1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root CM13 beta (Marshmallow 4 Volt) Q/A

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by SykkNyzz, Apr 18, 2016.

  1. SykkNyzz

    SykkNyzz Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    593
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012

    Nov 10, 2012
    593
    324
    133
    Male
    IDK
    Florence, SC
    This is in reference to another post on this subject so please test and ask questions or give help here.

    Wanted to try to make a cleaner location to get better support
    (I take no credit for the development, only this Q/A thread)

    Original from this thread:

    http://androidforums.com/index.php?threads/977839/

    Credit for Build goes to:
    @Bad_MOFO_33

    The post from that thread:

    http://androidforums.com/index.php?posts/7275479

    I need someone to test
    https://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=24499762636002535

    Lots of things broken, but with more of us working on it, hopefully not for long.

    Used Cyanogenmod W7 as base with some kangs from ls990



    Slim Gapps THNX Don

    .... Or http://www.opengapps.org will work

    BTW Flash Whichever Gapps, LTE and ROM at the same time or you will most likely face issues.

    xposed for Marshmallow on xda
    (Need to flash zip, wipe dalvik/cache then install apk)
    [better instructions there]
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=3034811

    DO NOT! I repeat DO NOT Swap storage using this ROM! I borked my phone and had to start from scratch

     

    Advertisement

    #1 SykkNyzz, Apr 18, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2016
  2. Don_Kiraly

    Don_Kiraly Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015

    Nov 6, 2015
    13
    23
    38
    Male
    I installed this a few hours ago and have been looking for issues. I have to say, this is a slick ROM. Can confirm that this ROM works with RingPlus (3g at least)

    I installed beta Slim gapps 6.0 right after installing the ROM and I have not had any app crahses or anything. I have entered every settings menu and can't find anything that doesn't work.

    Thank you so much devs. This really brings our volt new life. Cm13 is as smooth as a melted marshmallow.


    I'm scrapping the port from the l90 and am going to try and help with some of these bugs in this ROM. It has so much potential. The least I can do is continue to be a device tester.

    I am definitely going to use this for my daily driver now. I had no issues with core functions except for:
    - Camera green tint
    (Can't be fixed to my knowledge. Totally device dependent)
    - no vibrate

    All the necessitys work such as

    • YouTube 480p (HD?) Video
    • SMS
    • Calling
    • Web
    • GPS (Works great for me.)
    • Double tap to wake
    • Night mode - Blue light filterfilter
    This is just me personal opinion but there isn't much wrong with this ROM for me at least. Works great. I will report back tomorrow with some overnight standby tests on battery life.

    I would recommend this ROM to anyone who is on CM12.1

    EDIT: Netflix works perfect. Didn't work in CM12!!



     
  3. DeltaXzombies

    DeltaXzombies Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    182
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015

    Jun 13, 2015
    182
    123
    88
    Male
    I can confirm that HD videos are working. No green tint on my end so far. The main problem I've had is Google play services force closing every 5 seconds but that's because I dirty flashed over CM11. Other than that I haven't found any serious problems yet. Almost tempted to use this as a daily driver now. :D

    EDIT: After using this for a few hours I've noticed that HD videos sometimes lag and freeze at random points, I'm not sure if anyone else has that problem. Also when I reboot it will sometimes reboot itself 2 times before fully booting, once again not sure if its just a problem with me.

    BTW I love the lock screen :p
     

    Attached Files:

    #3 DeltaXzombies, Apr 18, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2016
    che_edgar, mjhealy1978 and SykkNyzz like this.
  4. mjhealy1978

    mjhealy1978 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    409
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013

    Apr 1, 2013
    409
    103
    78
    Male
    Lowell,Ma.
    Where did you get SlimGapps 6.0?
     
    che_edgar likes this.
  5. mjhealy1978

    mjhealy1978 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    409
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013

    Apr 1, 2013
    409
    103
    78
    Male
    Lowell,Ma.
    I just installed with arm 6.0 nano gapps & It works awesome so far? Thank you to the devs who made this possible.
     
    che_edgar likes this.
  6. SykkNyzz

    SykkNyzz Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    593
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012

    Nov 10, 2012
    593
    324
    133
    Male
    IDK
    Florence, SC
    Anyone else having MMS issues?
     
    Ph0enix_216 likes this.
  7. mjhealy1978

    mjhealy1978 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    409
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013

    Apr 1, 2013
    409
    103
    78
    Male
    Lowell,Ma.
    Not yet, I'm o Virgin & data texting & talk all work!
     
  8. SykkNyzz

    SykkNyzz Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    593
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012

    Nov 10, 2012
    593
    324
    133
    Male
    IDK
    Florence, SC
    I mean can you send or receive pics via messaging?
     
