1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Change keyboard?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by whiskeyguy, May 6, 2010.

  1. whiskeyguy

    whiskeyguy Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    403
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010

    Apr 1, 2010
    403
    59
    53
    I downloaded shapewriter to give it a shot, but I cannot for the life of me find out how to change the default keyboard? Sorry if this is a repeat, but I've searched around and it seems like the directions are for earlier versions of Android. Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. jbdan

    jbdan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,121
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    7,121
    3,187
    513
    atl ga usa
    Open up your message app click compose and long press on the txt box. You also might need to go into menu>settings>Locale and enable the keyboard there as well.
     
  3. whiskeyguy

    whiskeyguy Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    403
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010

    Apr 1, 2010
    403
    59
    53
    Thanks for the info. I was making it more complicated that it actually was.
     
  4. jbdan

    jbdan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,121
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    7,121
    3,187
    513
    atl ga usa
    No problem glad you got it working :)
     
  5. macdaddybuff

    macdaddybuff Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    472
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    472
    160
    68
    How many of you guys use voice to text. I find it to be a great deal faster than anyone can type. Just wondering if anyone else uses it.
     
  6. jbdan

    jbdan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,121
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    7,121
    3,187
    513
    atl ga usa
    I use it sometimes (too much ambient noise while driving)....but truth be told I can more accurately Swype then I can speak :rolleyes:

    en serio I've been Swyping for months now and it's amazingly fast and rather fun at times! It's the #1 app imo :)
     
  7. dhj

    dhj Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    Apr 25, 2010
    54
    4
    16
    West Palm Beach, FL USA
    I've just started with both Swype and voice to text. They're both faster than the stock keyboard. I'm going to continue to try both...and probably use both in different contexts.
     
  8. moci737

    moci737 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 6, 2010

    May 6, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    I tried to select the keyboard but in the Locale area the only choices are English and Espanol. Couldn't locate options for other keyboards anywhere. Am I missing something?
     
  9. golfinglenn

    golfinglenn Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    233
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    233
    41
    43
    I am kinda picky about punctuation lol. vtt doesn't capitalize the first word of the sentence. Kinda bugs me lol, but if I am driving I will do that instead of text if I have the urge to reply to a text I get. Swype is awesome!!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...