1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support CL14 Over the Web??

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by SITH, Feb 18, 2010.

  1. SITH

    SITH Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010

    Feb 1, 2010
    96
    0
    15

    Advertisement

  2. bradb21

    bradb21 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    27
    0
    15
    Well it's about freakin time! Now I don't have to take my time machines back to 1992 to get my phone updated.
     
  3. SITH

    SITH Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010

    Feb 1, 2010
    96
    0
    15
    The implications of this might be a little more far reaching.
     
  4. AnthroMatt

    AnthroMatt Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010

    Jan 25, 2010
    134
    13
    38
    Archaeologist
    Mesa, AZ
    Good to see this!
     
  5. SITH

    SITH Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010

    Feb 1, 2010
    96
    0
    15
    I wonder if this is the CL14 that the service centers couldn't install, or an updated version.
     
  6. pastafarian

    pastafarian Pâtes avec votre foie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    5,622
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    5,622
    4,625
    623
    Sales
    The Sea of Tranquility
    Hell has frozen over...and it only took 5 weeks. This gives me hope that 2.1 won't be the pain in the patoot that cl14 was.
     
  7. SITH

    SITH Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010

    Feb 1, 2010
    96
    0
    15
    Don't get your hopes up...if sprints fingers are in on it, it will be a pain.
     
  8. mchlwvr614

    mchlwvr614 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    3
    0
    5
    Do not worry folks. The link to the download is broken.

    And.... When I call support nobody has a clue. I walk them through the process of finding the article on updating the moment and show them the broken link. Sprints response is to contact Samsung. After the third person I gave up.

    Nothing out of the ordinary here.
     
  9. AnthroMatt

    AnthroMatt Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010

    Jan 25, 2010
    134
    13
    38
    Archaeologist
    Mesa, AZ
    Well of course it is. :p
     
  10. kahale

    kahale Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    255
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    255
    11
    38
    so where the hell is it. don't tease us like this. they put up nice instructions and all but remove the actual dl file. lol nice one sprint.
     
  11. SoulTerror

    SoulTerror Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    724
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010

    Feb 18, 2010
    724
    48
    88
    Male
    Help Desk Manager
    North Carolina
    I'm gonna keep an eye on this today.
     
  12. SITH

    SITH Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010

    Feb 1, 2010
    96
    0
    15
    I checked first thing this morning...7 am and the link was no good then. I don't think they ever posted the link to the dl. Like I said, if sprints fingers are in it, it WILL be a pain. I'm stickin with zefie anyhow.
     
  13. AnthroMatt

    AnthroMatt Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010

    Jan 25, 2010
    134
    13
    38
    Archaeologist
    Mesa, AZ
    Downloading it now.
     
  14. Greavous

    Greavous Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    589
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010

    Jan 3, 2010
    589
    67
    98
    Male
    Leather Wheel re-Skinner
    New Braunfels, Texas
  15. Greavous

    Greavous Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    589
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010

    Jan 3, 2010
    589
    67
    98
    Male
    Leather Wheel re-Skinner
    New Braunfels, Texas
    next big worry point is .... has anyone done this successfully? Ive been in the downloading mode for a half hour and the progress bar has shown no progress and still says "ready" along with "do not disconnect". Im wondering if ive got myself a problem now.
     
  16. AnthroMatt

    AnthroMatt Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010

    Jan 25, 2010
    134
    13
    38
    Archaeologist
    Mesa, AZ
    I suspect you can disconnect it just fine. Pull the battery, reboot computer, and try again.

    I had the same issues when I tried to install a couple weeks ago. I unplugged the cable in spite of the do not disconnect warning, but had no ill effects. The second time around, everything worked.
     
  17. ydoucare

    ydoucare Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009

    Nov 26, 2009
    41
    3
    16
    Installed and updated fine here. Only problem i've had is that the My Downloads under the Market is empty, even though i've already successfully synced my google account. Not sure what's going on there?
     
  18. AnthroMatt

    AnthroMatt Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010

    Jan 25, 2010
    134
    13
    38
    Archaeologist
    Mesa, AZ
    After I did the update, the only downloads that remained (after signing back into the market) were paid purchases.
     
  19. ydoucare

    ydoucare Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009

    Nov 26, 2009
    41
    3
    16
    Ah ok, so I guess it's by design then. Thanks
     
  20. LincKraker

    LincKraker Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    172
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009

    Could someone that has successfully completed the update via web download post their Kernel version/build number/baseband version? just so we can verify that its the same CL14 version we all know and are used to.
     
  21. deadsoccer

    deadsoccer Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    21
    0
    15
    Update was painless.
    Baseband version is now S:M900.8.0S.CL14
    Kernel is 2.6.27

    only trouble was computer did not originally recognize phone when instructed to plug in USB first time. Simple battery pull and reboot of computer worked.
     
  22. LincKraker

    LincKraker Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    172
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009

    the update is the same. thanks deadsoccer
     
  23. Greavous

    Greavous Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    589
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010

    Jan 3, 2010
    589
    67
    98
    Male
    Leather Wheel re-Skinner
    New Braunfels, Texas
    On my second try all went well. One observation right off the bat was that when i updated, my battery indicated 70% and once all was installed it shows 80%! Everything seems very smooth, all my original setup is gone but purchased apps were recognized and available to redownload with a click of the button. SD card info is intact. Sorry if I caused any alarm, all is well.
     
  24. SoulTerror

    SoulTerror Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    724
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010

    Feb 18, 2010
    724
    48
    88
    Male
    Help Desk Manager
    North Carolina
    I was able to download it with no problems Ran the install and the first part went fine, but when I get to the second part I get "Error: -1618 Another installation is already in progress. Complete that installation before proceeding with this install."

    I have got this message three times now. I even did a restart on my laptop and still got the message. I'm running Window's 7 Professional 64-bit if that help any.
     
  25. AnthroMatt

    AnthroMatt Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010

    Jan 25, 2010
    134
    13
    38
    Archaeologist
    Mesa, AZ
    I suspect 64-bit users will never get it to work. I haven't been able to do anything more than mount my SD card on my Win7 64-bit machine.

    AFAIK, Samsung's drivers do not work on 64-bit systems.

    To do anything else (install zefie's files, use phone as modem, etc.) I need to borrow my GF's 32-bit XP laptop.

    I had ben hoping that this update would work on Win7 64-bit, but it sounds like your experience means it will not. :(
     

Samsung Moment

The Samsung Moment was one of the first Android Phones with a slideout keyboard.

Share This Page

Loading...