1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Clear internal memory?

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by adamus888, Sep 11, 2011.

  1. adamus888

    adamus888 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011

    Sep 11, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    My android device tells me that i've 444 kb out of 301mb internal memory left. It's become glitchy and basically unusable. I'd looked on this forum before, so I decided to clear data and caches from my apps. I've found out that Package Installer uses 50mb of data (not cache - data), while most other apps don't use more that a couple of kb. The problem is, when i press "clear data", nothing happens. I get a prompt, asking me whether I'm sure, I say yes and nothing happens after that.
    Any help at all would be appreciated along with advice on how to prevent such situations in the future. If you need additional info, be sure to ask.
     

    Advertisement

  2. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    31,530
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    31,530
    22,970
    3,118
    Scotland
    Welcome to AF! :)

    Which phone do you own? Can you move any of the apps to the SD Card in the apps menu?
     
  3. adamus888

    adamus888 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011

    Sep 11, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Thank you, kind sir!
    Ah, it's not a phone, you see. It's an ebook, Pocketbook IQ 701 to be exact. It has Eclair installed and I think it won't be supporting any future versions of android.
    Unfortunately, I have no idea how to do that. I've already uninstalled all three 3rd-party apps in "manage applications". That freed up about 1mb.:thinking:
     
  4. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    31,530
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    31,530
    22,970
    3,118
    Scotland
    Moving apps to the SD isn't available in 2.1. However, a bit of googling shows you may well be due an upgrade to 2.2 at some point (it might already be available, the articles I found were a tad old).

    That's apparently going to sort the memory problems out.
     
  5. takeshi

    takeshi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,354
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    3,354
    283
    163
    You really only have a few choices:

    1. Clean up your data
    2. Move apps to SD
    3. Uninstall apps

    That's all that happens. There's no problem unless your app is still using space for data after clearing.

    Your device only appears to have 256MB so it's going to be very limited in capacity.
     

Share This Page

Loading...