1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root CM7 working Bluetooth FM Radio?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by djboi2011, Jan 6, 2012.

  1. djboi2011

    djboi2011 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    194
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011

    Sep 14, 2011
    194
    35
    43
    college student -_-
    Is there a working FM radio for the triumph?
     

    Advertisement

  2. millenium

    millenium Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    179
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011

    Dec 8, 2011
    179
    38
    43
    djboi2011 likes this.
  3. MrDaggs

    MrDaggs Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011

    I believe he means, "Is there a radio app that makes use of the apparent FM radio capabilities of the MT?" There is a built-in FM Radio on the MT, you have to have the ability to add custom shortcuts (either by your launcher itself, or by using an app such as Any Cut) to get to it, however. It also only works when a "headset" is connected, probably for antenna purposes. It has configurable settings, and is visible when going through the settings app: Settings > Applications > Manage Applications > All > FM Radio.

    BUT, from what i can figure out, it's not exactly designed to be a stand-alone app. It's roughly designed, sketchy, buggy, and not only that but if it were supposed to be used as a main function of the phone, it would most likely appear in the app drawer (which it doesn't). Maybe an upcoming SW update will render this mysterious app usable, but all I've been able to squeeze out of it is white noise (static), for nearly ALL the channels it's capable of receiving...save a few. But even then they're just hints of audio behind mostly, well...more static.

    All i can say is, most high-end Android smartphones (and some others) have been known to actually have AM/FM radios built in, but other than some models of the Microsoft
     
    djboi2011 likes this.
  4. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    I am pretty sure there is no stock FM radio in the Triumph (it is definitely not there in CM7). You can stream stuff from online.

    This has been brought up before and I remember that being said that it really doesn't have any FM radio hardware in the phone. FM radio is not listed in the specs for the phone either: Motorola Triumph Android Smartphone | Virgin Mobile

    There may be apps that allow you to simulate it with headphones plugged in though.
     
    djboi2011 likes this.
  5. marc12868

    marc12868 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,460
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    2,460
    850
    213
    Male
    Tier 2 Tech Support @ At&t
    Spokane Valley, Washington
    Actually there is a stock fm radio app if you look in all apps when your in stock. But it doesn't appear to have the hardware like you were saying... Which is one thing that makes me think that they just ported the os from a different phone and didn't remove any of the stock apps but added vm apps in...

    Edit: In fact here's a screenshot I took when I was still on stock
    [​IMG]
     
  6. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    Yeah, I think that is where a lot of the confusion is in all of this. But as far as I can tell we don't have the hardware.
     
  7. MrDaggs

    MrDaggs Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011

    Yeah, I meant, on the stock/FroYo Motorola Triumph ROMs, there is an FM Radio app preinstalled as mentioned in my previous post. As far as my knowledge goes knowing ROMs with different Android OS versions from stock, usually unneeded or dysfunctional apps, tweaks, etc. are removed in them (Usually to save space, get other things working, this and that).

    In other words, a ROM (such as CM7) with a different Android version than what comes with the phone out-of-the-box USUALLY has many of the apps included with the phone removed (bloatware). I'd imagine that's why none of you have been able to find the "FM Radio" app on CM7.

    Sent from my Motorola Triumph using Tapatalk
     
  8. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    Sorry, I didn't mean the app wasn't included, but that the hardware wasn't there . I wasn't trying to question your statement about the app.
     
  9. marc12868

    marc12868 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,460
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    2,460
    850
    213
    Male
    Tier 2 Tech Support @ At&t
    Spokane Valley, Washington
    I was one of the people confused... :/ But after trying it over and over and even with other phone's fm radio .apks with no avail i gave up... Although if I took it apart (which I don't plan on doing...) I might be able to find something out about it one way or another... The only thing I could think of is if we actually did have the hardware is it isn't hooked up to the os so there is no way to access it...
     
  10. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    Well, it is also not listed in the specs I have seen. That in itself would make me think it isn't there, or they would be touting it!
     
  11. marc12868

    marc12868 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,460
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    2,460
    850
    213
    Male
    Tier 2 Tech Support @ At&t
    Spokane Valley, Washington
    Think of this way... maybe they were going to integrate a fm radio into the hardware and got lazy part way through it... of course they wouldn't list it in the specs and hardware of the phone... I'm not saying that its there just that there is that slim possibility of it being there... And this is what I hate... I think too much :/
     
  12. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    I wouldn't count on it, they said things work with this phone that at times only work halfway! :p

    But who knows, I am not tearing mine apart anytime soon to check. Especially since I wouldn't know how that hardware looks any different from the rest of it! :eek:
     
  13. marc12868

    marc12868 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,460
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    2,460
    850
    213
    Male
    Tier 2 Tech Support @ At&t
    Spokane Valley, Washington
    Yea... I would tear mine apart, but that would void the warranty for sure and if something goes wrong I don't want to have to spend another $300 for a new one :/ But maybe after my 1 year warranty goes out I will since it won't matter... Or if VM gets a newer and better phone... But until then. I'm not either.
     
  14. Whyzor

    Whyzor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,108
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,108
    966
    213
    Often times phone manufacturers uses general Systems on a Chip that have FM modules, but it needs extra design & parts to make it functional. So sometimes there are residual evidence of a FM radio, but unless they advertise it as a feature, most likely it won't work.
     
  15. marc12868

    marc12868 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,460
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    2,460
    850
    213
    Male
    Tier 2 Tech Support @ At&t
    Spokane Valley, Washington
    So technically speaking it may have a partially working fm radio chip? They just decided not to fully implement?
     
  16. Whyzor

    Whyzor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,108
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,108
    966
    213
    Yes, google 'MSM8655 fm radio'.
     
  17. marc12868

    marc12868 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,460
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    2,460
    850
    213
    Male
    Tier 2 Tech Support @ At&t
    Spokane Valley, Washington
    Ok so I found the official qualcomm spec sheet and what it says about fm radio... Requires additional components so it is actually the manufacturer who would have to decide to have it installed... Also its interesting that the S2 Snapdragon even tho they have S3 now, but the S2 have capabilities for a 720P screen and 12mp cameras... Hmmmm. Wonder why no manufacturer decided to take advantage of that... I mean now the Galaxy Nexus has a 720P screen... the first phone (I believe) to have a 720P screen even tho the S2 Snapdragons have been out for a while...

    Edit: Ok i've found out enough about the S2 Snapdragons to satisfy me for now... I'm going to sleep.
     
  18. MrDaggs

    MrDaggs Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011

    Oh, sorry >_< Wasn't trying to be rude, there.

    So if there is extra hardware required for it to work, supposedly, is there any way of getting this mysterious FM Radio app to work by like say...external hardware? Like one of those radio receivers that iPhone users can buy, things like that?

    Sent from my Motorola Triumph using Tapatalk
     

Share This Page

Loading...