1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support change default browser, PLEASE

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by tenchy, Aug 26, 2012.

  1. tenchy

    tenchy Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    220
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012

    Jan 9, 2012
    220
    2
    56
    UK
    I'm Trying To Change From Default Browser To Dolphin, But It Is Driving Me Insane.
    I've Done It In Dolphin, But Hasn't Made Much Difference.
    All The Thread I Find Say To Go To Settings..Blah..Blah, But I Just Don't Have Those Options!

    Nexus On 3 In UK, With jelly bean
     

    Advertisement

  2. Petrah

    Petrah Psychotic Female
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    4,086
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011

    Jun 13, 2011
    4,086
    1,468
    333
    Female
    Annoying my X-Husband
    Hanover Park, IL
    Use HomeSmack to set your default browser of choice. ;)
     
    tenchy likes this.
  3. tenchy

    tenchy Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    220
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012

    Jan 9, 2012
    220
    2
    56
    UK
    SurelyYou Shouldn't Need An App To Do It.
     
  4. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    31,526
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    31,526
    22,967
    3,118
    Scotland
    Head to settings > apps > internet (or whatever you browse is called) > clear defaults. Next time you open a link, you'll be presented with an option to open with the app of your choice..

    Aren't you seeing those options at all?

    Alternatively, if you install another browser, you'll be given the choice to choose a default next time you open a link.
     
    tenchy likes this.
  5. Petrah

    Petrah Psychotic Female
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    4,086
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011

    Jun 13, 2011
    4,086
    1,468
    333
    Female
    Annoying my X-Husband
    Hanover Park, IL
    Until you find out why it's not saving your settings, an app will tide you over. I've seen several posts about this issue with Dolphin already, so perhaps it's just a Dolphin specific issue.
     
  6. tenchy

    tenchy Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    220
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012

    Jan 9, 2012
    220
    2
    56
    UK
    Oh thank god for that!!!

    Reading el president e's post, I had a epiphony.
    On this phone it's not called internet. I'd been scrolling down to the apps beginning with I.
    Right past the one called browser... doh!

    I wish they'd keep things the same so I could follow previous help better.

    Thanks again, and yes, my rage at the phone turned me into a Muppet!
     
  7. Demache

    Demache Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,011
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    3,011
    341
    183
    Sioux Falls, SD
    It was pretty much the same....up until Android Ice Cream Sandwich 4.0 when Google redid the entire UI.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...