1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root CM4DX Network Location Fix w/ CRT mod

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by yawdapaah, Jun 21, 2011.

  1. yawdapaah

    yawdapaah Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    900
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009

    Aug 20, 2009
    900
    288
    113
    EE
    NJ
    Next up is network location. I need someone (brave) to verify that coarse network locations works.
    Props to the D2 guys. I didn't even think that the problem could be framework related. I just happened to google CM7 and network location. Their solution was to load the sholes framework (which would obviously fail for the DX). Knowing that it was a framework issue, it was pretty easy to find out the responsible xml and copy the fixes from the 596 framework.

    To fix this, I had to edit strings.xml in framework-res.apk and add the following:

    @ config_networkLocationProvider to
    com.google.android.location.NetworkLocationProvider

    @config_geocodeProvider to
    com.google.android.location.GeocodeProvider

    I also changed this one but I don't know if it's required. I saw ppp0 in the test menu and aLogcat so I figured it was necessary.
    @config_datause_iface to
    ppp0

    All three of those values were set to @Null

    Here's the flashable zip - CMod7_Fixes.zip Please mount system before installing.
    Here's the .xml file for those that want to do it themselves - http://www.mediafire.com/?d2e55hde8h8x8qp

    I added (read Kanged!) the CRT mod as well. Thanks/props to Webst3r @Rootzwiki for doing that.
     

    Advertisement

    mad3963, cjcross22, LaZeR and 13 others like this.
  2. cheesebeard

    cheesebeard Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    May 28, 2011

    May 28, 2011
    101
    12
    38
    Massachusetts
    Is this for the latest nightly? I'll give it a go if it is!
     
  3. yawdapaah

    yawdapaah Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    900
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009

    Aug 20, 2009
    900
    288
    113
    EE
    NJ
    Yes, I'm on V6 and it worked for me.
     
  4. Kevmueller

    Kevmueller Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    766
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    766
    145
    93
    Kansas City
    Going to try this now, will let you know once I am done.
     
  5. cheesebeard

    cheesebeard Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    May 28, 2011

    May 28, 2011
    101
    12
    38
    Massachusetts
    Seems to be working fine so far, Fancy Widget picked up my location right away!
     
    yawdapaah likes this.
  6. bouchigo

    bouchigo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,756
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    3,756
    1,026
    413
    Production Engineer Mngr.
    Stockton, CA
    Wow, that was an easy fix if indeed it does work......I guess the hard part was finding the culprit :p;):D
     
    drhill likes this.
  7. Kevmueller

    Kevmueller Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    766
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    766
    145
    93
    Kansas City
    Yep I will confirm that this works as well. Tried Rainy Days and Weather Bug and both find my location right away. Great work on this!!!!!
     
    yawdapaah likes this.
  8. bouchigo

    bouchigo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,756
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    3,756
    1,026
    413
    Production Engineer Mngr.
    Stockton, CA
    @yawdapaah

    I haven't really looked at anything for CM7, I just barely installed it for the first time about 1 hour ago :D

    Anyway, is the CRT mod the same as always, by just simply editing bools.xml?
     
  9. yawdapaah

    yawdapaah Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    900
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009

    Aug 20, 2009
    900
    288
    113
    EE
    NJ
    Apparently. I've never cared too much for it so I never learned to do it. I just kanged bools.xml from Webst3r and added it to my framework.
     
  10. bouchigo

    bouchigo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,756
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    3,756
    1,026
    413
    Production Engineer Mngr.
    Stockton, CA

    Oh ok, it's not difficult at all, it's simply a matter of changing a value from "true" to "false"...........you're not missing out on a great learning experience :p
     
  11. drhill

    drhill Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    762
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    762
    186
    103
    Very nice.
     
  12. imronburgundy

    imronburgundy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    368
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010

    Jun 29, 2010
    368
    24
    38
    Dude, you're on fire. At this rate CM7 will be out of Beta in a week!
     
  13. Ghub1

    Ghub1 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    May 4, 2011

    May 4, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Any way to change the T-CDMA 46 logo to like Cyanogen Mod or something else?
     
  14. Woodrow

    Woodrow Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010

    Jan 3, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Just installed. Foursquare is now working! Thanks!

    One VERY minor issue, I changed the carrier banner, and after installing the zip, it is back to reading "T-CDMA 64"
     
  15. Flying_Hellfish

    Flying_Hellfish Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    612
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    612
    65
    78
    Illinois
    Tried Radar Now as well and it is fine again. :) Let's hope it gets into a nightly soon so I don't have to flash this every day. LOL
     
  16. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    3,933
    Posts:
    32,968
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    32,968
    25,381
    3,933
    Male
    I used JRummy's root tools. It changed the network logo fine.
     
    bcltoys and Flying_Hellfish like this.
  17. Flying_Hellfish

    Flying_Hellfish Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    612
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    612
    65
    78
    Illinois
    Well worth the buck fifty just for this option. I changed mine to my forum name. :p
     
  18. Ghub1

    Ghub1 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    May 4, 2011

    May 4, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Sweet just got it thanks for the 411
     
  19. BottledHate

    BottledHate Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    463
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    463
    11
    58
    Electronics/Electrician
    WA
    @yawdapaah

    Thanks! nice find.


    @Steven58

    Sweet app, thank you for the tip.
     
  20. bouchigo

    bouchigo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,756
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    3,756
    1,026
    413
    Production Engineer Mngr.
    Stockton, CA
    I did this manually by decompiling and compiling the apk :D

    I made all the changes that yawdapaah described in his first post; it helps me learn it.

    I also made a zip that applies the camera fix and this fix (coarse location fix), I also changed the network tag to "Cyanogen Mod", and I added the change that has the screen turn on when you disconnect the phone from charging.

    I'm not sure if we get 10% increments on this I forgot to check (I'm way out of the loop on CM right now), but I'm also going to change the battery to a green slotted type with 10% if it doesn't already have it (haven't done the battery yet though).
     
  21. cabraswell

    cabraswell Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    329
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010

    Jun 24, 2010
    329
    39
    63
    Male
    Biomedical Technician
    Western NC
    Thanks for the awesome work guys.
     
  22. bcltoys

    bcltoys Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #207
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    705
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    705
    47
    68
    Male
    Marine tech
    Maryland
    Don't know who found it but +1 on the find.
     
  23. bcltoys

    bcltoys Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #207
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    705
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    705
    47
    68
    Male
    Marine tech
    Maryland
    Changed a few thing's but how do you change network logo using root tools.
     
  24. xmike

    xmike Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011

    Apr 18, 2011
    169
    24
    38
    Bo, Now that you're on cm7, will we get to see a BWC theme for it?
     
  25. bouchigo

    bouchigo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,756
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    3,756
    1,026
    413
    Production Engineer Mngr.
    Stockton, CA
    Maybe later, there's too much change going on right now.
     

Share This Page

Loading...