1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root CM7 Facebook Sync w/contacts

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by joehornback, Aug 17, 2011.

  1. joehornback

    joehornback Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    162
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010

    Jun 25, 2010
    162
    12
    38
    Buyer for Flanders Precisionaire
    OK
    I just rooted my EVO ( :D ) and promptly installed CM7. So far I like it's simplicity, sense made the phone too busy for me.

    Anyway, my contacts in CM7 found almost all of my FB contacts and synced them together, but some of them (names are maybe spelled differently etc...) it won't find/sync. On Stock, you can force a sync with any FB contact. Is this not possible in CM7's contacts?
     

    Advertisement

  2. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    i don't remember having this issue on cm7. have you tried the official facebook app from the market?
     
  3. d3simet

    d3simet Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    15
    6
    16
    Gotham City
    I agreed with you joehornback. I flashed mikg rom. The battery drained quick. So, I decided to flashed cm7 yesterday. And I love it. I have two problems. First, I have same Facebook issue as yours. Second, I tried to import contact list from sdcard, but nothing happened. Any ideas?
     
  4. joehornback

    joehornback Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    162
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010

    Jun 25, 2010
    162
    12
    38
    Buyer for Flanders Precisionaire
    OK
    Ocn: the phone wouldn't even let me sync a facebook account until I downloaded and installed the official FB app from the market. Is there another way?

    No clue on the FB contacts/syncing. I changed a few names and matched them exactly with my FB contacts, some of them went ahead and synced, some did not. And a few of my contacts whose names do not match did sync, so it makes no sense. And I don't know on the importing contacts from SD card, I have all my contacts in the big Google cloud so I never have to worry with having my contacts...
     
    d3simet likes this.
  5. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,514
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,514
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    Go to the FB app and sync all contacts. Then go to your phone book and select the contact you want to sync. tap menu then edit contact. tap menu then join. It should allow you to select any of the ones from your FB contacts. When you are done, go back to the FB app and change sync to existing contacts. You should be good to go after that.
     
    MizzouBrent and joehornback like this.
  6. joehornback

    joehornback Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    162
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010

    Jun 25, 2010
    162
    12
    38
    Buyer for Flanders Precisionaire
    OK
    Awesome!!! I knew there had to be a way! THANK YOU!!!! :) :) :)

    Now let's go off and see what kind of battery life I get today on a clean CM7 install. I'll try a new kernal tonight! WOOT!
     
  7. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,514
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,514
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    Tiamat kernels work very well with CM7. Try them out.

    http://tiamat-aosp.com/

    Just remember to always make a nandroid backup before making ANY changes to your phone. You will appreciate it at some point when something goes wrong(which does occasionally).
     
  8. LouieLou74

    LouieLou74 Member
    Rank:
     #397
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010

    Aug 11, 2010
    58
    4
    36
    Male
    Sr IT Analyst
    NY, NY
    Hi all, if someone knows this please help me out.... i did the above and it worked on merging my contacts but for some reason its not using their FB profile pics in my address book, how do you fix that?

    Lou
     
  9. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    for each one you take a look and see if there is a broken chain link icon at the very top right. if you see that select it and then link it with facebook contact. this should bring the facebook profile picture up
     
  10. LouieLou74

    LouieLou74 Member
    Rank:
     #397
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010

    Aug 11, 2010
    58
    4
    36
    Male
    Sr IT Analyst
    NY, NY
    i dont have the broken chain in my contacts.... :-(
     
  11. MizzouBrent

    MizzouBrent Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,853
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    2,853
    2,519
    313
    Olathe, KS
    The broken chain is a Sense thing. ocn is just off his game :)
     
  12. LouieLou74

    LouieLou74 Member
    Rank:
     #397
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010

    Aug 11, 2010
    58
    4
    36
    Male
    Sr IT Analyst
    NY, NY
    Hey all, got it working again, i just uninstalled and reinstalled and followed the directions listed above and it worked. The last and only issue i am having with my newly rooted phone is that i cant seem to get the FB profile pics to come up on my Laucher Pro people widget. Any thoughts? I am rooted with CM7 and using Launcher Pro instead of ADW.

    Thanks
    Lou
     
  13. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    in your contacts app does the profile pic sunc with facebook? maybe try and clear the data and cache for launcher pro.
     
  14. LouieLou74

    LouieLou74 Member
    Rank:
     #397
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010

    Aug 11, 2010
    58
    4
    36
    Male
    Sr IT Analyst
    NY, NY
    Yea, in the contacts its synced up but when i use the people widget from LP its not.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...