1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

change tv box splash screen

Discussion in 'TV & Video' started by noobusinghacks, Apr 17, 2016.

  1. noobusinghacks

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2015

    Jul 7, 2015
    8
    1
    26
    Male
    hello all
    i have recently aquired a ott tv box and i want to make it display a custom splash screen during boot up. i cannot find any posts for changing the splash screen that arent mobile devices
    its an ott tv box 4k ultra hd 4k322x running android kitkat 4.4.4 kernel 3.10.0
    my boss wants to sell it with a custom theme and i need to change the splash screen
    thanks all in advance for any help
     

    Advertisement

  2. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,096
    3,118
    Scotland
    You need root access to be able to change the splash screen. Are the boxes rooted?
     
    noobusinghacks likes this.
  3. noobusinghacks

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2015

    Jul 7, 2015
    8
    1
    26
    Male
    thanks
    so far as i know it appears to be a default android Linux image with a custom desktop environment when i run terminal ide and update it to the latest shell the ping command is unlocked so i think so.
    how will i determine if its rooted?
     
  4. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,096
    3,118
    Scotland
    Is there an app called SuperUser or SuperSu on there? If yes, you're more than likely rooted.

    If yes, you'll need a root file browser (root explorer should do the job) and locate a file in \system\media called bootanimation.zip. You'll need to rename that, then replace it with your own, giving it the appropriate permissions.

    That's a very simple way of putting it, give me some time and I'll have a dig around to see if I can find a decent, up to date guide that details the process properly, from start to finish.
     
  5. noobusinghacks

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2015

    Jul 7, 2015
    8
    1
    26
    Male
    it does not feature super user or supersu
     
  6. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,096
    3,118
    Scotland
    You're not rooted then.

    Is rooting the box an option? It's pretty much the only way you'll be able to change the boot animation.
     
  7. noobusinghacks

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2015

    Jul 7, 2015
    8
    1
    26
    Male
    i dont know how check if rooting is an option though. its a tv box is it a play store app i can install or perhaps an apk?
     
  8. noobusinghacks

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2015

    Jul 7, 2015
    8
    1
    26
    Male
    ok so its a stock install of android so it comes rooted outta the box i installed root explorerand ill try to change the file
     
  9. FreddTV

    FreddTV Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016

    Apr 26, 2016
    9
    3
    16
    Male
    you can change the boot animation fairly easily. Go to the play store and get the app ROM Toolbox Lite. They have youtube videos on the subject.

    As far as changing the bootloader image (for example "MXQ Pro") when the box first starts up I'm looking for a solution to that as well!
     

Share This Page

Loading...