1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Cm7 1.1

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by bjanow, Jun 11, 2011.

  1. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    913
    Posts:
    10,474
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,474
    4,694
    913
    ...
    FG
    Depends on your phone many others are still up to date at xda devs got frustrated with bolt users
     

    Advertisement

  2. JayCizzo

    JayCizzo Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010

    Aug 18, 2010
    65
    7
    16
    Tampa, FL
    Flashed 1.4 on top of 1.3 without wiping. When it rebooted my kernel was back to the default CM7. Didn't think it was supposed to do that. Anyway, reflashed lean kernel, set to extreme with the ondemandx governor and all seems well.

    Actually, one issue. Flash Player wasn't working. Tried installing the older 10.2 but that didn't work. Reinstalled the newest version from the market but still not working. I finally got it to work by going to \data\data\com.android.browser\app_plugins\com.adobe.flashplayer\.macromedia\.Flash_Player and setting the permissions back to rwx for owner (chmod 700). I had previously set it to 000 to get it to work per the fix on XDA. Maybe this issue was fixed with the 1.4. Whatever, it works now.
     
  3. bjanow

    bjanow Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,763
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    2,763
    477
    163
    Colorado
    If this rom is perfect, and I agree it is, you might want to get your buffering figured out since I've not heard this ever. Data, for me, is always there whether it's 4G, 3G or wifi. Head on over to #slayher and ask around.
     
  4. WBMc36

    WBMc36 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    467
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    467
    52
    73
    Full time student
    Pittsburgh/Erie
    DJ made the transition to the bolt from the inc as well? You were one of the people that got me to try CM7 on my incredible because you praised it at the time. Glad to see you here. As for xda, if there were some changes made to the site it could be fine, there are just too many idiots that can post whatever they want without disciplinary action. You can't have members harassing the devs that work very hard to put out a rom and just get flamed by members on there. It is a sad thing to see but a very welcome change in my book. I registered on rootzwiki and it seems to have built itself a solid friendly helpful community like AF.
     
  5. garnto

    garnto Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    279
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011

    Feb 23, 2011
    279
    61
    53
    understandable. I seem to have pretty good luck with cm7. no problems with installing 1.4 over 1.3, and I never even had to do the sense rom trick for gps on 1.3
     
  6. WBMc36

    WBMc36 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    467
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    467
    52
    73
    Full time student
    Pittsburgh/Erie
    Luckily *Knock on wood* i have not had any problems with gps or nav either throughout any of the builds. I love cm7 and if i had any spare money i would donate to slayher for all of his amazing work. I really don't know how he does it, but he deserves any type of monetary donation people give him.
    Can't wait to see what is in store for the future of CM. They have a great team of devs.
     
  7. ahoogst

    ahoogst Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    205
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010

    Apr 16, 2010
    205
    37
    43
    I just discovered something that may be of use to people here or googlers. To disable your wifi from sleeping when the screen is off follow these few steps: Go to Wifi settings, hit your menu softkey, select Advanced, touch Wifi sleep policy and then select Never.

    I didn't realize at first that the policy was set to sleep until I noticed I hadn't received any "urgent" emails in an hour :p.
     
    zambonidriver likes this.
  8. brizey

    brizey Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    591
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011

    Jun 25, 2011
    591
    120
    93
    This can be a real battery saver if you are like me and on wifi 80% of the time. My understanding is that if you turn off mobile data and do not do this, you get no data at all after 15 minutes of sleep. If you leave mobile data on, it will switch to the battery hog 4G radio after 15 minutes asleep. I think the concept is that wifi is normally more of a battery hog than mobile data if you are moving around in and out of wifi range. But that was before the onset of the battery vacuuming LTE radios.
     
  9. WBMc36

    WBMc36 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    467
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    467
    52
    73
    Full time student
    Pittsburgh/Erie
    A wifi sleep policy set to never like brizey said is ideal if you are in a constant wifi area. Moving around i have had problems in the past where my phone would not pick up on mobile data when i was not on wifi until i switched the policy back to when screen turns off. Odd problem and may have been just me. If you dont leave wifi this is a good way to save some battery.
     
  10. ahoogst

    ahoogst Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    205
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010

    Apr 16, 2010
    205
    37
    43
    I've also been trying to get my Green Power app to play nicely with CM7 but it's not able to toggle data on when I turn the screen back on. This is a pretty big issue for me because it's my best way to conserve battery when I'm not in a wifi area. I might actually consider switching roms if I can't get it to work. Could it be a radio issue?
     
  11. bjanow

    bjanow Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,763
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    2,763
    477
    163
    Colorado
    How about Y5? Turns off wifi when you leave, auto turns it back on with a remembered ssid.
     
  12. brizey

    brizey Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    591
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011

    Jun 25, 2011
    591
    120
    93
    Interesting concept. I assume it uses network location to determine where it should turn on wifi? Might be an issue with AOSP roms and their flaky network location capabilities. I may try it.
     
