1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Changing default locale? Help please :)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Somsri, May 20, 2010.

  1. Somsri

    Somsri Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    I just bought an unlocked HTC Desire from Hong Kong. I haven't put a sim card in it yet as I'm waiting for my old plan to live out its contract, but I couldn't resist having a play with the Desire in the mean time

    Because I bought it from overseas I can only seem to set my default language as English and then in brackets many Asian country options, eg English (Thailand) and English (Singapore). This would be fine except it is becoming frustrating when typing because all of the predictive text etc has many Asian characters in it and I'm struggling to write accurately.
    I've tried turning off predictive text and 'check invalid sequence', but it doesnt seem to work?

    I also tried downloading the application 'more locale 2' which had english (australian) but it doesnt seem to affect the keyboard.

    Does anyone have any advice regarding how to change the initial language setting? Is there any chance that when I put an Australian sim card into it the language options will change?

    Thanks so much
     

    Advertisement

  2. Cyclone55

    Cyclone55 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    bump - same problem here
     
  3. Vin2

    Vin2 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010

    Jun 20, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    The sim card wouldn't change the language.

    I got mine from hk as well and I have no problem with it. You can change the keyboard settings to english and wouldn't get the Asian language involved.

    Or you can run "setup" again and hope it works.
     
  4. damuffinman

    damuffinman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009

    If you're only having some problems with the keyboard, consider something like Swype or another keyboard alternative.
     
  5. Fitzy2211

    Fitzy2211 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    i have the same problem. i cant seem to change the keyboard to anything other than asian languages. :(
     
  6. Linkey

    Linkey Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    10
    3
    16
  7. markdsievers

    markdsievers Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009

    Mar 16, 2009
    10
    0
    15
    +1 for the same problem.
     
  8. markdsievers

    markdsievers Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009

    Mar 16, 2009
    10
    0
    15
    Installed 'Better Keyboard' reviewed here Android Central's Keyboard Roundup | Android Central

    I would probably stick with the HTC Sense keyboard if it didnt have the Chinese toggle button, but otherwise Better Keyboard is awesome. ThickButtons is also quite cool.

    Doesn't solve the locale problem: but mine is also made in HK, set to English (Singapore), have better keyboard doing the work, and I haven't seen a piece of Chinese script since.
     
  9. zimula

    zimula Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011

    Jul 25, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    student
    south africa, johannesburg
    i need help with my desire HD, it only shows me three english options namely: emirates, egypt and saudi arabia. i cant text...at all. the keypad is arabic but the rest of the is in english...PLEASE HELP!!! oh and i live in south africa
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...