1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root cm7 boot sound

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by nuttmeg, May 25, 2011.

  1. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,526
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State
    I take no credit for this, original posted by
    NUNsLAUGHTER92


    [FONT=&quot]Well the first place I posted this was deleted (original CM6 thread by Isaac) so I've decided to post it again in a new thread because some people want to know how to do it.

    - Where the files are/go
    build.prop - /system
    init.local.rc - /system/etc
    bootsound - /system/bin
    android_audio.mp3 - /data/local

    So you need to do four things to make this work...
    1: Add these lines to your build.prop file -[/FONT]
    [FONT=&quot]### Safe to Delete: Start ###
    ro.config.play.bootsound=1
    ### Safe to Delete: End ###[/FONT]
    [FONT=&quot]


    2: Add more lines in init.local.rc -[/FONT]
    [FONT=&quot]###Bootsound - Safe to Delete: Start ###

    service bootsound /system/bin/bootsound
    user media
    group audio
    disabled
    oneshot

    on property:init.svc.bootanim=running # to correct timing
    start bootsound

    on property:dev.bootcomplete=1
    stop bootsound
    ### Bootsound - Safe to Delete: End ###[/FONT]
    [FONT=&quot]

    3: Add the file 'bootsound' from below to /system/bin


    4: Add any .mp3 named "android_audio.mp3" to /data/local
    (I'll attach one to let you see how it works, it's the droid sound that I used before.)

    Note 1: rename bootsound.txt to just bootsound, you don't want an extension. It won't let me upload the file without doing that.

    Note 2: Add all of those lines to the bottom of the files. I guess you might not have to, but why not do what we know works.

    Note 3: Make sure that every line of code that doesn't start with the "Safe to Delete" thing is all the way to the right because if not it won't work.



    Or if you want to go the easy route here is one that's put together already for CM7. DO NOT use this with CM6 because of build.prop differences, there might also be other things that are different. There will be one made for CM6 soon.
    Also, not flash-able either just move the files to the appropriate places. - CM7 bootsound

    Here are the files for CM6, again, not flash-able just move to the correct place - CM6 bootsound [/FONT]
    [FONT=&quot]
    Attached File(s)

    http://www.mediafire.com/?vozjp5tdlt7wvc1

    http://www.mediafire.com/?gs765qdx2essc36

    I can confirm this work, just did this!!! :)

    These are the files for cm6: http://www.mediafire.com/?dr770262n42pehv
    [/FONT]
     

    Advertisement

    lriv, danaj, dubtee and 4 others like this.
  2. Daniol

    Daniol Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011

    Jan 26, 2011
    60
    2
    16
    Male
    So in order to add CM6 boot sounds, I literally just copy the files from the CM6 Bootsound link into the specified areas in the read me? Do I need to unzip the files first?
     
  3. kenboyles72

    kenboyles72 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011

    Feb 19, 2011
    148
    55
    63
    Male
    PPA Admin
    un-zip the files and put them in the correct places, I can confirm this works as well.
     
  4. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,526
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State
    +1

    what they said...our community here is getting bigger and better!!!:D
     
  5. Daniol

    Daniol Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011

    Jan 26, 2011
    60
    2
    16
    Male
    I just added all of the CM6 files into the correct places, and still no boot sounds. Dont know what I did wrong, but it doesnt seem to be working with the changed files. having these changed isn't going to mess with the phone im assuming right? Is there something I am doing wrong? I made sure that I was using the CM6 files here, and placing them in the proper folders.
     
  6. Tokenpoke

    Tokenpoke Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,110
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,110
    1,156
    313
    Male
    Arborist (tree man)
    Miami, FL
    We need to find someone to make these changes a flashable zip.
     
  7. kingjay2012

    kingjay2012 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    334
    Joined:
    May 2, 2011

    May 2, 2011
    334
    27
    43

    Can someone make a video because the last thing im trying to do is ruin my phone.
     
  8. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,526
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State
    files for cm6 are now available!!!:D
     
  9. Daniol

    Daniol Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011

    Jan 26, 2011
    60
    2
    16
    Male
    The new files just posted are the same files that were already there for CM6. I moved the just posted files to the correct folders just now just to be safe, but nothing happened at reboot. Ty for trying to help me out tho Nuttmeg, I appreciate it.

    Any ideas as to what I need to ddo?
     
  10. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    you serious? all the cell phone vids I seen u can see crap lol.
     
  11. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,526
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State
    ill have to be track myself...
     
  12. Daniol

    Daniol Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011

    Jan 26, 2011
    60
    2
    16
    Male
    I GOT IT TO WORK! WOOT! You sir are a gentlemen and a scholar.
    I was using Androot file. Worked for moving files before, but for some reason stopped. Bought Root explorer, and its working.

    Thank you again for this guide!
     
  13. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,526
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State

    your welcome!!!
     
  14. thunderkiss65

    thunderkiss65 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    150
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011

    Jan 29, 2011
    150
    14
    38
    Herbicide Applicator licensed under texas departme
    Arlington Texas
    I am on cm7, Do i delete the exsisting files then replace with the easy route files ?
     
  15. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,526
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State

    do just move them and a messgae will come up to overwrite the existing file.
     
    thunderkiss65 likes this.
  16. danaj

    danaj Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    723
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010

    Dec 20, 2010
    723
    245
    93
    Female
    Tucson, Az
    when you add the lines to the build prop, does it matter where in the build prop you put them? just at the end or what?

    Never mind, I got it! yay!
     
  17. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,526
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State

    congrats!!!:D
     
    Auggy likes this.
  18. kingjay2012

    kingjay2012 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    334
    Joined:
    May 2, 2011

    May 2, 2011
    334
    27
    43
    is there anyway you can turn the boot animation sound down cuz mine is loud as H E double hockey sticks....
     
  19. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,526
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State

    you can use wave pad to convert/control volume of ringtones.
     
  20. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,526
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State
  21. Dorkasauras

    Dorkasauras Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011

    Jun 4, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    Home remodeling and repairs
    Dallas, Texas
    so i did this part...Forgot to mention i dont have CM7 nor do i have any idea what it is. Im using an LG optimus M and was linked here to change bootsounds.

    Or if you want to go the easy route here is one that's put together already for CM7. DO NOT use this with CM6 because of build.prop differences, there might also be other things that are different. There will be one made for CM6 soon.
    Also, not flash-able either just move the files to the appropriate places. - CM7 bootsound

    put the files where they were needed. Rebooted the phone to see if it works and it doesnt. Now on top of it not working my home button is disabled >.< any ideas on how to get the home button back working?
     
  22. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,526
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State

    if you have cm6 which is 2.2 [FONT=&quot]These are the files for cm6: CM6 bootsound files.zip , but if you made a nandroid backup boot into recovery and restore you phone.[/FONT]
     
  23. kevinrubio

    kevinrubio Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,029
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    1,029
    111
    143
    Student
    Atlanta, GA
    iis this for cm7 or cm6
     
  24. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    if u have one of my builds install bootsound is already setup in it. ;)
     
  25. Sonasam

    Sonasam Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011

    Jun 17, 2011
    41
    4
    36
    Welder
    Madtown cali
    everytime i get on this forum (everyday) i always read about something else to add to my phone. and me being me i gotta have it. what excactly is bootsound? and do i need it or is it just for fun?
     

Share This Page

Loading...