1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Clockwork recovery issue

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by eagle132, Feb 24, 2011.

  1. eagle132

    eagle132 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011

    Feb 24, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    I just rooted my Captivate and installed Rom Manager. I flashed Clockworkmod recovery, Rom Manger said it was successful. I boot into recovery... and it's still the default Samsung one.

    Anyone have any idea what's going on?

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. james27007

    james27007 Look into my Eye
    Rank:
     #101
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    1,192
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010

    Mar 6, 2010
    1,192
    470
    193
    Male
    Travel and teaching for tech and automotive
    Riverside, CA
    When you get to the stock recovery there (as long as you have NOT replaced the updtae.zip on your internal sdcard) just select "Reinstall Packages", the phone should reboot and be in the green worded clockwork recovery. After that it should go in automatically.
     
  3. marker101

    marker101 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    8
    2
    6
    Same here. Can't get Clockworkmod Recovery going, just the Samsung one. Just updated to 2.2, rooted, installed ROM Manager, and did the flash.

    update.zip is created on the sdcard, but when I go to reinstall packages on the Samsung recovery, I get an error:
    -- Install from sdcard...
    Finding update package...
    Opening update package...
    Verifying update package...
    E:failed to verify whole-file signature
    E:signature verification failed
    Installation aborted.

    It's frustrating, because I want to go back to before I installed 2.2. I did a backup earlier today and just wish to go back to that, as the update to 2.2 nuked my phone back to factory default.
     
  4. ~Reaper~

    ~Reaper~ Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    170
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010

    reinstall packages you may have to do it 2x

    like it was stated above
     
  5. marker101

    marker101 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    8
    2
    6
    I tried 10 times, still the same error all 10 times :(
     
  6. slugshot_90

    slugshot_90 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010

    Apr 28, 2010
    28
    0
    15
    Lowes
    Loxahatchee, FL
    im saving the same problem right now i wonder if its something to do with the new 2.2 update
     
  7. phrenicthenub

    phrenicthenub Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011

    Feb 27, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Yep, I believe part of the 2.2 update was to update the loader to 3e from 2e. 3e requires a signature verification to install these packages..I had the same issue and ended up flashing a kernel that includes CWM and it seems to have bypassed this restriction.
     
  8. james27007

    james27007 Look into my Eye
    Rank:
     #101
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    1,192
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010

    Mar 6, 2010
    1,192
    470
    193
    Male
    Travel and teaching for tech and automotive
    Riverside, CA
    You are 100% correct; the recovery is locked so you cannot use anything that uses an update.zip like rom manager/clockwork recovery with the official froyo. If you really want to go back to 2.1, use the odin+pda+pit file combo here: {Stock Rom} Odin JF6 with 3 button fix - xda-developers

    I went back to 2.1 after a perfect upgrade to the official 2.2 just to see if I could and it worked perfectly.

    NOTE: DO NOT USE THE ONE CLICK ODIN RESTORE, use the files in that post
     
  9. ewingr

    ewingr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    579
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    So, I take it that we cannot get CWM working on the KB1 Captivate version of 2.2.

    No way to get it working, while continuing to use this ROM?
     
  10. james27007

    james27007 Look into my Eye
    Rank:
     #101
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    1,192
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010

    Mar 6, 2010
    1,192
    470
    193
    Male
    Travel and teaching for tech and automotive
    Riverside, CA
    Correct, with the official OTA update to 2.2, clockwork mod will not work. You have to flash back to 2.1. More info here: http://capfaq.com/w/Flashing_a_ROM_-_aka_Hacking_your_phone
     

Share This Page

Loading...