1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root clearing battery stats/re-calibrating? get to 0% with netflix?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by John Redcorn, Sep 16, 2011.

  1. John Redcorn

    John Redcorn Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    439
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    439
    80
    53
    I've noticed some charging weirdness ever since flashing cm (light went green at 90% once and another time it went 90-100% in just a few mins where normally that's the slowest part.)

    I've cleared my battery stats with the "batterycalibration" tool someone on xda made, in the market. I charged until that tool beeped for 100% then cleared.

    I'm supposed to now go to 0% before I charge to 100% again.

    If I speed the process of getting to 0 up by just leaving netflix running over 3g is that in any way bad/create inaccuracies?
     

    Advertisement

  2. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,116
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,116
    24,060
    3,118
    Scotland
    I presume as long as it gets ot 0%, it should be fine.

    Rather than let the tool tell you when it's fully charged, download Currentwidget, stick the widget on a homescreen and let that run till it gets to 0mAh, then wipe your stats (either in CWM or with the calibration tool), unplug and let it run to 0.
     
    John Redcorn likes this.
  3. John Redcorn

    John Redcorn Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    439
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    439
    80
    53
    By the time I'd posted that I'd already run the tool, just curious how to get to 0. And the tool I think goes by the battery mv to tell when it's 100. and I also have battery monitor that shows ma. it beeped right about the same time battery monitor showed 0ma.


    I played a couple game before I went to bed at midnight and got it down to 25%, it was dead when something woke up me at 4am. dunno whats up with that. maybe the calibration was so off it thought it had 25% but actually was just around a few %. see how it goes today.
     
  4. John Redcorn

    John Redcorn Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    439
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    439
    80
    53
    *Bump* another question:


    Cyanogen is really what I want to be running and I'm going to be sticking with it but I would like to try out a sense 3 rom.

    If I make a nandroid of my current cm install, play around with something sense 3 for a couple days and then restore the cm nandroid do I need to mess with battery stats again? Do I need to have the battery at 100% when flashing a backup or does it not matter since the stats file is already built?
     
  5. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,116
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,116
    24,060
    3,118
    Scotland
    Any major change, a new ROM, restoring a backup, new kernel etc, I'll always recalibrate my battery.

    Are you using the stock CM7 kernel btw? How are you finding battery?
     
    John Redcorn likes this.
  6. John Redcorn

    John Redcorn Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    439
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    439
    80
    53
    Awesome thanks.


    Using stock cm 7.0.3* kernel and the july telus radio that the ace hack kit installed.

    *I'm too much of a newb/chicken to have gotten one that didn't say "stable" next to it. Really looking forward to that app permission manager thing in 7.1

    I've been killing the battery pretty good playing around with it so much so I don't really know.

    but there have been a few times I've gone into work, been busy and had to let it sit untouched for a few hours at almost 100% and battery monitor tells me it estimates between 36-48 hours until empty.

    Those were about the same numbers bmw told me on the stock unrooted GB in that situation, BUT I was always connected to wifi at work and home when stock, we now have no wifi at work anymore so getting those same #s using 3g for data 9 extra hours a day maybe is a bit better than what I would have got stock.
     
  7. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,116
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,116
    24,060
    3,118
    Scotland
    Ha! I've been using the 7.1 release candidate since June (save for a week or so of using a Sense based ROM) and I've had absolutely no problems with it whatsoever. They use the nightlies for messing about so their RC's are as stable as the standard releases in my experience.

    LordMod does a pretty good kernel for the Desire HD, it's my understanding the Inspire is just the US, 4G variant of it? I use CM7 RC1, with LorDmods kernel, and I found it to be a massive improvement over the stock, CM7 kernel. Much slicker and has much better battery life too. Not sure if it will work on the Inspire, but I'll have a look around to see if there are any decent alternatives.
     
    John Redcorn likes this.
  8. John Redcorn

    John Redcorn Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    439
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    439
    80
    53
    Would I need to wipe or format anything to go from 703 -> 71rc? Like I would if I was competely switching roms?


    It's android 2.3.4 or 2.3.5 isn't it? where mine is 2.3.3.
     
  9. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,116
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,116
    24,060
    3,118
    Scotland
    It's Android 2.3.4. You wouldn't need to format anything, just download the 7.1 zip, stick on the root of your SD, reboot into clockwork, take a backup, install zip from sd card and off you go.

    7.1 does recommend a new radio though, what's your current baseband version (taken from the about phone menu)?
     
  10. John Redcorn

    John Redcorn Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    439
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    439
    80
    53
    It says 12.56.60.25P_26.10.04.03_M
     
  11. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,116
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,116
    24,060
    3,118
    Scotland
    That looks to be fine (from what I can make out in the Inspire Radio thread on XDA anyway).

    Worst case scenario, if you don't like it, you can always restore your 7.0.3 backup.
     
    John Redcorn likes this.
  12. John Redcorn

    John Redcorn Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    439
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    439
    80
    53
    going to have to give this a try tomorrow, thanks.
     
  13. John Redcorn

    John Redcorn Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    439
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    439
    80
    53
    Up and running on 7.1 RC now, thank you a lot.


    Been playing with the permissions manager and now I have to go run around the office to see who has a bluetooth mouse I can borrow, I have to see this work. (and then probably never try a mouse again)
     
  14. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,116
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,116
    24,060
    3,118
    Scotland
    No problem, glad you're sorted! :)

    I didn't know that was a feature to be honest, I just saw the update and installed! :eek:

    I might well have a mess about with that at some point too, thanks.
     

Share This Page

Loading...