1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root cm13 booting on a zmax

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by hroark13, Mar 24, 2016.

  1. hroark13

    hroark13 Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #49
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    3,288
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    3,288
    4,137
    483

    Advertisement

  2. Eshaanm

    Eshaanm Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2015

    Mar 24, 2015
    5
    1
    16
    Amazing! Keep up the good work!
     
    hroark13 likes this.
  3. CESARGUERRA

    CESARGUERRA Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011

    Aug 12, 2011
    48
    16
    28
    Male
    305
    hroark13 you're a bad @$$. AWESOME WORK!!! A beer or two on me :).
    I kwow that CM13 is not camera friendly when it comes to use the stock app so maybe we will need to use Open Camera or something like that... I'm sure that's not even important now lol.
    We all appreciate your hard work.
     
    The-Truth, CYCONUMNUM and hroark13 like this.
  4. driod108

    driod108 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015

    Jun 8, 2015
    50
    9
    26
    Male
    Respect !
     
    The-Truth, hroark13 and CYCONUMNUM like this.
  5. CYCONUMNUM

    CYCONUMNUM Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    810
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011

    Nov 27, 2011
    810
    407
    133
    Male
    my occupation is a peaceful one
    in a van down by the river
    He does it again!!!!!!
    Thanks for caring enough to put in the effort and time and sweat and frustration.....
    I bet it was a walk in the park :)
    What's the biggest difference between 12 and 13 besides being based on M ?

    Never mind.. I googled it... Sry
     
    #5 CYCONUMNUM, Mar 25, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2016
    CESARGUERRA and hroark13 like this.
  6. hroark13

    hroark13 Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #49
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    3,288
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    3,288
    4,137
    483

    I honestly don’t know the difference. my kernel and device tree need some changes, and still do

    I got it booting. but there is a lot of stuff not working, but getting cm13 booted on a new phone is a major milestone
     
  7. CYCONUMNUM

    CYCONUMNUM Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    810
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011

    Nov 27, 2011
    810
    407
    133
    Male
    my occupation is a peaceful one
    in a van down by the river
    I can't even fathom it....
    I lose track reading a paragraph..
     
    The-Truth likes this.
  8. hroark13

    hroark13 Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #49
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    3,288
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    3,288
    4,137
    483
    OK for those that want to help

    I am uploading an alpha rom, everything is still broken

    one of the things I need to do is figure out which of the pre-built and proprietary files that I used in cm12.1, will work in CM13

    here is the rom

    http://www.mediafire.com/download/u0ack7q31hkobbt/cm13_zmax_alpha1.zip

    here is the zip file that has the files i used in cm12

    some of these files will fix stuff, and some of them with break stuff, and make the rom not boot

    https://www.mediafire.com/?7pko5tcc8lm8d7s

    here is a list of what some of these files are for
    https://github.com/hroark13/android_device_zte_draconis/blob/cm12.1/proprietary-files.txt

    I am not sure how much time I will have to put into this project, but at least if I get some people to help, maybe stuff will get fixed quicker
     
    #8 hroark13, Mar 26, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2016
    roadkill42, dubtee, dfuse06 and 3 others like this.
  9. hroark13

    hroark13 Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #49
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    3,288
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    3,288
    4,137
    483
    here is the source if anyone wants to try and build this

    Device tree
    https://github.com/hroark13/android_device_zte_draconis/tree/cm13

    Kernel
    https://github.com/hroark13/android_kernel_zte_draconis/tree/cm13

    Vendor
    https://github.com/hroark13/android_vendor_zte_draconis/tree/cm13

    you have to patch VOLD, the patch is in the device tree
    https://github.com/hroark13/android...vold_do_not_abort_on_setexeccon_failure.patch

    after it builds you have to unzip and switch out the boot.img and re-zip it

    because the
    file_contexts
    property_contexts
    sepolicy
    inside the boot.img needs to be replaced

    you can just use my pre-built boot.img, but if you are making changes to the kernel source or ramdisk, then you will need to make repack your own boot.img
     
    #9 hroark13, Mar 26, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2016
    bcrichster, dubtee, dfuse06 and 2 others like this.
  10. hroark13

    hroark13 Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #49
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    3,288
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    3,288
    4,137
    483
    pretty quiet in here, 9 downloads and no one is talking
     
  11. KefkaPalazzo92

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013

    Mar 13, 2013
    32
    4
    16
    Male
    Good job with the cm13

    Well I'm gonna wait until is fix
     
  12. sdt1

    sdt1 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011

    Jul 1, 2011
    5
    4
    6
    I'm running Carbon 5.1.1 on my Z970 right now, and it's way better than the stock 4.4.2 ever was, but I'm so chuffed to think that M might actually be a possibility now! Thanks for all your efforts @hroark13 !
     
  13. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,648
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,648
    2,257
    533
    Male
    Fort Myers, Fl
    Once phone/MMS and data are working I'll start using it as a daily driver and try to help with finding bugs and how to reproduce them.

