1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root ClockworkMod Questions

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by RobertT22, Apr 28, 2012.

  1. RobertT22

    RobertT22 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012

    Jan 20, 2012
    59
    5
    36
    Candidate for Governor of NH
    New Hampshire, US
    Okay I want to add a better ROM to my Samsung Admire phone by MetroPCS and have read many posts in the Samsung forums.

    My question comes in two parts.

    First Q: ClockworkMod states in it's trouble shooting that I need to "Flash a CWM compatible kernal first.

    Second Q:

    After reading in a post how to install a ROM, ACS instructions states:
    However my boot menu states this:

    I don't have the option to format system & data because I don't have the item in the list called Mounts n Storage

    So finally how am I going to install a ROM if I don't have options as ACS states.

    And the last time I installed CWM for some reason trying to back up my ROM on the phone, I somehow bricked my phone. Thankfully it only cost me $10 to get a replacement.

    Thanks for the help guys.
     

    Advertisement

  2. ShinySide

    ShinySide Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,502
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    5,502
    2,680
    313
    Palm Bay, Florida
    You dont have to format the system & data. When you wipe data/cache/dalvik its also formats it all. Just think of "deleting" as "formating". You should be good.

    But Ive never seen just
    "reboot system now
    apply sdcard:update.zip
    wipe data/factory reset
    wipe cache partition
    test redbend fota[FS]"

    In cwr but then again every phone is different with different dev's


    PS moved you over to the All Things Root section ;)
     
  3. RobertT22

    RobertT22 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012

    Jan 20, 2012
    59
    5
    36
    Candidate for Governor of NH
    New Hampshire, US
    No, I had to get the replacement, then I haven't installed CWM again.

    This menu show up as a stock menu when you hold down the buttons to boot into your phone.

    I do have my phone rooted and have Root Explorer and Superuser installed just fine.

    Should I try CWM again and see if the boot menu changes???

    Again it states by the dev. of CWM I should have a compatible kernal installed first which to my guess is that the kernal currently installed is not compatible for CWM.

    Any help would be great!
     
  4. RobertT22

    RobertT22 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012

    Jan 20, 2012
    59
    5
    36
    Candidate for Governor of NH
    New Hampshire, US
    Answered my own question,

    CWM needs a CW Recovery to be installed to work properly. Unfortunately those of us Admire users are out of luck.

    According to what I read on other forums, the Admire is a 'locked' phone. Meaning you can do certain things with it yes, but add a custom ROM then no and MetroPCS carrier doesn't help either.

    Themes and apps yes.

    Well looks like an upgrade is in order to have something to MOD.

    Oh well.
     
  5. InFiD3ViL

    InFiD3ViL Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012

    Mar 5, 2012
    109
    24
    38
    IT
    Spring Hill, Florida
    Admire has a very usable version of CWM or ClockWorkRecovery.

    Also, it has been able to have custom ROMs flashed for some time.3-4 months I think. My phone is on it's 5th ROM so far.

    I am wondering if the OP somehow bricked his phone by trying to install CWM using RomManager.

    RomManager IS NOT to be used on the Admire. It will brick your phone every time.

    We have our own version of CWM/Recovery to use on this phone. There is also another version available for the Admire that is used to allow the flashing of CM7 Kernal and Stock++ Kernal.

    But as for the Amire being "Locked"? No sir, it is not.

    If you read through the Admire>All Things Root forums, you will see development has taken off for the Admire.

    Once again though, DO NOT USE ROM MANAGER. You will brick your phone for sure.
     

Share This Page

Loading...