1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Change ringtone according to caller id

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by look2, Jul 20, 2011.

  1. look2

    look2 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011

    Jul 20, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Sweden
    I'm looking for an app that can change ringtone depending on the caller id.

    I'm using my phone both at work and private, so i would like to assign different ringtones depending on numer series.

    If someone calls from 0872***** i want "ringtone 1"
    if someone calls from a number not starting with a 0 i want "ringtone 1"

    and for all other calls I want the default ringtone settings. is there someway to do this?
     

    Advertisement

  2. flatlander

    flatlander Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010

    Aug 7, 2010
    107
    9
    56
    Pipe Fitter
    Rhode Island
    Most phones allow you to change the ringtone for each person in your contact list. Not sure if this will help
     
  3. look2

    look2 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011

    Jul 20, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Sweden
    To chage the ringtone on every contact is not realy posibble, there are a couple of thousands employes.

    So i want a solution based on the numberseries.
     
  4. UncleMike

    UncleMike Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,323
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    2,323
    484
    163
    Central NJ
    Depending on your device, Tasker may be able to do this. On some devices, once a call comes in, Tasker seems unable to affect the ringtone, but on others it works fine.

    Tasker would allow you to match against a number pattern, and change the ringtone accordingly. You can get a 7-day free trial at the developer's web site.

    If you download Tasker and check it out for a bit, you'll understand the following better, but you would want to do something like this:

    Profile1: Set Ringtone
    Context: Phone Ringing
    Task:
    If %CNUM matches 0872*/!0*
    Default Ringtone [Type:Ringer, Sound:Ringer1]
    Else
    Default Ringtone [Type:Ringer, Sound:Ringer2]
    End

    Any time the phone rings, if the calling number begins with 0872, or begins with something other than zero, Ringer1 will be used. Otherwise, the Ringer2 will be used.
     
    look2 likes this.
  5. look2

    look2 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011

    Jul 20, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Sweden
    @UncleMike

    Thank you for your fast reply, I will try as soon as possible. However, I do have some questions, to make the solution to fit my needs better. I have tasker installed, so there is no problem to test. I have tried with tasker, but in a different way...

    Well, is it possible to do it this way instead?
    Profile1: Set Ringtone
    Context: Phone Ringing
    Task:
    If %CNUM matches 0872*/!0*
    Default Ringtone [Type:Ringer, Sound:Ringer1]
    endIF

    I was thinking this way.
    I have some groups, with there own signal assign, when using your solution, if the caller ID is not 0872**** or 0**** ringer 2 will be used and my group ringtone will be ignored?

    anyway, I will try booth solutions. If i want to add mor numbers using "ringtone1" is it just to add them into the if string? like "If %CNUM matches 0872*/!0*/03145*/02132* " and so on ?
     
  6. am78

    am78 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    28
    5
    36
    Self Employed
    USA
    I just scanned through the post... but I think I would take your idea to the app suggestion thread...

    I know I would use an app that you could set up catagories and put a different ringtone to that catagory... then when a number came in .. say it be for you a work number then all you could have to do is place it in the work catagory... then you could have friend... family... what ever other catagories you would want... you could also go into your settings and turn the notification on and off for other catagories...

    I've never used Tasker... this might even be somewhat like it... but it would be a terrific idea for an app...

    Sorry for feeling like I've high jacked your thread... but I just wanted to say that this is a really good idea for those that use their smartphones for both business and pleasure...
     
  7. Gary5

    Gary5 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    May 20, 2011

    May 20, 2011
    10
    1
    16
    If Tasker can't intercept the ringtone on your phone, you can set the global ringtone to silent, and then use Tasker to play a media sound based on the incoming number. Not sure of details like making it stop when you pick up but I think that is doable.
     
  8. look2

    look2 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011

    Jul 20, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Sweden
    @am78
    I've tried to ask on some forums for someone to develop an app that does this, but noone seemes to be interesting. I get replys like "use the built in groups" and things like that.
    But I do work on a "big" company. With aout 2000 employees, so I can't add them all to my adressbok and put them in the "buisness" category.

    I work at the it deparrtment, so i get alot of calls from people every day, so the plan is that the phone will check if the incomming number is in the range that the company use and if true it will use a speciall ringtone, if not true, it will use the default settings.

    If you have the time, and the skills to make an app that can do this i would be very greatfull, i think i can get it to work with tasker, but i won't be a "good" or nice solution.
     
  9. UncleMike

    UncleMike Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,323
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    2,323
    484
    163
    Central NJ
    I don't think it will ignore your group setting as it just changes the default.
     
  10. look2

    look2 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011

    Jul 20, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Sweden
    @UncleMike
    It's kind of working now, when someone is calling from 0872 it's ringtone 1 but it won't work when someone is calling from a number that's not starts with a 0, so when someone is calling from an internal number like 36107 is the default ringtone.

    Hmmm, I got to happy, it won't work, so I guess that I can't do this on my device with tasker :(
     

Share This Page

Loading...