1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root CM12.1 Unofficial Beta

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Bad_MOFO_33, Feb 24, 2015.

  1. Garner 27529

    Garner 27529 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014

    Aug 5, 2014
    45
    30
    23
    Same here. All data has stopped.

    Update. I had to reflash,and use dialer codes to get it going again. Haven't installed any mods,xposed,etc. Just can't figure out what happened. Anyone else?
     

    Advertisement

    #151 Garner 27529, Feb 28, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2015
  2. CrimsonToker

    CrimsonToker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,103
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014

    Jul 4, 2014
    1,103
    306
    173
    Male
    Cashier
    Humboldt County, U.S.A.
    Also this morning I bought final fantasy iv ($16) and after downloading it and trying to install, I realized it's not compatible with lollipop. I'm a big mobile gamer but forgot that most games still aren't working with L.
     
  3. master odysues

    master odysues Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    349
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013

    Mar 21, 2013
    349
    126
    88
    Male
    Houston Texas
    No I don't think so, even with the pre-set I/O scheduler , I still had to manually restart the system., but that was for 2/25 update
     
  4. kuduku

    kuduku Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014

    Dec 29, 2014
    25
    5
    16
    Male
    Clean flash 2/25
    Rear Camera works fine with CAMU
    All those who have Rear Camera working on stock app can please confirm that whether they first flashed 2/23 then dirty flashed 2/25 ?
    it seems all those who flashed 2/23 have rear camera working in 2/25
    Haven't updated to 2/28 as already worked out HOME button and camera with CAMU so .....
    And NO VIBRATION of course but can live with it .

    For feedback sake I am using it outside US in a CDMA provider like SPRINT/VERIZON but mines based on SIM cards exclusively . Just pop in any CDMA SIM and it works . Tested 2 carriers here . Everything works fine including calls , sms and DATA
     
    elisam98, Bad_MOFO_33 and Sands207 like this.
  5. adamhos1234

    adamhos1234 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    860
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012

    Aug 9, 2012
    860
    336
    113
    I can confirm this is what happened with me...
    Flashed original - rear cam/vib did not work
    Flashed boot.IMG - fixed cam and vibration.. Broke charging
    Flashed updated ROM- and cam and charging fixed ... Vib borked
    Flashed latest - cam still works and now home button is fixed.. Vib still borkes

    All Dirty flashes just wiping caches
    ...edit... Except original install, that was a fresh install.
    I wiped system, cache, dalvik, data, and internal storage
     
    #155 adamhos1234, Mar 1, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2015
    Bad_MOFO_33 likes this.
  6. kuduku

    kuduku Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014

    Dec 29, 2014
    25
    5
    16
    Male
    but on clean flash 2/25 Rear camera only works with CAMU not with stock
     
  7. rsoberanis

    rsoberanis Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014

    Oct 7, 2014
    16
    5
    16
    Awesome work on the ROM Bad_MOFO_33, thank you so much for taking time out to put this together. It works almost flawlessly. There are a couple of things I had a concerns about though in my case (not sure if ROM relevant or user error)

    1) Google maps in navigation mode has a "dragging" compass and it doesn't show me a turn by turn navigation it is just stuck in one place (could have been this way during kitkat too I don't remember, perhaps the FASTERGPS messed up the file?)
    2) I have a crossed circle on my status bar (see photo) and I have no idea what it has to do with
    3)i seem to be having a few problems with Lee going to a dead connection with an exclamation point, even after the radio turn on and off. It will just happen in the middle of normal operation sometimes

    Thanks for all your work guys, it's good to know that there are a team of people who take care of one another rather than saying tough ****!!!
     
  8. Zackvillnave

    Zackvillnave Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014

    Jul 21, 2014
    11
    1
    16
    For some reason the camera and gallery app don't show up in my app drawer any ideas?
     
  9. EmoUzuma

    EmoUzuma Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2013

    Dec 22, 2013
    63
    14
    18
    My rear camera still doesn't want to cooperate with me lol.....even after a clean install.
     
  10. Kahroo

    Kahroo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    769
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012

    Jun 13, 2012
    769
    53
    78
    NJ
    So how's the battery life?
     
    aguba likes this.
  11. furryoflife

    furryoflife Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015

    Mar 1, 2015
    67
    20
    18
    When I flashed, it is staying on the Boot logo. I didn't wipe dalvik or anything. What is wrong?
     
  12. bakerd62

    bakerd62 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2014

    Jan 15, 2014
    95
    26
    23
    Can anybody explain the steps on how to install the rom, i keep getting hung up on the boot logo
     
  13. furryoflife

    furryoflife Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015

    Mar 1, 2015
    67
    20
    18
    This please.
     
