1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Changing the system launcher

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by Syreth Gracelin, Apr 10, 2016.

  1. Syreth Gracelin

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016

    Mar 5, 2016
    24
    1
    16
    What would be the proper way to switch from TouchWiz to Google Now?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    583
    Posts:
    5,559
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    5,559
    4,445
    583
    Male
    entertainer
    grand rapids,mi
    AZgl1500 and Hadron like this.
  3. Syreth Gracelin

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016

    Mar 5, 2016
    24
    1
    16
    TouchWiz is a system app, though, and I want to change that. How can I convert Google's launcher to /system without it crashing every time I try to open it?
     
  4. psionandy

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,138
    Posts:
    5,863
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009

    Dec 5, 2009
    5,863
    8,727
    1,138
    Male
    Gizmonic Institute - mug in a yellow jumpsuit
    liverpool
    You don't need to... just set google launcher as the default and it will do its thing, with touchwiz happily sleeping silently in the background.
     
    Hadron likes this.
  5. girolez

    girolez Often Off Piste
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    543
    Posts:
    3,845
    Joined:
    May 29, 2011

    May 29, 2011
    3,845
    1,916
    543
    Male
    Retired
    Les Gets, France
    Depending on what Samsung phone and android version you are using, you may need to turn off/disable Flipboard Briefing in app manager settings (if it is installed); otherwise the swipe right to show Flipboard will conflict with Google Now.
     
    AZgl1500 likes this.
  6. Hadron

    Hadron Smoke me a kipper...
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    24,681
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    24,681
    19,071
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    And the only way to convert an app to/from being a system app is to root the phone. Even then, beware: some apps won't work at all if you convert them to user apps, and every now and then we get queries from people who've done this sort of thing and messed-up (e.g. "I deleted the pre-installed launcher, then did a factory reset and now I can't do anything with my phone because I don't have a launcher").

    As @psionandy said, you don't need to bother. I use Nova Launcher on both my HTC and Samsung devices, but haven't had to do anything about the built-in launchers (they aren't running, aren't causing any problems, so why should I care that they are still sitting in the ROM?).
     
    Lordvincent 90 and AZgl1500 like this.
  7. Cyberdev

    Cyberdev Android Expert
    Recognized Developer
    Rank:
     #61
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,502
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014

    Sep 12, 2014
    1,502
    708
    313
    Male
    Daily YouTuber
    Tampa, FL
    Wat i usally do is install the google launcher back it up then rename and then copy to /system/priv-app and i reboot i keep the original launcher installed so if the google launcher crashes all i do is clear the google launchers data and the try it again once it boots and doesnt crash you can remove the touchwiz launcher but beware some of your stock apps may or may not show up in the dock
     
  8. Syreth Gracelin

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016

    Mar 5, 2016
    24
    1
    16
    I don't need to, but I also don't want TouchWiz happily sleeping silently in the background. I prefer to remove it and save storage space, which that will do, right?
     
  9. psionandy

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,138
    Posts:
    5,863
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009

    Dec 5, 2009
    5,863
    8,727
    1,138
    Male
    Gizmonic Institute - mug in a yellow jumpsuit
    liverpool
    No it won't.... as it's stored away in the system bit of your device and so you won't get that space back..
     
  10. Syreth Gracelin

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016

    Mar 5, 2016
    24
    1
    16
    Isn't there any way I can convert the storage to user storage?
     
  11. psionandy

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,138
    Posts:
    5,863
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009

    Dec 5, 2009
    5,863
    8,727
    1,138
    Male
    Gizmonic Institute - mug in a yellow jumpsuit
    liverpool
    There are ways... No trivial.. Will break things... Warranty voiding etc..

    If you really want to go down that thread make sure you read any instructions really carefully etc.

    I don't know what device you have, and in any case I'm probably the wrong person to advise you any further in that direction....
     

Share This Page

Loading...