowing what a CPU kernel does is just asking for trouble. I think that's what people are trying to point out. If you are going to have a rooted phone you need to read the stickies to know what you are doing.
     
  8. sentinelace

    sentinelace Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    159
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    159
    1
    36
    I always use SETCPU and with bugless beast I always choose 600mhz. I never said I didn't know what a cpu kernel was. I simply wanted to know if I could change it. I didn't know I had to reflash.
     
  9. tom108

    tom108 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,672
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    if you use a 600mhz kernel there is no real need for setcpu since it will never go over 600. setcpu is used to set the over clocking or throttle it down in profiles on a kernel that supports higher rates. if you read the BB threads you will see that the other kernels are options which means they need to be flashed separately.
     
  10. inssane

    inssane Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,851
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009

    Dec 17, 2009
    1,851
    156
    163
    Chi-Town
    This is my point. If you don't know that different speed kernels, 1100, 1200, LV, SV, etc need to be flashed, then you need to do some reading on these forums.

    Just because ROM Manager offers point and click convenience doesn't excuse a user from knowing what is going on during the process.
     

Share This Page

Loading...