1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support cliq on sprint

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by heavychevy, Sep 5, 2010.

  1. heavychevy

    heavychevy Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    774
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    774
    162
    93
    I'm going to buy an unlock code for the cliq if I can get it to work on Sprint who doesn't seem to carry sim cards. my main concern is the gsm vs cdma.

    anyone tried it or know if its possible?

    Sorry, can a mod move this to the cliq section.
     

    Advertisement

  2. superlinkx

    superlinkx Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    37
    11
    18
    Sprint is CDMA and the Cliq is GSM only. These are two very different technologies that are completely incompatible. Basically, you can't do it. Your choice of major carriers with the Cliq is T-mobile or AT&T. Sprint and Verizon are out because their networks are CDMA only. Also, the Cliq won't work on AT&T's 3G network, so if you want to take full advantage of your phone, T-mobile is the only carrier you can use it on.

    If you are looking at joining Sprint, I highly recommend investing in a new phone. Evo 4G or Epic 4G are the best. Don't go for the Moment or that other Samsung phone, and definitely don't go for the Motorola i1. Hero could be ok, but its underpowered and outdated. Highly recommend one of the more powerful phones either currently out or a future device. You'll appreciate it later, trust me.
     
    heavychevy likes this.
  3. heavychevy

    heavychevy Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    774
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    774
    162
    93
    I have an EVO, and my wife has an EPIC. We just left t-mobile and I traded my xt in for the EVO. Before I sold her old cliq back I was wondering if I could use it for my third line which I use for business. Thanks for the Info though.
     
  4. superlinkx

    superlinkx Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    37
    11
    18
    Yeah no problem. Its kind of too bad that all the wireless standards for each company are incompatible at some level or another. Glad I could at least help out in some way.
     
    heavychevy likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...