1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Charging questions

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by gordonwd, Jan 8, 2012.

  1. gordonwd

    gordonwd Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    143
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010

    Jun 16, 2010
    143
    17
    38
    1) Anyone having luck getting theirs to charge when plugged into a USB port on your PC? The manual implies this will work "when the screen is turned off", but maybe it only works when the whole thing is shut down (haven't tried that yet).

    2) Anyone else annoyed by the fact that if you have your unit powered down and then plug in the Asus charger, it boot up? I'll have to remember to plug it in and then shut it down when charging overnight, etc.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Ramzes13

    Ramzes13 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    269
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010

    Jan 29, 2010
    269
    49
    63
    Electonics Geek
    NJ
    the power draw required to charge the transfomer is about 10 watts, the same as an ipad. that being said, your usb port will not provide that power. So if you plug it in to charge from your usb port, expect it take a very long time to get a full charge, if it even works at all.

    The day i got my prime i tried to do such a thing and had no luck doing this.
     
  3. JAy3001

    JAy3001 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #79
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    1,088
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010

    Dec 13, 2010
    1,088
    450
    263
    Male
    UK
    By there very nature you will find most smart phones and I guess its the same for tablets will only Drip Charge from a USB port and never actually fully charge so it is best to use the A/C charger.
     
  4. theandies

    theandies Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    313
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011

    Jan 15, 2011
    313
    56
    73
    Field Service Engineer
    Warrenton, Va
    It will charge on the USB only if it's powered down:
    [​IMG]
    From the manual:
    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page

Loading...