1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root cm7 tweaks and mods?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by badhabits727, Oct 11, 2011.

  1. badhabits727

    badhabits727 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011

    Feb 23, 2011
    107
    14
    38
    Can anyone link me to any good tweaks and mods, themes etc. I am running cm7.1(newest) with gapps10-22-11, newest tiamat SBC kernel, v6 supercharger.
     

    Advertisement

  2. mikem0269

    mikem0269 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,094
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    1,094
    844
    213
    Male
    Illinois
  3. 9to5cynic

    9to5cynic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    4,873
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    4,873
    1,766
    633
    /home/
    As far as tweaks go, I did the V6 supercharger script (which you also did). Also, setcpu... which tweaks the cpu..? ;)
     
  4. badhabits727

    badhabits727 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011

    Feb 23, 2011
    107
    14
    38
    I do have setcpu, forgot to mention lol
     
  5. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    just did a xda forum search for you on themes for cm7:
    xda-developers - Search Results

    there should be plenty of themes there for you to choose from.
     
  6. 3VOcrack

    3VOcrack Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    131
    71
    53
    Who's asking??
    Orlando

    Says, "sorry no search results". Relink please.
     
  7. MizzouBrent

    MizzouBrent Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,853
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    2,853
    2,519
    313
    Olathe, KS
    You don't even really need SetCPU with CM7 because if you go to settings-->cm settings-->performance, all your cpu stuff is baked right in. You don't have the ability to use screen-off profiles, but if you use a kernel with smartass (tiamat/savagedzen) or interactivex (savagedzen only) then you don't need a screen off profile.

    For theming and stuff, you can actually just do a search in the market for "cm7 themes" and a bunch of stuff will come up that is compatible with the theme chooser app that is preinstalled on CM7. I really like the ikandee theme and minimalbread is pretty solid. Honeybread was my favorite for a long time, but there are lots of others.
     
  8. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
  9. OstrichSaK

    OstrichSaK Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,450
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009

    Nov 22, 2009
    1,450
    317
    163
    Colorado, USA
    Right now I have CM7.1.0 RC1 and when I go into that setting and go to CPU settings my max CPU frequency is 1113MHz which mine is set at now. Are you saying that if I install a kernel I will have more options here? There's also a min CPU frequency which is 245MHz which is where it comes set. I haven't messed with kernels on this phone because it's already plenty quick for what I do. My Droid was 550MHz which was dog slow so doubling the frequency on it was a night and day difference. I've seen people on these Evos post some pretty insane Quadrant scores and while I don't need anything that crazy if flashing a kernel would help to perk up my phone it would be worth it. My concern is that I would create issues by loading a kernel because I've heard horror stories. Is there something that won't give me issues that may bump my performance a little w/o sacrificing battery life? Are the ones you speak of similar to what I describe?
     
  10. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    with custom kernels you can over and underclock your phone and you can have screen off profiles as well as set up your governors. kernels should not have any issues with your rom. just make sure that you flash the correct kernel. there are kernels designed for froyo sense, gingerbread sense, and then there is aosp kernels. so flash the kernel according to waht rom you are on. yo =u have cm7 which is an aosp rom. i love tiamat sbc kernels for cm7. just make a nandroid backup and try it out.
     
    OstrichSaK likes this.
  11. OstrichSaK

    OstrichSaK Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,450
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009

    Nov 22, 2009
    1,450
    317
    163
    Colorado, USA
    I get all that but the last two sentences was what I was looking for. What will Tiamat SBC give me that I don't already have? Will I sacrifice stability or 4G or anything else to get it? I already paid for SetCPU from my Droid days but if the ROM is capable of controlling the max as well as the screen off voltage then that's even better.
     
  12. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    everything works for me right now with tiamat sbc kernel. plus you get the added benefit of an sbc kernel which trickle charges your phone and you will not get that initial drop off in charge after unplugging it. i get at least 18 hours off charge. and i use the cm setting with the smartass governor so there is no need for setcpu or screen off profiles.
     
