1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Clearing Cache

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mandirae16, May 7, 2010.

  1. mandirae16

    mandirae16 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    89
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010

    Mar 8, 2010
    89
    6
    16
    Wyoming
    I did a search and didn't find anything recent...is there a program that works with 2.1 that will automatically clear the caches for you instead of having to go into the settings and do them one by one? Also, what does the "clear data" option do?
     

    Advertisement

  2. zutmin

    zutmin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    164
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    164
    16
    38
    zion
    As far as I know the only those with root access have the ability to automatically clear caches. It's a tedious process for everyone w/out root.
     
  3. tr11

    tr11 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010

    Mar 10, 2010
    65
    1
    16
    How exactly do you clear the cache? I am running on 1.5.
    I've gotten to the manage applications part but there is no option for clearing the cache. Any help would be great.
     
  4. mc48

    mc48 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    480
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010

    Jan 17, 2010
    480
    36
    43
    so. east, usa
    Swype is a great keyboard replacement for the stock one.
     
  5. mc48

    mc48 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    480
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010

    Jan 17, 2010
    480
    36
    43
    so. east, usa
    Sorry wrong thread :)

    yes make sure you just clear the cache and not the data.
     
  6. smacky

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,844
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    2,844
    299
    163

    Go to Settings, Applications, wait for the list to populate, hit Menu, and sort by size. The ones at the top, obviously, are the larger ones. This GENERALLY means that the cache is rather large on it and should be cleared first. Sometimes, the app is just that big and the cache really may not be as big. But click on the first ten app or so on the list and there should be an option to clear cache.

    If it is darkened out, that means there is no cache to clear for that app.
     
    ynozoe1014 likes this.
  7. thetomlin2

    thetomlin2 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,292
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    1,292
    242
    143
    L'Etoile du Nord
    This app works well on 1.5 ... Quick App Clean Cache - Android app on AppBrain . People using the leak have said it doesnt work on 2.1, I sent a message to the dev asking if it will work on 2.1 in the future. When I get a response I will let everyone know.
     
  8. tr11

    tr11 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010

    Mar 10, 2010
    65
    1
    16
    Thanks Smacky and Tomlin. This helped and I was able to do it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...