1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Character count for Texts?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by SparrowApril, Nov 9, 2009.

  1. SparrowApril

    SparrowApril Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    2
    0
    5
    When I am entering a text message, I don't see a character counter. If I am sending a text to someone on annother network it will cut off after 100 characters. Or If I am sending a Tweet I need to limit myself to 140 characters.

    Does this phone count characters for me? I am hoping that I am just missing an option to turn it on, somewhere. Please tell me DROID can do this. <I hope>

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Droidood

    Droidood Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    180
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009

    Nov 3, 2009
    180
    1
    56
    I believe it's 160 for texts and it only shows once you've reached the limit. It's in their list of issues to fix... dunno anything about twitter but I would assume an app would have that.
     
  3. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,635
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    3,635
    2,126
    313
    Multi-platinum Rapper
    Illinois
    It will count down once you are within 10 chars (I think) of the 160 SMS limit. I would prefer a complete countdown (I mean, there's plenty of screen space!), but for now, this is better than nothing.
     
  4. icstars989

    icstars989 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    300
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Handscent counts down for you, it also will auto convert it to a MMS if the message count reaches three.
     
  5. JonKyu

    JonKyu Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    61
    0
    15
    Yup foind that out today. I do kinda wish it would count down but I think I can live with this implementation.
    Handcent doesn't work for me :(
     
  6. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,635
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    3,635
    2,126
    313
    Multi-platinum Rapper
    Illinois
    I think there was a recent update for Handcent that made it Droid compatible. I just tried it, but it doesn't display my contact's pictures. Doh!

    Anyways, I find that the default messaging app has a nicer interface. Why buy a Droid to make your SMS look like an iPhone?
     
  7. werddrew

    werddrew Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    9
    0
    5
  8. icstars989

    icstars989 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    300
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    I agree Handscent could use a UI update, you can also change it to look like the default rather than the iphone. They have come out with an update, but it appears I'm one of the few that the contact pictures actually show up for.
     
  9. JonKyu

    JonKyu Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    61
    0
    15
    Cool it works now!! thanks for the heads up. I actually like the messaging apps UI lol, but I wanted handcent cause I couldn't for the life of me figure out how to send sound files from my SD card. I heard Handcent does this.
     

Share This Page

Loading...