1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root CM7...should I?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by pandacookie, Jan 1, 2012.

  1. pandacookie

    pandacookie Panda-riffic!
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    573
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011

    I am tempted to try CM7. I'm getting bored with Sense. The one thing that makes me hesitant is the whole "bootloop of death" thing. Should I try CM7? When I used CM7 on other phones I needed gapps. Do I still need to use it? Where can I get the latest gapps, should I need it?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,159
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,159
    7,180
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Yes you still need to flash the gapps file.

    The chances are relatively low of getting the dreaded bootloop of death. I'd try it out, just make sure you nandroid first. ;)
     
    ocnbrze and pandacookie like this.
  3. mikem0269

    mikem0269 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,094
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    1,094
    844
    213
    Male
    Illinois
  4. MizzouBrent

    MizzouBrent Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,853
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    2,853
    2,519
    313
    Olathe, KS
    Deck! I'm currently running his 1.3d beta which was his last 2.3.5 release
     
    ocnbrze, pandacookie and mikem0269 like this.
  5. pandacookie

    pandacookie Panda-riffic!
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    573
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011

    Downloading gapps now. Just got CM7. Will try Deck's later. I am sooo bored with Sense, so I can't wait to get started!!! :D
     
  6. youdoofus

    youdoofus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,131
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    2,131
    747
    213
    Tech support rep for Knology
    so dak
    Oh yes, try CM7!!! Its bomb diggity! Id also try out the xplod rom. Thats what im running and Im a stalwart CM7 lover. I believe its CM7 based anyways :) WAAAAAYYYYYYYYYYYYYbetter battery life and so much more responsive!
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  7. MizzouBrent

    MizzouBrent Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,853
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    2,853
    2,519
    313
    Olathe, KS

    You should try deck. It's basically a cleaned up cm7. My phone gets outstanding battery life with the 1.3d build and the LEE kernel. (Tiamat 3.3.7)
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  8. LittleRedDot

    LittleRedDot Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    605
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011

    Dec 23, 2011
    605
    169
    113
    I wanna try your setup cause my battery life isn't desireable. So can I just do a nandroid, then flash the rom and kernel in your sig? The pull the nandroid, old rom & kernel off the SD (to free up space), and if I don't like it I can just do that in reverse and end up exactly where I am now?
     
  9. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    yep you got it. once the zip file have been used you can delete them. also try not to have too many nandroid backups on the card. they also take up a lot of room on the card.

    and yes that is what nandroid backups are for. if you do not like the rom you can just nandroid restore back to the previous rom.

    i also really like the xplod rom with the tiamat kernel.
     
  10. LittleRedDot

    LittleRedDot Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    605
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011

    Dec 23, 2011
    605
    169
    113
    Hey doofus, can you provide direct linkts to the rom and kernel? The ones you have don't work.
     
  11. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
  12. LittleRedDot

    LittleRedDot Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    605
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011

    Dec 23, 2011
    605
    169
    113
    Which version of xplod are you using?
     
  13. LittleRedDot

    LittleRedDot Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    605
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011

    Dec 23, 2011
    605
    169
    113
    I hate using dl links that take me to 4 different websites, I could really use the direct links?
     
  14. LittleRedDot

    LittleRedDot Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    605
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011

    Dec 23, 2011
    605
    169
    113
    Every link on this site and xda takes me to a dl site that wont let me dl it. Can anyone post link for the xplod rom?
     
  15. mikem0269

    mikem0269 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,094
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    1,094
    844
    213
    Male
    Illinois
  16. LittleRedDot

    LittleRedDot Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    605
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011

    Dec 23, 2011
    605
    169
    113
    Yeah that worked, thanks... Which gapps are you using?
     
  17. mikem0269

    mikem0269 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,094
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    1,094
    844
    213
    Male
    Illinois
    Here is the gapps for xplode or you can use the one in the rom and kernel guide
    Download Team Nocturnal Gapps zip
     
  18. LittleRedDot

    LittleRedDot Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    605
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011

    Dec 23, 2011
    605
    169
    113
    Oops, I flashed the rom, gapps, and kernel at the same time... Did I screwup?
     
  19. MizzouBrent

    MizzouBrent Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,853
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    2,853
    2,519
    313
    Olathe, KS
    No, it's fine to flash all in the same recovery session. I do it all the time.
     
  20. LittleRedDot

    LittleRedDot Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    605
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011

    Dec 23, 2011
    605
    169
    113
    Ok I'm now running xplod with the updated tiamat kernel... and the battery life is definitely way better... But the speed isn't there. I've overclocked to the point where I feel comfortable, and I'll give it a few days. The rom is definitely stable though, thanks for your help.
     
  21. pandacookie

    pandacookie Panda-riffic!
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    573
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011

    Just letting you all know that I am using Deck's rom and the Tiamat 3.3.7 kernel and I am LOVING it! The battery life is outstanding and I am loving customizing the phone, which is something that I could only do with limitations on Sense. The possibilities are endless with AOSP!
     
  22. MizzouBrent

    MizzouBrent Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,853
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    2,853
    2,519
    313
    Olathe, KS
    Yes! An aosp convert!
     
  23. pandacookie

    pandacookie Panda-riffic!
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    573
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011

    One question: if I don't like the kernel could I just flash the rom over what I have now? That way I can have the kernel that came with the rom and start over. Hope I was clear.
     
  24. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    well there is two ways you can do it.
    1.hopefully you made a nandroid backup that you could just restore back to before the kernel.
    2. or you could wipe dalvik cache and cache and re-flash the rom.
     
    pandacookie likes this.
  25. pandacookie

    pandacookie Panda-riffic!
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    573
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011

    I didn't make a Nandroid this time because I wasn't sure if I was going to keep Deck's rom or flash back to CM7. So thanks for the advice.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...