1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support choosing the home screen

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Jason71, Jul 31, 2010.

  1. Jason71

    Jason71 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    238
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009

    Aug 5, 2009
    238
    24
    38
    IT consultant
    Shropshire UK
    Helping a friend set up her galaxy.home button always goes to screen 1. On my desire it oas always the middle screen. Is there a way to change which screen on the sgs the home button takes you to? Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. davealison

    davealison Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010

    May 9, 2010
    19
    2
    16
    yes mate...from the home screen press the left hand soft key then press edit then find the one you want to make the home screen and pull it down, then slide the other screens left or right till you are at say number 3 then pull up the screen you had pulled down before. when your done dont forget to press the left soft key again and then press save... hope this helps mate
     
    Jason71 likes this.
  3. andtherewasnorun

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010

    Jul 31, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    Yeah I wish this was possible aswell but haven't found out a way to do it.

    Just to clarify to the other replier he wants to change the default home screen that you go to when pressing the home button or otherwise put back to the home screen. On most (all?) other android phones you are put back to the middle home screen whereas on the galaxy you are put back to the one on the left which means you have to scroll across multiple times rather than moving left or right depending on what you want. The other method posted (unless I have misunderstood) will only rearrange the home screen order not the default page.
     
  4. Jason71

    Jason71 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    238
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009

    Aug 5, 2009
    238
    24
    38
    IT consultant
    Shropshire UK
    Thanks for the replies. I didn't know how to re order the screens so that was helpful but andtherewasnorun is correct my main concern was making screen 3 the default home screen. Sounds like out can't be done then.
     
  5. andtherewasnorun

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010

    Jul 31, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    As far as I know its not possible, but it should be tbh. I hope to do the same, you can also delete the home screens you don't want although that doesn't really help you.
     
  6. davealison

    davealison Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010

    May 9, 2010
    19
    2
    16
    have you tried launcher pro ? it's free on the market and it is about as customisable as you can get... it's awsome !!! my galaxy runs a bit quicker using launcher pro... hope this helps mate
     
  7. Markiz

    Markiz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    132
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010

    Jan 17, 2010
    132
    3
    36
    at least on galaxy its easier to navigate through homescreens with one tap.
     
  8. ayongkot

    ayongkot Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    164
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    164
    22
    38
    venezia, italy
    i don't really understand what you mean here. on my sgs, wherever screen i left (i have 7, be it on the 3,4, 6 etc) and i'd lock it, surf the net, use the navigation, it always comes back to that screen.
     
  9. SquidgyB

    SquidgyB Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    7
    1
    6

Share This Page

Loading...