1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Chrome Home page using malicious page instead of google.com

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by Shivabeach, Aug 7, 2016.

  1. Shivabeach

    Shivabeach Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012

    Jan 11, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    Galaxy s5 Chrome
    My home page in chrome is set to google.com. But every time I open chrome, A page from "yoursocialnewz.com" is always opened first. The URL for this site has a long base64 string within it. It is always the same page. I think the base64 is there to execute code.

    I cannot get rid of this page. It is not in my settings for home page or anyplace else I can find. I ran malwarebytes and Kaspersky, and found no malware or virus. Short of disabling chrome, what can I do to get rid of this website?

    Thank you
     

    Advertisement

  2. AZgl1500

    AZgl1500 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #42
    Points:
    618
    Posts:
    6,400
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    6,400
    3,144
    618
    Male
    Retired and loving it.
    Oklahoma grasslands
  3. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #34
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    4,005
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,005
    2,035
    693
    Male
    USA
    Clear cache and data in the chrome browser. Force stop and reboot.

    Is Chrome a system app? Can you uninstall and reinstall?
     
    scary alien likes this.
  4. Shivabeach

    Shivabeach Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012

    Jan 11, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    Chrome is a system app on android. I can only disable it, which I have now done
     
  5. Bg260

    Bg260  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #32
    Points:
    763
    Posts:
    3,538
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016

    Apr 30, 2016
    3,538
    3,666
    763
    Male
    Freelance Entrepreneur
    Lincoln
    tube517 likes this.
  6. Shivabeach

    Shivabeach Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012

    Jan 11, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    Always remember when you see Base64, its a way of writing malicious code that will execute if its in the url. This was not abut ads. I have taken the advice to use different browsers, thank you all.
     
  7. Bg260

    Bg260  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #32
    Points:
    763
    Posts:
    3,538
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016

    Apr 30, 2016
    3,538
    3,666
    763
    Male
    Freelance Entrepreneur
    Lincoln
    I have used Chrome for years and never had a problem. That's because my phone is rooted and I have ad-block. It was ad-ware
     
    tube517 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...