1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Clock/Weather widget won't update

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by kingdave, Nov 9, 2010.

  1. kingdave

    kingdave Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #578
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    432
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    432
    14
    38
    Project Manager
    Manchester
    Hi all,

    Just upgraded from a Samsung Galaxy Portal/Spica to a DHD and really happy with the move. Its a beast of a phone!!

    One question though, the "standard" HTC clock widget, that includes the weather on it won't auto update. If I click it, then menu, then settings the only selectable options are "Update when opened" and "Temperature scale".

    The options for "Update automatically" and "Update schedule" are greyed out. I've tried adjusting the sync settings in the main settings section but nothing makes a difference.

    How can I get this to work? Frequently I will look at my phone and it will tell me my location but not the weather. And whilst it isn't vital, I jkust think the screen looks nicer with a sun or cloud or moon or whatever on it.

    Thanks for your help,

    Dave
     

    Advertisement

  2. kingdave

    kingdave Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #578
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    432
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    432
    14
    38
    Project Manager
    Manchester
  3. naths

    naths Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010

    Jun 28, 2010
    104
    10
    38
    same here....but i use the beautiful widget app for weather/time, would still like to know why though?
     
  4. dvhttn

    dvhttn Android Expert
    Rank:
     #143
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,513
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010

    Oct 17, 2010
    1,513
    279
    173
    I wish ....
    Sunny Cornwall
    Mine worked fine but I didn't like the weather widget - it didn't sync to a town near enough to me so the weather was way out. (I'm in Cornwall in the UK and the only weather forecasts that are in any way correct are via the local radio and then for no more than 48 hours - max - in advance). Then I couldn't find a way to just have the stock clock with no text - it always had 'My Location' on it. So I went for a separate clock widget.

    Can't see what your problem can be as I just set mine as per the manual and it worked fine - update-wise anyway.

    Dave
     
  5. Kriath

    Kriath Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011

    Apr 18, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I have this same issue, its really anoying. Have you found a fix for it?
     
  6. kingdave

    kingdave Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #578
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    432
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    432
    14
    38
    Project Manager
    Manchester
    Yeah, auto sync all accounts. But it'll drain your battery, and won't work if you installed the 1.84 update over Christmas.
     

Share This Page

Loading...