  13. OstrichSaK

    OstrichSaK Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,450
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009

    Nov 22, 2009
    1,450
    317
    163
    Colorado, USA
    If I install it do I get higher frequencies to set? What is yours set at? When you say trickle does that engage after the phone thinks it's charged as normal to get you those last few drops of energy or does that mean that it charges more slowly at all times when plugged in? I just don't want it to take longer to charge than normal. Does CM7 already have this 'smartass governer' or is that what comes with the kernel? Is the adjustments I'm making right now to frequency the smartass governer?

    Thanks for the help.
     
  14. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    basically with sbc kernels as the battery approaches full, it starts to slowly trickle charge the phone. i charge my phone at night so sbc kernels help. also sbc kernels go past what the phone thinks is 100%, thus prolonging that initiall drop as well. i really do not notice that my charge takes longer then normal.

    as far as cm7, i'm not sure what the stock kernel comes with so i'm not to sure on the smartass governor included or not. and you have to select the smartass governor in the cm settings.

    just make a nandroid backup and try it out.
     
  15. OstrichSaK

    OstrichSaK Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,450
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009

    Nov 22, 2009
    1,450
    317
    163
    Colorado, USA
    What kind of processor clock speed can you run with that kernel?
     
  16. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    well right now i'm on xplod which is based off of cm7 but with a different launcher. and with that rom and tiamat, i have it cranked up to 1228. my phone used to go up to only 1190 and any higher then that my phone freaks out. but for some reason i can go higher on this rom/kernel combo.
     
    OstrichSaK likes this.
  17. OstrichSaK

    OstrichSaK Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,450
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009

    Nov 22, 2009
    1,450
    317
    163
    Colorado, USA
    If I'm only able to get 50MHz or so I'm not sure it's worth my time. I like the idea of trickle charging but I carry two charged batteries in addition to the one in the phone so this isn't as large a concern for me. I was thinking that maybe these phones were capable of much faster clock times and I wanted to take advantage of that. I know that my OG Droid I was running double the clock speed and it was stable. I don't need double but if I was able to increase it even 50% then it would be worth it. I just didn't know what was possible with the hardware but it sounds like minimal gains are the norm. I was always curious about kernels on these phones but I'll probably just stick where I am now. Thanks for the info!
     
  18. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    it is a noticeable difference for me when i'm cranked to 1228 vs 1190. my phone is super fast now. not sure what your hold up is on trying out kernels. just make a nandroid backup and check it out at least, give it a day or to and see if you see any differences.
     
  19. OstrichSaK

    OstrichSaK Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,450
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009

    Nov 22, 2009
    1,450
    317
    163
    Colorado, USA
    I just don't want to add instability when my phone is working so well right now. I do make backups all the time but I am playing a game that I have a lot of time invested into and the last time I had an issue I had to start over so I would rather not do that again if I can avoid it. That's why I want to make sure before I try anything. I know it sounds stupid but it's not like my phone is in utter shambles right now so it almost seems like fixing something that isn't broken at this point.
     
  20. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    well when you flash a kernel, you are not wiping data so there should be no loss in game data. if something goes wrong you can always nandroid restore back. i do not know where you have seen the horror stories but flashing kernels are really simple and easy to do. i play plant vs zombies all the time and i keep nacking it up with titanium back along with its data. i never had any issues with flashing kernels and losing data.
     
  21. OstrichSaK

    OstrichSaK Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,450
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009

    Nov 22, 2009
    1,450
    317
    163
    Colorado, USA
    No, just heard there were some issues with radios, 4G, wifi and a few other things. I guess it's possible to cause some conflicts with kernels. The game I play is Paradise Island and the last time I had an issue I tried to back up from a Titanium Backup and even after that I got errors in-game about the connection and some other things that meant I had to start over again. Not really looking to repeat that again unless I absolutely have to. Like if my phone gets stuck in a boot loop again I have no choice but for now I think I'll just stick with what I have. I would like to see my phone at 1200MHz but it's really not worth the risk to me at this point... risk being if something doesn't jive with the kernel and I have to resort to a backup there's a chance I will mess up my game too.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...