1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root cm 7 now with mms

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dg61981, Apr 22, 2011.

  1. dg61981

    dg61981 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011

    Apr 22, 2011
    310
    34
    43
    Jack of all trades...master of all trades! LOL
    Dallas GA
    so im new to the whole forums thing but ive been reading up and honing my flashing skills for the last 2 mos and now have a fully functioning version of cm 7 on my ascend. saw a bunch of people saying that they were waiting for an mms fix for cm 7 and most of u prob already have found out this info but i found some files and they worked for me. the first one is the only one ive tried and it worked like a charm. i just dropped it into my sd card and rebooted into recovery with clockworkmod and installed it thru there. have had mms ever since. havent used the second one. just thought id add it for someone to try.
     

    Attached Files:


    Advertisement

  2. dg61981

    dg61981 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011

    Apr 22, 2011
    310
    34
    43
    Jack of all trades...master of all trades! LOL
    Dallas GA
    also had a quick question, anyone have a version of google maps w/nav that has the speak destination option? when i flashed cm7 that option wasnt there anymore so i reflashed back to stock and there it was. anybody know how to get that on cm7, lemme know.
     
  3. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,525
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State

    if you flash the latest build, the fix is already applied....good post tho...
     
  4. Lennatron

    Lennatron Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    451
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010

    Oct 2, 2010
    451
    98
    73
    Male
    College Student
    PA
    Did you backup all your apps before you flashed Cm7? Before I flashed I backed up Car Home (I was on Icarus 1.1 before) and restored it with Titanium Backup. Then I went to the Market and downloaded Maps and I got the navigation working. I did have an issue where it would not announce the directions. It said that I needed to download something and brought me to the market and downloaded this thing and that lady then announced the directions. I believe the app it brought me to was Voice Search.

    https://market.android.com/details?id=com.google.android.voicesearch&feature=search_result
     
  5. dg61981

    dg61981 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011

    Apr 22, 2011
    310
    34
    43
    Jack of all trades...master of all trades! LOL
    Dallas GA
    I did back up all of my apps but only the ones on my sd. And can some one help me find the latest build of cm7? Cuz I can't get my phone rooted on cm7 with z4root. Should I just do the super one click method?
     
  6. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    cm7 is already rooted ;)
     
    dg61981 likes this.
  7. dg61981

    dg61981 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011

    Apr 22, 2011
    310
    34
    43
    Jack of all trades...master of all trades! LOL
    Dallas GA

    Very good I thought that might be the case but for some reason Tom manager comes pre installed with cm7 but will not work because it keeps saying my phone isn't rooted. Wth? Neither does titanium backup. Any ideas or should I just forget it
     
  8. dg61981

    dg61981 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011

    Apr 22, 2011
    310
    34
    43
    Jack of all trades...master of all trades! LOL
    Dallas GA
    Sorry bout the typo, rom manager
     
  9. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,525
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State
    you have cm7 install now...try reboot into cwm and fix permissions.
     
    dg61981 likes this.
  10. dg61981

    dg61981 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011

    Apr 22, 2011
    310
    34
    43
    Jack of all trades...master of all trades! LOL
    Dallas GA
    Trying it now
     
  11. dg61981

    dg61981 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011

    Apr 22, 2011
    310
    34
    43
    Jack of all trades...master of all trades! LOL
    Dallas GA

    So I ran fix permissions and rebooted, TB still says it couldn't squire root rights and z4 gets to the acquiring root shell phase and just goes back to home screen. Rom manager says that in order to download roms or update my current one, that I need to have cwm installed but it already is. Have no idea wth is going on with this situation...
     
  12. dg61981

    dg61981 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011

    Apr 22, 2011
    310
    34
    43
    Jack of all trades...master of all trades! LOL
    Dallas GA

    So I just ran rom manager again and when it asked me to install cwm thru it, clicked ok, selected huawei ascend and it says "an error occurred while attempting to run privileged commands"
     
  13. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,525
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State

    was you able to get it going?
     
  14. dg61981

    dg61981 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011

    Apr 22, 2011
    310
    34
    43
    Jack of all trades...master of all trades! LOL
    Dallas GA

    No I just gave up. Prob gonna really flash and try again later
     
  15. Dsanders77

    Dsanders77 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    196
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    196
    52
    53
    Freelance writer and Tech Blogger
    Georgetown, TX
    I had this issue with TitBu before. Try uninstall on both TitBu and your Pro key, then reinstall the free first, followed by the pro key. If you restore the pro key first, then the free, it causes issues.
     
    septembersrain likes this.
  16. dg61981

    dg61981 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011

    Apr 22, 2011
    310
    34
    43
    Jack of all trades...master of all trades! LOL
    Dallas GA

    Just went ahead and re flashed cm7 now all is well. I guess my permissions got really screwed up somewhere and no matter how many diff programs I tried the fix permissions command it just wasn't happenin
     
  17. septembersrain

    septembersrain 句_句 Smurfing Awesome
    Rank:
     #67
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    1,948
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    1,948
    1,393
    343
    Female
    Esurance - Insurance Agent
    San Antonio, TX
    NO one even needs MetrOFF. I've got MMS running on cm7 WITHOUT that. X_X
     
  18. septembersrain

    septembersrain 句_句 Smurfing Awesome
    Rank:
     #67
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    1,948
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    1,948
    1,393
    343
    Female
    Esurance - Insurance Agent
    San Antonio, TX
    I had that same exact problem. That's when I figured that out too.
     
  19. dg61981

    dg61981 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011

    Apr 22, 2011
    310
    34
    43
    Jack of all trades...master of all trades! LOL
    Dallas GA

    Yeah my mms was down again after reflashing cm7 so I tried metroff and it didn't work so I just opened apn's, deleted what was there and re entered the metro apn info and lickety splickety! I was good to go!
     
  20. dg61981

    dg61981 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011

    Apr 22, 2011
    310
    34
    43
    Jack of all trades...master of all trades! LOL
    Dallas GA

    Now my cm7 is truly functioning all of my root programs r running strong. Before su wouldn't even ask me if I wanted to allow permission
     

Share This Page

Loading...