1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Clockwork to RA?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by shandroid, Jan 10, 2011.

  1. shandroid

    shandroid Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    197
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010

    Jun 14, 2010
    197
    13
    38
    Well after reading many concerning comments about clockwork not working too hot, I want to switch to RA.

    I can't find any good instructions, I'm nervous since all my backups are via clockwork mod.

    Is there any steps to do this easily?

    Thanks so much

    -Rookie
     

    Advertisement

  2. Wile-E

    Wile-E Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    36
    9
    16
    Chicago
    Easiest way: use ROM Manager and hit "Flash Alternate Recovery" You can also use this to return to Clockwork later, if necessary
     
  3. shandroid

    shandroid Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    197
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010

    Jun 14, 2010
    197
    13
    38
    Ok thanks, I was just looking into that, unfortunately it keeps erroring out, according to XDA "v2.2.1 is not (yet) available on rom manager (please be patient)."

    hmm
     
  4. Drew5150

    Drew5150 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    900
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    900
    234
    93
    SF
    yes this is a few days old. go to the market and update rom manager. there was an update yesterday and it has the latest RA which is now 2.2.2

    or go to that thread on xda and download the bootlaoder version. the pc136img file.. the 2.2.1 will work just fine.
     
  5. surfologist87

    surfologist87 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    853
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    853
    110
    103
    behind you
    Ive never actually flashed a recovery viz hboot lol.
    How does that work, you boot into bootloader and the recovery is in a PC36IMG and you let it update?
     
  6. akazabam

    akazabam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,407
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,407
    1,385
    313
    Near Los Angeles
    Download this file:

    http://db.tt/PEhJy41

    Make sure it stays named PC36IMG.zip, exactly. Copy it to the root of your sdcard. Turn the phone off, then turn it back on while holding the volume down button. That will take you to hboot, where it will scan for PC36IMG files. When it sees it, it will prompt you to flash it. Once it's done, you will have RA 2.2.1. Honestly, though, if you just update ROM manager (or uninstall then reinstall it if it's giving you problems) you should be able to get it that way. Keep the PC36IMG.zip around anyway, though, just in case you ever need it. Just keep it named something like PC36IMG_RA.zip so that hboot doesn't see it every time you boot to the bootloader.
     
  7. surfologist87

    surfologist87 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    853
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    853
    110
    103
    behind you
    Cool, thanks. Ive always been lazy and used rom manager, but just in case i eff something up and i need it, ill hang on to that.
     
  8. akazabam

    akazabam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,407
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,407
    1,385
    313
    Near Los Angeles
    Yes, I always keep a few PC36IMG files around for various purposes. Your phone is never bricked until you can't get into hboot. And if you can get into hboot, PC36IMG files will get you out of anything (ultimately - it's not that black and white, but still...).
     
  9. surfologist87

    surfologist87 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    853
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    853
    110
    103
    behind you
    No i hear ya. I have had a few close calls but always worked my way out.
    And yeah, a boot loop doesnt mean you have a brick.
    I was wondering how many 'bricks' we actually have from people upgrading to rls5 and upgrading radios.
    A lot of posts were saying that there were bricks, but i dont know how many were actually bricked.
    I wish i could find out, cuz i have a few friends that want to upgrade to rls 5 but are scared to do so lol
     
  10. akazabam

    akazabam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,407
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,407
    1,385
    313
    Near Los Angeles
    You can't really brick a phone from just flashing a ROM. My understanding, so far, is that people who didn't understand the full process of upgrading radios didn't realize that the first reboot after running the radio update zip in recovery would take them to the htc update screen (black screen with green arrow). Since the process hasn't been a little more well documented until now, some people thought that meant something went wrong, and pulled the battery out. THAT will most likely give you a brick. If you just have patience (and a full battery :)), you can't go wrong. I've heard reports that it sat at that screen for quite a while (only too mine about 4 minutes), but those who let it sit always had it reboot itself back to recovery eventually.
     
  11. surfologist87

    surfologist87 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    853
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    853
    110
    103
    behind you
    Yeah, mine took a good few minutes too, but i did research and was prepared for that, and just let it do its thang.
    I wasnt sure what the radio updates were doing to cause bricks but that sounds like it could explain it. You can go back and forth from pri and radio as much as you want as long as you let it cycle through the arrow and reboots right?
    So, what about wimax? How is it that people lose their keys?
     
  12. akazabam

    akazabam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,407
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,407
    1,385
    313
    Near Los Angeles
    Yes, you can flash back and forth if you want. Just remember that the more you do "risky" flashes, the greater chance you have to brick it. I'm not saying doing it over and over again will eventually give you a brick, I'm just saying it's not your normal day-to-day flash, and it *is* the type of flash that can cause a brick if not done right. You're probably fine though since you know exactly what you're doing.

    As far as wimax is concerned, I've heard that a bad radio flash can cause you to lose your keys. Seems to happen mostly with clockwork. As long as you have the correct backups, you should be fine. You'll want to verify before and after updating the wimax radio that you have your keys, the MAC address stays the same, and, of course, the version changes (up or down depending on what you flashed). The wimax_mtd command from the terminal emulator will give you the last two things (and probably won't work right if keys are missing, too). You need su to run that, of course.
     
  13. surfologist87

    surfologist87 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    853
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    853
    110
    103
    behind you
    I havent checked in a while, but i just connected to 4g so im sure its fine lol.
    I made a backup with the 2.6 clockwork so my wimax should be safe. I assume *if* i ever lose the keys, i just go to advanced restore and restore the wimax part of the backup?
     
  14. akazabam

    akazabam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,407
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,407
    1,385
    313
    Near Los Angeles
    That should do it. Of course, that's one thing I've never done myself. I'm brave, but not brave enough to purposefully wipe out my wimax keys just to see if a backup really works. It should, though.
     
  15. surfologist87

    surfologist87 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    853
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    853
    110
    103
    behind you
    Lol. Yeah let me go buy an evo outright so that i can just try and kill/resurrect it to see what it can take :p
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...