1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root CM10 test build

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by junkie2100, Jan 4, 2014.

  1. junkie2100

    junkie2100 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,311
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012

    Mar 11, 2012
    3,311
    695
    313
    Male
    i have no idea if it works, what it will do, im pretty sure it wont break anything tho as long as you have cwm installed lol

    basically, my phone is down for the time being. its out for rma and so i cant test myself but i have run a build so someone should test it out, let me know how it works, and maybe even run some diagnostics with logcats and dmesgs if you know how but first off i wanna know if it gets boot animation, or if it just sticks on the android guy, or if it boots all the way up

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/27p11g2btc3i7ga/cm-10-20140104-UNOFFICIAL-warplte.zip

    for anyone wondering, it is cwm flashable so just pop it on the sd and install but id make a backup first, and make 100% sure to factory reset because the data stock puts on the phone will cause it to not boot

    this can also be tested on a zte source or zte awe, the boot.img will just need to be fixed up with the proper zimage as far as i know
     

    Advertisement

    LilBit and xman95 like this.
  2. AceDaMack

    AceDaMack Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013

    Dec 12, 2013
    95
    22
    18
    Male
    VA
    downloading now
     
  3. AceDaMack

    AceDaMack Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013

    Dec 12, 2013
    95
    22
    18
    Male
    VA
    it installed when I reboot I get the android guy 5 sec after it boots to a black screen and does nothing. wiped everything.
     
    junkie2100 likes this.
  4. junkie2100

    junkie2100 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,311
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012

    Mar 11, 2012
    3,311
    695
    313
    Male
    k thats what i figured would happen
    backlight is on tho right? like the screen is on but with a black picture?
    i gotta figure out what the video issue is... hopefully i can get mine back from zte soon, and/or cooldudezach gets the chance to do some more tinkering, hes got a similar build for the awe which will carry over
     
  5. AceDaMack

    AceDaMack Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013

    Dec 12, 2013
    95
    22
    18
    Male
    VA
    yes backlight was on just no img
     
  6. junkie2100

    junkie2100 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,311
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012

    Mar 11, 2012
    3,311
    695
    313
    Male
    k, if anybody wants to start throwin stock libs and binaries at it or messin with the ramdisk be my guest, the more people screwin with it the better. also it should get adb access making a logcat and most likely a dmesg possible
     
  7. junkie2100

    junkie2100 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,311
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012

    Mar 11, 2012
    3,311
    695
    313
    Male
    updated it, might have better luck now... though it is unlikely
     
  8. AceDaMack

    AceDaMack Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013

    Dec 12, 2013
    95
    22
    18
    Male
    VA
    no luck, this time when you power the phone on to boot 3 secs phone shuts off and can not power on until you pull battery. Luckily can boot to cwm.
     
  9. junkie2100

    junkie2100 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,311
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012

    Mar 11, 2012
    3,311
    695
    313
    Male
    k good to know
     
  10. jimsmith80

    jimsmith80 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,361
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012

    Aug 22, 2012
    1,361
    777
    213
    Male
    Phoenix AZ
    I was looking at your cm10 device tree, and have a question. Why does the completed build need to be repacked with the factory boot.img? I haven't played with this at all yet, but was planning on forking your work once I get home.
     
  11. junkie2100

    junkie2100 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,311
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012

    Mar 11, 2012
    3,311
    695
    313
    Male
    because the ramdisk is all jacked up and making you guys do the work was easier than me fixing it... XD lol
     
    jimsmith80 likes this.
  12. junkie2100

    junkie2100 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,311
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012

    Mar 11, 2012
    3,311
    695
    313
    Male
    i used cm10 for the force as a base... and never got around to modifying most of it. my goal was to get it working, then work out the details like build.prop, ramdisk tweaking, things like that. and knowing that the stock ramdisk should boot cm for this particular phone, i saw no reason to deal with it. i tried a quick and dirty hack to get it right but it didnt work for whatever reason, i probably forgot something, so i just said screw it till i get it booting
     
  13. jimsmith80

    jimsmith80 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,361
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012

    Aug 22, 2012
    1,361
    777
    213
    Male
    Phoenix AZ
    Sounds good to me. Thanks for putting together the basic tree
     
  14. junkie2100

    junkie2100 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,311
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012

    Mar 11, 2012
    3,311
    695
    313
    Male
    np, and i can and will fix the ramdisk and all the odds and ends, i just am waiting on my test unit to get back so i can test again. uploading test builds over and over then having to wait for responses is just tedious and inefficient, especially for me on my phone internet
     
  15. junkie2100

    junkie2100 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,311
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012

    Mar 11, 2012
    3,311
    695
    313
    Male
    you got your new warp 4g too soon tho man, they just announced the boost max... same thing, bigger screen XD i want it soooo freakin bad
     
  16. jimsmith80

    jimsmith80 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,361
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012

    Aug 22, 2012
    1,361
    777
    213
    Male
    Phoenix AZ
    It was on sale, and radio shack does a 1 year free replacement, with no questions asked. Perfect for dev work lol
     
  17. xman95

    xman95 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    434
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011

    Nov 17, 2011
    434
    144
    68
    I like it too... just don't like the price ($300) for the specs!! LOL They just had the MOTO X on sale for that price yesterday for an hour.

    Wish list:
    Better processor
    More RAM
    1080P screen
    Removable battery
     
  18. jimsmith80

    jimsmith80 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,361
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012

    Aug 22, 2012
    1,361
    777
    213
    Male
    Phoenix AZ
    I made a few edits to the device tree, and will try a build tomorrow. On a side note we have also have the kernel source from ZTE for the Warplte. I've tested it and it builds a kernel identical to the one preinstalled on the device. The source is on my github
     
  19. junkie2100

    junkie2100 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,311
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012

    Mar 11, 2012
    3,311
    695
    313
    Male
    yea they got that, the nex, and the hera up there. forgot to mention that
     
  20. rbheromax

    rbheromax Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,927
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012

    Sep 22, 2012
    1,927
    443
    163
    Male
    High School Student
    Columbia, South Carolina
  21. jimsmith80

    jimsmith80 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,361
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012

    Aug 22, 2012
    1,361
    777
    213
    Male
    Phoenix AZ
    This is cool. I am figuring out all the ways to build a from that doesn't boot. Who knows I may come across one that boots by accident. Lol
     
  22. jimsmith80

    jimsmith80 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,361
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012

    Aug 22, 2012
    1,361
    777
    213
    Male
    Phoenix AZ
    I'm making baby steps and learning a lot. The build now boots to the green android without looping, so I figure I'm on the right track for ironing out the ramdisk. I'm really loving github right now. I made a few changes in the process that probably didn't help anything, but thankfully they were all tracked.
     
  23. rbheromax

    rbheromax Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,927
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012

    Sep 22, 2012
    1,927
    443
    163
    Male
    High School Student
    Columbia, South Carolina
    can u PM me a copy of the ramdisk so far? i can prolly help :)
     
  24. jimsmith80

    jimsmith80 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,361
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012

    Aug 22, 2012
    1,361
    777
    213
    Male
    Phoenix AZ
    Its on github. I am letting cm build everything it can, and going from there
     
  25. jimsmith80

    jimsmith80 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,361
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012

    Aug 22, 2012
    1,361
    777
    213
    Male
    Phoenix AZ
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...