1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Clockworkmod/partitioning issues

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jeremy_inc, Dec 10, 2010.

  1. jeremy_inc

    jeremy_inc Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010

    Jun 2, 2010
    152
    16
    38
    London, UK
    Hey,
    I'm using clockworkmod and trying to partition my sd card to get apps2sd.

    When I use clockworkmod to partition, the phone restarts, something comes up quickly on the screen about not being able to find something, then just loads the ROM again.
    I have tried heaps of options and have pretty much narrowed it down that something is happening funny now on my boot.
    I want to reflash back to clockworkmod 2.5.0.0 as I read it helped others with the exact same issue, but when I do it, in ROM Manager it says I have 2.5.0.0, but when I restart in to recovery it still says 2.5.0.7?

    What am I doing wrong?

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. Uridium

    Uridium Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010

    Sep 16, 2010
    119
    13
    38
    NW Leics..
    Leave Clockwork as it is and use another method for Partitioning your card.

    try Gparted
     
  3. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Android Expert
    Rank:
     #97
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,684
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010

    Oct 8, 2010
    1,684
    318
    203
    Male
    Hypnotherapist
    Puerto Pollo
    Take your card out of the phone, put it in an adapter and put it in your computer. Perform a quick format in Windows, or better still if your using Linux use your disk utility to partition, making sure you do the EXT3 first.

    If your not running windows put your card back in your phone and try ROM manager again.
     
  4. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    hes using rom manager, clockwork mod doesnt have an option itself

    btw, whats you hboot?
     
  5. jeremy_inc

    jeremy_inc Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010

    Jun 2, 2010
    152
    16
    38
    London, UK
    Yeah I can't use Gparted as my computer doesn't have a CD drive..
    I did also try formatting it using the adapter in my PC then starting again but this didn't work.

    I did eventually solve the problem though, I did a full restore (to my stock ROM) using the ROM manager backup, which seemed to restore clockworkmod as well.
    Then I downgraded it to 2.5.0.0, and used the rom manager format option and this time it worked.
    Now I'm going to install Cyanogen MOD. I dont really know much about the custom ROMS, and this one seems popular. Although I was quite happy with stock using launcherPro, but I need apps2sd+..
     
  6. jeremy_inc

    jeremy_inc Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010

    Jun 2, 2010
    152
    16
    38
    London, UK
    and hboot was 0.93
     
  7. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    btw you can use gparted live usb
     
  8. jeremy_inc

    jeremy_inc Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010

    Jun 2, 2010
    152
    16
    38
    London, UK
    Thanks, I might have to, because since flashing the new ROM, my partition seems to have disappeared and I'm in exactly the same situation as before - it won't do it.
     
  9. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Android Expert
    Rank:
     #97
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,684
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010

    Oct 8, 2010
    1,684
    318
    203
    Male
    Hypnotherapist
    Puerto Pollo

    Does the new ROM support A2SD?
     
  10. jeremy_inc

    jeremy_inc Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010

    Jun 2, 2010
    152
    16
    38
    London, UK
    I assume so, either way ROM manager/clockworkmod should be able to create the partition
     
  11. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    If the rom supports a2sd+ as standard and your card isn't partitioned, you wouldn't be able to boot.

    Link to ROM?

    Also, the clockwork mod you use in rom manager is a separate instance of the Clockwork mod you flashed at root. Rom manager operates from update.zip of clockworkmod. This is why you have different version when you manually boot into recovery.
     
  12. jeremy_inc

    jeremy_inc Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010

    Jun 2, 2010
    152
    16
    38
    London, UK
    I gave up on Cyanogen, and installed leedroid. Have apps2sd working good now, haven't explored the rest of what this mod can do yet, will leave that for tomorrow :D
     
  13. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Android Expert
    Rank:
     #97
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,684
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010

    Oct 8, 2010
    1,684
    318
    203
    Male
    Hypnotherapist
    Puerto Pollo

    Well that was your problem, Cyanogen does not come with A2SD support, it needs to be flashed separately, and the same with Google apps. I prefer Cyanogen to Leedroid any day, but that's just a preference.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...