    In the mean time I might be able to find a little extra time at night to expirement with those proprietary files for the existing build when I don't need to be able to use the phone nearly as much.

    We might also be getting a couple other developers back to work on stabilizing Marshmallow now that you got it to compile and boot.

    I might even fire up my box and try compiling it myself as well, but dont hold out too much hope on me being able to accomplish anything from that end. So far the only device I can compile ROMs for is my 2013 Nexus 7. I don't know what it is cause Ethan told me he could use your tree and kernel the way they were but they wouldn't work for me.

    Either I wasn't setting everything up right, or changes were made to the android source code after you finished your tree and kernel that made it necessary to modify them. My builds would always error out with "no rule to make target" errors. Anyway, I seriously doubt that's enough info to know the cause of my problems but just throwing it out there.
     
    #13 Masterchief87, Mar 27, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2016
    dubtee and dfuse06 like this.
  14. dfuse06

    dfuse06 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    745
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015

    Apr 9, 2015
    745
    928
    193
    Male
    Awesome job bro! Compiling Broken now!
     
  15. dfuse06

    dfuse06 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    745
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015

    Apr 9, 2015
    745
    928
    193
    Male
  16. dfuse06

    dfuse06 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    745
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015

    Apr 9, 2015
    745
    928
    193
    Male
    I'm thinking with some up bring of the kernel we can get this thing rocking and rolling.
     
    MoonMan83 and Masterchief87 like this.
  17. hroark13

    hroark13 Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #49
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    3,288
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    3,288
    4,137
    483
    do you have a zmax ?

    if not, I a have one, and can tes stuff for ya
     
    Masterchief87 likes this.
  18. dfuse06

    dfuse06 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    745
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015

    Apr 9, 2015
    745
    928
    193
    Male
    I got someone sending me one. Blind builds suck!!
     
    MoonMan83 and Masterchief87 like this.
  19. hroark13

    hroark13 Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #49
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    3,288
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    3,288
    4,137
    483
    just to be clear, a lot of stuff still does not work, you probably have the newest version of the vendor folder, which has almost all those files from that zip still in it

    I am not sure if we should try to use the latest 4.4.4 files, like b13 or what ever it was

    also did you repack your botot image ?
     
    Masterchief87 likes this.
  20. hroark13

    hroark13 Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #49
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    3,288
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    3,288
    4,137
    483
    yeah I wont work on a rom unless i have phone in hand
     
    Masterchief87 and dfuse06 like this.
  21. dfuse06

    dfuse06 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    745
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015

    Apr 9, 2015
    745
    928
    193
    Male
    I know a lot of the stuff doesn't work and I didn't re pack the boot img. I wanted to see what would happen. Got to optimizing apps and was able to get a log.
     
    MoonMan83 and Masterchief87 like this.
  22. hroark13

    hroark13 Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #49
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    3,288
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    3,288
    4,137
    483
    if we are able to make a working sepolicy, the ramdisk does not need re-packing

    but selinux baffles me
     
    Masterchief87 likes this.
  23. dfuse06

    dfuse06 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    745
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015

    Apr 9, 2015
    745
    928
    193
    Male
    I hate selinux too.
     
    Masterchief87 and hroark13 like this.
  24. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,648
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,648
    2,257
    533
    Male
    Fort Myers, Fl
    As long as everything goes well I should have another zmax and be able to send @dfuse06 one within the next 10 days. In the meantime I'm more than happy to test and pull logs and do whatever I can on my end.
     
    MoonMan83 and dfuse06 like this.
  25. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,648
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,648
    2,257
    533
    Male
    Fort Myers, Fl
    OK now I'm messing with the cm13 alpha for a while cause we're done messing with broken for the night.

    @hroark13 you probably already know about most of this stuff if not all of it but I'm gonna throw it all out there in case there are any issues you have not yet noticed.
    List of broken stuff I've found.
    WiFi
    Data/cell signal(when I try to open mobile network settings I get the message that com.android.phone has stopped and settings force closes)
    Doesn't recognize sim or SD card
    Bluetooth
    Home button just vibrates
    Can't connect to camera(changed selinux to permissive via terminal and still had same issue...used "setenforce 0" to change to permissive mode)
    No sound
    Tried to mount my micro USB flash drive and it didn't work with stick mount or with the option in settings(it hung up at "checking for errors)
    Tried to figure out how to mount the SD card manually but couldn't figure out the correct mount point and didn't want to mess up the phone by mounting the wrong partition.

    I'm going to go back to my nandroid of broken5.1.1 now and get some sleep. I'll start getting logcats and go further in depth on the next test run. If there is anything else I can do to help let me know.
     
  26. hroark13

    hroark13 Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #49
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    3,288
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    3,288
    4,137
    483
    shit, now it is not working again

    damn I hate this sensor issue
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...