1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

ClockworkMod backups...

Discussion in 'Android Rooting' started by The_Librarian, Apr 16, 2015.

  1. The_Librarian

    The_Librarian Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2015

    Apr 15, 2015
    10
    11
    38
    Male
    Hi All

    I have successfully rooted and installed Cyanogenmod on two devices - a Samsung Galaxy S GT-i9000 and a Nexus 2012 (wifi).

    The Galaxy need a bit of minor tweaking (cpu usage and all animation disabled) but it feels as good as new. I made a backup with ClockworkMod, and copied it over for safe storage. Easy-peasy.

    However, the Nexus got me scratching my head. Everything runs fine, it feels super fast and so much better... but when I do a backup with ClockworkMod, the backup runs fine, but when I browse for it to copy it over, I can't find it.

    Usually, in both cases, the backup(s) is dumped into \clockworkmod\backup ... on the Galaxy it was no issue locating and copying it.

    The Nexus... well, there is a directory called \clockworkmod\ but when you browse to it (with a windows7 pc, or the stock file app on cyanogenmod) there is nothing in that directory. FWIW I also ran the same file app as root superuser, but still zippo....

    Booting back into clockworkmod, and then browsing to that directory proves that, indeed, there is a backup...

    ...and this is where I leave things for now, before I do things I may regret later :D

    Any ideas?

    Cheers!

    Ook

     

    Advertisement

    kunna6 likes this.
  2. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,470
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,470
    7,252
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Hmm yeah it should be in Clockworkmod/backup so I dunno what to tell you other than that you're looking in the right place. Sorry
     
  3. codesplice

    codesplice Elite Recognized Moderator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #26
    Points:
    1,063
    Posts:
    8,267
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013

    Oct 29, 2013
    8,267
    9,316
    1,063
    Male
    SysAdmin
    Huntsville, AL
    If you go through the motions of restoring the backup in clockwork, is CMR able to find the backup?

    Maybe it knows a secret hiding spot. :D
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  4. The_Librarian

    The_Librarian Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2015

    Apr 15, 2015
    10
    11
    38
    Male
    Yes, CMR is able to find the backup. I can also browse with CMR to the \clockworkmod\backup\ folder and see that there is two recent backups there....

    I just want to copy that backup to a safe location...
     
    codesplice likes this.
  5. codesplice

    codesplice Elite Recognized Moderator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #26
    Points:
    1,063
    Posts:
    8,267
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013

    Oct 29, 2013
    8,267
    9,316
    1,063
    Male
    SysAdmin
    Huntsville, AL
    So if CMR can see it but a file browser can't, and it's the same location, it may be a permissions issue. Use a root-enabled file manager to check out the permissions on /sdcard/clockworkmod/backup/.
     
    The_Librarian and funkylogik like this.
  6. The_Librarian

    The_Librarian Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2015

    Apr 15, 2015
    10
    11
    38
    Male
    I have run the default CM file manager as root, but saw nothing... I suppose I should get a proper file manager?

    Any suggestions on which will be the best to use?
     
  7. codesplice

    codesplice Elite Recognized Moderator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #26
    Points:
    1,063
    Posts:
    8,267
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013

    Oct 29, 2013
    8,267
    9,316
    1,063
    Male
    SysAdmin
    Huntsville, AL
    I'm a pretty big fan of Solid Explorer. ES File Explorer is another popular one, but I would advise against letting it connect to any cloud storage accounts.
     
  8. The_Librarian

    The_Librarian Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2015

    Apr 15, 2015
    10
    11
    38
    Male
    Things are a bit confusing. I found the backup... but now I'm not sure where it was... :oops:

    Think my best course of action would be to RTFM and make a note of the correct paths and folders this time....

    Pointers made above was a great help in locating the backup tho.

    Will have more than enough time tomorrow to make a proper, logical investigation and report back.

    Cheers for now!

    Ook
     
    funkylogik and codesplice like this.
  9. The_Librarian

    The_Librarian Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2015

    Apr 15, 2015
    10
    11
    38
    Male
    Found it...

    from system root :

    /data/media/clockworkmod/backup

    what a weird place.
     
  10. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,424
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    I've made this a sticky.

    A lot of people run into this and I can never find the last solved thread.

    Hopefully this will help.

    Well done OP! :)
     
    funkylogik and codesplice like this.
  11. The_Librarian

    The_Librarian Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2015

    Apr 15, 2015
    10
    11
    38
    Male
    Glad to be of assistance!

    Edit : not sure if it is consistent across all devices, or it differ from device to device...
     
  12. The_Librarian

    The_Librarian Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2015

    Apr 15, 2015
    10
    11
    38
    Male
    By the by, do anybody know whether it is possible to mod clockworkmod to use a specific backup path?
     
  13. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,470
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,470
    7,252
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Haven't used Cwm in a while and don't have it on any of my devices right now so can't check but look in advanced backup options. I'm still confused about the path yours is using now.
    As far as I remember it should save to sdcard/Clockworkmod
    I'm pretty sure that's where it saved on my s3.
    On my Nexus 7 I use twrp and it saves to sdcard/twrp
     
  14. codesplice

    codesplice Elite Recognized Moderator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #26
    Points:
    1,063
    Posts:
    8,267
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013

    Oct 29, 2013
    8,267
    9,316
    1,063
    Male
    SysAdmin
    Huntsville, AL
    /sdcard is generally symlinked to /data/media (or /storage/emulated/0/) on devices without an actual SD card.
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  15. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,470
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,470
    7,252
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
  16. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,424
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    But due to FUSE and permissions, I've seen a number of complaints that you couldn't access the backups via the /sdcard path.
     
    funkylogik and codesplice like this.
  17. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,424
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    As I recall, you can't - precisely because of the security permissions that CWM wants to control.

    Of course - check me on that ok.
     
    funkylogik and codesplice like this.
  18. The_Librarian

    The_Librarian Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2015

    Apr 15, 2015
    10
    11
    38
    Male
    Thanks for the answers guys... At least we now know where the backup skedaddled off to...
     
    codesplice likes this.
  19. Rashelita

    Rashelita Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016

    Jan 20, 2016
    1
    0
    15
    Female

    How do u get to it when ur ZTE wrap is in activation mode always?
     
  20. Rogen6

    Rogen6 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2017

    Jun 13, 2017
    20
    6
    26
    Male
    I have run the default CM file manager as root, but saw nothing.
     

Share This Page

Loading...