  9. Don_Kiraly

    Don_Kiraly Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015

    Nov 6, 2015
    13
    23
    38
    Male
    mjhealy1978 likes this.
  10. mjhealy1978

    mjhealy1978 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    409
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013

    Apr 1, 2013
    409
    103
    78
    Male
    Lowell,Ma.
    Yes I have sent & received pics & texting & calls are still working fine! I'm pretty excited, so far so good! Only fart I've noticed is I lost 3G but I reflashed the as on fix & set the thing in cellular networks to 3G & haven't had a problem since!
     
  11. SykkNyzz

    SykkNyzz Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    593
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012

    Nov 10, 2012
    593
    324
    133
    Male
    IDK
    Florence, SC
    That's an issue for me (MMS) and I have issues live streaming the wwe network (I can watch non live stream vids though)... Its kinda of a deal breaker for me. That and I can't write to SD card.... I'll try again later... But these 3 are my issue for now.
     
  12. mjhealy1978

    mjhealy1978 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    409
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013

    Apr 1, 2013
    409
    103
    78
    Male
    Lowell,Ma.
  13. SykkNyzz

    SykkNyzz Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    593
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012

    Nov 10, 2012
    593
    324
    133
    Male
    IDK
    Florence, SC
  14. Moogles

    Moogles Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2016

    Apr 19, 2016
    1
    0
    15
    Male
    I Keep Getting An Error Saying AOSP Keyboard Has Stopped Working Anyone Have Any Solution?
     
  15. Jon Osterman

    Jon Osterman Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015

    Nov 8, 2015
    7
    2
    6
    Male
    Folks, Thanks a lot for your efforts. My Volt now runs smoothly. Just one minor problem so far. It does not connect to PC via USB, the Volt icon does show up on desktop, but there is no access to either internal or external SD. If I put the phone into Recovery Mode, then everything is fine.
     
  16. DeltaXzombies

    DeltaXzombies Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    182
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015

    Jun 13, 2015
    182
    123
    88
    Male
    Best solution for an External SD is to just take it out of the phone and use a micro SD adapter if you have one. The connection problem will hopefully be fixed soon
     
  17. Don_Kiraly

    Don_Kiraly Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015

    Nov 6, 2015
    13
    23
    38
    Male
    Back with some battery stats from today. Unplugged at around 6:40. Not a very heavy use day. Ive been using 3G since 12:00 Screenshot_20160419-161744.png Screenshot_20160419-161747.png
     
    Bad_MOFO_33 likes this.
  18. DeltaXzombies

    DeltaXzombies Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    182
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015

    Jun 13, 2015
    182
    123
    88
    Male
    Looks pretty good. Only 50% lost in one day it seems and i would imagine that using some battery saver apps the battery would last alot longer
     
  19. Don_Kiraly

    Don_Kiraly Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015

    Nov 6, 2015
    13
    23
    38
    Male
    For sure. I didn't even use the built in battery saver mode. Its an added bonus to having marshmallow on our device.
    3000mAh battery + Doze/Battery Saver Mode + qHD screen = Killer battery life:thumbsupdroid:
     
    che_edgar and DeltaXzombies like this.
  20. JoshD

    JoshD Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #163
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    205
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013

    Aug 13, 2013
    205
    118
    88
    Male
    Kind of a PCA
    Twin Ports
    The phone connects in charge only mode, you have to select mtp (file transfers) from the options.
    1.png 2.png
     
    Jon Osterman likes this.
  21. SykkNyzz

    SykkNyzz Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    593
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012

    Nov 10, 2012
    593
    324
    133
    Male
    IDK
    Florence, SC
    I'll try the ROM later. I seem to get some new issue with every flash lol
     
  22. DeltaXzombies

    DeltaXzombies Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    182
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015

    Jun 13, 2015
    182
    123
    88
    Male
    When I installed the gapps I kept getting nonstop "Setup wizard has stopped working" error :/
     
  23. andMego

    andMego Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    604
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015

    Aug 9, 2015
    604
    161
    133
    You flashed it the same time as the ROM? And if not did you try fixing the permissions in settings?
     
  24. DeltaXzombies

    DeltaXzombies Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    182
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015

    Jun 13, 2015
    182
    123
    88
    Male
    Ok so this ROM just started heading south for me. I wanted to install SuperSU since Titanium Backup didn't support the built in root binary. So I tried to update the binary through TWRP and got a boot loop and then TWRP didn't want to boot up so I plugged the phone in and let it cool down. I was able to restore my CM11 backup. I was really hoping to use CM13 as a daily driver but without me being able to restore all my data and without xposed (I think) I'll just have to wait then
     
  25. DeltaXzombies

    DeltaXzombies Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    182
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015

    Jun 13, 2015
    182
    123
    88
    Male
    I solved the problem of that but I went back to CM11
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...