1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root ClockWork to Ra - what do I need to know about switching??

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Mrtenks, Mar 21, 2011.

  1. Mrtenks

    Mrtenks Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    I just recently rooted my phone successfully and made a nandroid using clockwork.

    While doing so I found out about the Stock Turbo ROM which is exactly what I was looking for but it says it's safest to use Ra to flash.

    I just need to know how to make the transition. do I simply install Ra or am I going to have to do something with ClockWork? also when it backs up the phone is a file on the sd card that I need to save on my computer for when I need? for instance will I have to delete the clockwork backup?

    I've done my homework on the situation but still am confused a little...
     

    Advertisement

  2. frenchy714

    frenchy714 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,154
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    3,154
    1,958
    333
    Male
    East Tawas, MI
    Are you using ROM Manager at all? If so, click on "Flash Alternate Recovery", and it will flash RA for you. You can also go here:

    http://androidforums.com/evo-4g-all-things-root/259446-clockwork-amon-ra-pc36img-files.html

    Follow the instructions exactly.
     
    Mrtenks likes this.
  3. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    Congrats on rooting!!!!!!
    so to switch recoveries manually:
    1)download amon ra 2.3 to your pc. you can get it in my sig, ref#1.
    2)rename it exactly PC36IMG exactly.
    3)move it to the root of your card (not in any folder, top level of the card)
    4)goto hboot (power off then press and hold power+vol down)
    5)it should automatically scan for it. and you are done.

    now you need to make a nandroid backup. your previous one will not work since it was with clockwork mod.
     
    Mrtenks likes this.
  4. frenchy714

    frenchy714 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,154
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    3,154
    1,958
    333
    Male
    East Tawas, MI
    Congrats btw!
     
  5. Mrtenks

    Mrtenks Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    Thx again to both of you! I was successful at flashing the ROM and now I'm researching for the best settings for setcpu and considering flashing a kernel...
     
  6. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...