  13. bjanow

    bjanow Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,763
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    2,763
    477
    163
    Colorado
    Has nothing to do with location. If it sees a wifi that has been logged in before it will automatically connect you. ssid is the way. Works great!
     
  14. brizey

    brizey Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    591
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011

    Jun 25, 2011
    591
    120
    93
    How can it see the SSID if it is wifi is off?

    Edit: from the developer's website FAQ:

    "The application uses the information which is already available: the GSM base tower identifier (CellID) to determine the location of the Wifi network."

    The early versions only worked with GSM from what I can see from the comments.

    So basically, it uses network location.

    Also, pretty much every device with wifi that I have ever used will automatically log on to a known SSID if you choose to.
     
  15. bjanow

    bjanow Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,763
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    2,763
    477
    163
    Colorado
    IDK, sorry, but it works every time. I think if you set something to automatically notify you if a wifi is available it will pop up something letting you know. I guess this app sees that and connects you? But it turns off wifi when not in range and then back on when it is. If the dev says it uses location it uses location, but the point is that it works all the time and saves battery by turning it off.
     
  16. brizey

    brizey Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    591
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011

    Jun 25, 2011
    591
    120
    93
    Sorry...thank you for pointing this app out to me. I will put it to the test tomorrow. The concept of the program is great...I hope the execution is as good.
     
  17. ahoogst

    ahoogst Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    205
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010

    Apr 16, 2010
    205
    37
    43
    Interesting app, I'm definitely going to hang on to it. However, it sadly doesn't cover the mobile data management. I like Green Power because it's lightweight. I'll try out Juice Defender and see if that works on CM7 next. Any other apps that are good for managing mobile data connection?
     
  18. djkeller3

    djkeller3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    650
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    650
    44
    68
    Business Owner
    Lexington, KY
    Well... it's more like the bolt developers got fed up with XDA management. :)

    But yes, there are a lot of jerks over there. Big time. And I doubt that they all hang out in the T-Bolt threads.
     
  19. djkeller3

    djkeller3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    650
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    650
    44
    68
    Business Owner
    Lexington, KY
    It's a well-known FACT that data is not totally right with AOSP. While it is MUCH better than it was several weeks ago, it still has a long ways to go.

    For me, data tends to drop off to sleep. Sometimes it wakes up, sometimes it doesn't. When it doesn't, it's very irritating. Most of the time I get handoffs from wifi to 3G, but when I don't and I have to reboot and lose 10% to 20% of my battery, I find that irritating.

    Everything else about the CM7 is perfect, as I said.

    Now, I am extremely grateful for all the hard work that's been done on CM7. With no source code, I don't know how Slayher has done all that he has. He must be a miracle worker to get as far as he's gotten. As good as CM7 is and as good as Slayher is, it still comes back to whether I can get through a business day with data as it is today. My answer is I probably could on some days, but I need it to work all the time.

    Like I said, data issues are documented all over the place. My issues are ROM related, not wiping related. That much I know for sure.
     
  20. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    913
    Posts:
    10,474
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,474
    4,694
    913
    ...
    FG
    I am still scratching my head when people mention XDA having mods. Sure I know they exist but that forum is really understaffed. I know all the jerks aren't in the bolt threads but I don't frequent any other section of that site, occasionally android general section. I have done research on other phone/tablets before and it seems like almost everything has XDA and 1-3 other sites that have good communities devoted to development so there is almost always some place for devs to go if they are not happy with one community.
     
  21. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    DJ, which radio are you using? I have no problem with data drops and haven't for the last couple RC's. I'm on newest leak
     
  22. djkeller3

    djkeller3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    650
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    650
    44
    68
    Business Owner
    Lexington, KY
    Yep, and I still praise CM7! I just wish HTC would release the source code so we can finally put all data issues to bed! :D

    I gotta tell ya, the T-Bolt just blows me away with how well it runs CM7. It's like the TB was made for AOSP. I can't wait for CM7 to be as complete for the T-Bolt as it was for the Dinc. What a difference it made!

    Lately, I'm kinda going back and forth between BAMF ROMs and CM7. I've taken a liking to Sense 3, BAMF-style. I always flash the latest CM7 build for the new goodies and to see how well data works. Right now, data for me isn't quite there - not complaining - just acknowledging that until Slayher gets the source code, I probably won't be able to use it exclusively.
     
  23. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    913
    Posts:
    10,474
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,474
    4,694
    913
    ...
    FG

    Would that work? I thought that AOSP roms had to have the RIL built from scratch because the RIL on the leaks will only work with sense, kinda like why we have to have different kernels.
     
  24. djkeller3

    djkeller3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    650
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    650
    44
    68
    Business Owner
    Lexington, KY
    I'm on the official MR2. It works really well with the BAMF roms. By newest leak, are you referring to MR2.5? If so, I thought the official release of MR2 is more recent.
     
  25. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    913
    Posts:
    10,474
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,474
    4,694
    913
    ...
    FG

    No he is talking about the radio here it is Chingy's leaked GB radio
     
    djkeller3 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...