1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Changing default apps

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by boristhemoggy, Jun 2, 2016.

  1. boristhemoggy

    boristhemoggy Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    46
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    I'd like a different movie player to open my mp4 files, how do I go about changing that please?
     

    Advertisement

  2. girolez

    girolez Often Off Piste
    Rank:
     #48
    Points:
    543
    Posts:
    3,845
    Joined:
    May 29, 2011

    May 29, 2011
    3,845
    1,917
    543
    Male
    Retired
    Les Gets, France
    Hi

    If you are using marshmallow (at least on a Samsung Galaxy phone)

    settings
    default apps
    set as default

    This lists all your apps and whether they are set as default. Select the apps concerned and clear or set the defaults. If you clear a default with setting a new default app, you will be given a choice next time you open a file, but your choice will become the default. If you dont like this behaviour there is an app "Better Open With" in Playstore which returns the choice each time a file is opened.

    With older android versions you need to do this in
    settings
    manage apps
    but older versions ask you each time which app you would like to use until you choose "alway use", after which the default must be cleared to get the choice again.
     
  3. boristhemoggy

    boristhemoggy Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    46
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Android 5.1, nothing at all similar to what you suggest in the menu :(
     
  4. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    36,330
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    36,330
    33,902
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Open an mp4 file and note the app that is playing it.

    Then close the app. Go to menu>settings>applications and find that app in the list under the 'all' tab. tap on the app and select clear defaults. Now go back to your mp4 file and try to open it. This time you should be presented with a list of apps that can open it. Select the player you wish to use and if you want to make that your default select 'always' otherwise select 'just once'
     
  5. boristhemoggy

    boristhemoggy Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    46
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Settings, apps, choose app, there is no menu to clear defaults. It does have a bit that says 'launch by default' but that's empty, even though it's the default player
     
  6. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    36,330
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    36,330
    33,902
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Do you have any other apps installed that can play mp4's?
     
  7. boristhemoggy

    boristhemoggy Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    46
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Yeah but they don't have an option to set them as default either. I've used one to play an mp4 file and it does, but I can't set it as default
     
  8. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    36,330
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    36,330
    33,902
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Try going to menu>settings>applications and from there tapping the menu icon and selecting clear defaults (or reset app preferences). Mind you that will clear ALL defaults.
     
  9. boristhemoggy

    boristhemoggy Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    46
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Nothing works. There are even apps running I have found that are not possible to turn off! I've deleted them all.
     
  10. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    36,330
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    36,330
    33,902
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Have you rooted your phone? Which model is it, BTW.
     
  11. boristhemoggy

    boristhemoggy Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    46
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    No, it's a motorola moto g. TBH I think am gonna get shot of it it's only got 5gig fixed memory and it never seems to do what I want.
     

Share This Page

Loading...