1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Changing Region?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Pants, Jul 17, 2010.

  1. Pants

    Pants Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    15
    2
    36
    Hey all,
    I found a person selling a Chinese X10, and I was wondering if/how I can change its region to Canada, change it's language to English, and make it work with Rogers.
    I would like to know these details before I buy it, so I don;'t get screwed.
    Help would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. joemonkey

    joemonkey Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    385
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    385
    12
    38
    Seattle, WA
    i have not seen anywhere on the x10 that you can change region, but wouldn't simply changing the language and time zone would suffice for canada? any unlocked phones can work with rogers.

    anyone feel free to correct me if i am wrong.
     
  3. Pants

    Pants Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    15
    2
    36
    Yea, that is the main thing i was thinking. if i unlock it and simply change the language on it, it should work. one last thing, if its a chinese phone, will english be on it as a language option?
     
  4. wooks63

    wooks63 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    201
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    201
    19
    38
    London, UK
    I'd be very cautious buying from china - can you guarantee that it's a genuine Sony Ericsson X10 and not a fake?
     
  5. RJF1

    RJF1 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010

    Dec 21, 2010
    5
    0
    25
    Well, Since I bought the phone in the United States from an ATT Store, and underneath the battery compartment, it says "Made In China" anyway, maybe its legit. But, I would still be careful, not because of buying from china (because it would come from there anyway), but because of buying it "off the street" and not from a reputable dealer.
     
  6. CuBz

    CuBz Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,656
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010

    Sep 21, 2010
    1,656
    230
    163
    Website Programmer
    UK
    lmfao! :D

    Anyway, there are some clones in china now, but these slightly differ from the original X10
     

Share This Page

Loading...