1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Changes in contacts after 2.1 upgrade

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by pridout, Jun 30, 2010.

  1. pridout

    pridout Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009

    Oct 23, 2009
    6
    0
    5
    Wokingham, UK
    Like many other I am delighted to finally have 2.1 on my Hero. But I have found a slight niggle with the way contacts are stored which seems a bit different and wondered if anyone else had noticed it and/or found an easy solution to the problem it causes.

    When I installed 2.1 I didn't check the sync settings and the default was to sync Google contacts, so it appears all those contacts have been synced to my phone. I don't use those, so I un-checked the sync Google contacts flag and set the view option in the People app to only view Phone contacts.

    My recollection is (but I could be wrong) that under 1.5, if you un-checked the sync Google contacts setting, all the Google contacts were removed. This does not seem to have happened this time. In the View contacts settings page it's still showing 1613 Google contacts.
    The real problem is that when I use the phone keypad smart dial, it still finds the Google contacts so they still come up as options. (As do the SIM card contacts despite the settings in the People app).

    Has anyone else found this? And if so, is there a way to 'un-sync' the Google contacts so that they are removed from the phone?
     

    Advertisement

  2. robogo

    robogo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    268
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    268
    16
    58
    student
    Croatia
    Why not just delete them all from your phone?
     
  3. pridout

    pridout Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009

    Oct 23, 2009
    6
    0
    5
    Wokingham, UK
    So how do I bulk delete the 1613 Google contacts? I don't want to go through them one by one deleting them. I have 148 phone contacts that I want to keep so don't really want to delete everything.
     
  4. SchOX

    SchOX Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010

    Jun 18, 2010
    27
    1
    16
    One possibility is to sync contacts with PC sync - delete all contacts on the phone and resync from PC to Phone...
     
  5. pridout

    pridout Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009

    Oct 23, 2009
    6
    0
    5
    Wokingham, UK
    Thanks SchOX. That's my fallback option. But I think that I will have to re-link all my Facebook contacts. A pain, but easier than deleting 1613 contacts individually!
     
  6. SchOX

    SchOX Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010

    Jun 18, 2010
    27
    1
    16
    In 1.5 it kept all the "FBlinks" - in 2.1, I do not know - I no longer have any Phone contacts - only Google contacts.
     
  7. omebius

    omebius Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Jun 30, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    how do you change a phone contact to a google contact?
    i want all my contacts sync'd with google but it only syncs the google ones not the phone ones. still running 1.5 :(
     
  8. robogo

    robogo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    268
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    268
    16
    58
    student
    Croatia
    On 2.1, you do it like this:

    Open up People. Press MENU. Select VIEW. Now, here you deselect everything EXCEPT Google contacts so that your phone shows ONLY your Google contacts. Press DONE. Now, press MENU again. Press DELETE. Press MENU when the contacts open, and tap SELECT ALL.

    Then hit DELETE and voila, your Google contacts should be deleted from your phone. And if you use sync, from your Gmail and Google Contacts as well :D :D

    P.S. before doing anything, best you back them all up, eh :D
     
  9. SchOX

    SchOX Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010

    Jun 18, 2010
    27
    1
    16
    There is a app called "ContactSync" witch does this, but it's buggy on hero 1.5 and here is what happened to me:

    Issue 2377 - android - "Android.process.acore has stopped unexpectedly" - caused by data that can not be synced - Project Hosting on Google Code

    My workaround was:
    The workaroud shuld be enough to do this, but not as easy as the app...
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...