1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root CM7 Rom not connecting to PC via USB

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by erry, Sep 15, 2011.

  1. erry

    erry Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    157
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011

    Jan 19, 2011
    157
    9
    36
    everything seemed to be going so well, until now!

    when i try to connect via USB to my PC, i just keep going rond in circles- because the phone keeps re-booting and asking for my pin code-- and won't seem to connect as a mass storage device- although it does appear to be charging

    has anyone else had this problem- with this or any other rom?!

    is it something to do with this?

    http://www.mediafire.com/?j33yo9wy9bspm86



    cheers

    erry
     

    Advertisement

  2. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,678
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,678
    16,058
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Are those usb drivers for the Huawei ascend? That's a completely different phone.

    Surely even Windows doesn't need any special drivers for usb mass storage access - the phone should just identify as a usb drive? (Would test, but don't have a Windows machine at work).
     
    erry likes this.
  3. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    You dont need drivers on windows, no.

    I had fewer problems getting it to work in windows than in Ubuntu.
     
    erry likes this.
  4. erry

    erry Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    157
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011

    Jan 19, 2011
    157
    9
    36
    ah, i didn't know that ther was a phone called that

    its odd because its only something that i has just started aswell- as i have been able to connect it before now

    obviously i'm asking you to take a bit of a guess here- but would you think its the phone or the PC that has a problem here?
     
  5. erry

    erry Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    157
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011

    Jan 19, 2011
    157
    9
    36
    thanks guys- might sound simple, but i uninstalled and reinstalled HTC drivers a couple of times-- and it appears to have fixed the issue

    except- now there seems to be another issue

    it won't let me back up my SD CARD contents- its saying i can't copy the folder 'battery history'; because the parameters are incorrect?!

    i'm basically just trying to copy all the folders and paste them into another on my desktop- is there another way of doing this?!
     
  6. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,678
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,678
    16,058
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Post deleted - problem solved.

    Don't worry about simple solutions :)
     
  7. erry

    erry Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    157
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011

    Jan 19, 2011
    157
    9
    36
    well i have managed to back up the SD card using the back up tool on my pc- but its telling me that there are quite a few files that will not be restored properly eg.

    like my battery stats (which i assume isn't a biggie) -- but quite a few other things aswell
     
  8. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    the backup tool?

    surely you should just drag and drop the folders or select all, copy, paste
     
  9. erry

    erry Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    157
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011

    Jan 19, 2011
    157
    9
    36

    thats what i thought- but when i did that originally it said that certain folders and files could not be copied, or were in the incorrect format, so thats why i tried the more formal apporach of the tool- cos i thought it might be more thorough, but it appears to have hit the same problems

    i don't mind losing some stuff aslong as it isn't vital- and its hard to tell if it is!

    "cannot copy battery history the parameter is incorect"
     
  10. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    hmm is that a hidden folder?
    i dont have a folder with that information.
     
  11. erry

    erry Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    157
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011

    Jan 19, 2011
    157
    9
    36
    Its cos I've got battery moniter widget
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...