  14. bg4m3r

    bg4m3r Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    2,848
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013

    Nov 1, 2013
    2,848
    1,123
    493
    Male
    IT Contractor
    You need to do a clean install. Boot into recovery, do a factory reset, install ROM.
     
  15. furryoflife

    furryoflife Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015

    Mar 1, 2015
    67
    20
    18
    I shall try this.
     
  16. aethervagrant

    aethervagrant Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013

    Mar 14, 2013
    92
    19
    18
    Male
    Health Care
    California
    In TWRP (preferably the one linked in the OP) do a wipe/factory reset. Install zip file from ext sd card. install gapps (PA 5.01 Lollipop gapps for this) then wipe dalvik/cache again before rebooting. The last step is probably optional but can help sometimes. If that doesnt work then maybe something else going on, please give what recovery youre using, what ROM you had installed before, any other possibly relevant info
     
  17. furryoflife

    furryoflife Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015

    Mar 1, 2015
    67
    20
    18
    I'm using the recovery linked, I'm using the stock zv3 rom. Still stuck.
     
  18. aethervagrant

    aethervagrant Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013

    Mar 14, 2013
    92
    19
    18
    Male
    Health Care
    California
    maybe install one of the rooted zv5 roms first, then try CM12? I think most of us trying it came from rooted zv5 that we'd been running for a bit before these first couple beta roms came out.
     
  19. furryoflife

    furryoflife Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015

    Mar 1, 2015
    67
    20
    18
    That is what I am going to do now. I just assumed it wouldn't really matter too much. I shall update to it now, and report back with what happens.
     
  20. aethervagrant

    aethervagrant Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013

    Mar 14, 2013
    92
    19
    18
    Male
    Health Care
    California
    It shouldnt but this device and these roms are odd ducks. In rooting I had to use CWM for part of the process and TWRP for part. Took me a day to get CM12 running fine and im not sure what really did it. Omni worked fine for 24hrs before I got random reboots. It seems like everyone is having odd issues that need to be ironed out. things that shouldnt matter seem to. I wouldnt count on anything being a daily driver unless your'e cool with reflashing regularly. If you keep running into trouble i did run the custom rooted debloated zv5 for several weeks with no issues at all.
     
  21. furryoflife

    furryoflife Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015

    Mar 1, 2015
    67
    20
    18
    I do hope at some point close in the near future this CM 12 is stable enough for a daily driver. This phone has a lot of potential.
     
  22. furryoflife

    furryoflife Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015

    Mar 1, 2015
    67
    20
    18
    It is not working still. I will try one last time, but after that I will give up.
     
  23. furryoflife

    furryoflife Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015

    Mar 1, 2015
    67
    20
    18
    I can not get this to install any way I try. I get the zv5 rom to work with no problems what so ever. But CM12 just refuses to install. If someone could make a definitive guide that would be amazing.
     
  24. adamhos1234

    adamhos1234 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    860
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012

    Aug 9, 2012
    860
    336
    113
    I would suggest wiping internal memory.. Just make sure any backups or items you don't want to lose are on your external card first.
     
    aethervagrant likes this.
  25. jhofseth

    jhofseth Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2013

    it definitely installs with Lollipop TWRP.
    make a full backup while still using KitKat TWRP to external_SD.
    use flashify to backup KitKat recovery.
    copy flashify-backup folder to external_SD.
    use Flashify to flash Lollipop TWRP recovery.
    (KitKat TWRP is tan, Lollipop TWRP is blue; wiping takes longer in TWRP Lollipop, be patient)
    save CM12 ROM to external_SD.
    save GApps zip to external_SD.
    wipe absolutely everything except external_SD within Lollipop TWRP.
    install CM12 within Lollipop TWRP.
    wipe cache/dalvik cache.
    reboot system.
    boot into CM12. cycle through setup. tap build a bunch of times in settings to enable developer options.
    enable root for apps/adb in developer options.
    power off.
    boot into Lollipop TWRP.
    install GApps from external_SD.
    wipe cache/dalvik cache.
    reboot system.
    (if you need to restore: Flashify flash TWRP KitKat; TWRP wipe everything except external_SD; restore old ROM in KitKat TWRP from backup stored in external_SD.)
    unless your download was corrupted, you won't have a problem installing CM12.
    the key is to wipe absolutely everything except external_SD in Lollipop TWRP before installing CM12 from external_SD. :)
     
    #175 jhofseth, Mar 1, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2015
    aguba likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...