1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Cm9

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jreink01, Jan 25, 2012.

  1. jreink01

    jreink01 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    962
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011

    Jul 28, 2011
    962
    32
    78
    Male
    Saginaw, MI
    I have a Triumph that is rooted and flashed with CM7. I have seen some threads in regards to CM9. What is CM9? Is that the ICS that the developers are working on or just an updated version of CM7? Also, is it working, and if so, where can I get it and how do I go about updating my phone with it. Thanks for your feedback.
     

    Advertisement

  2. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    CM6 was froyo. CM7 is gingerbread. CM8 was for honeycomb, but they never released the source for them to make it. CM9 is ICS, it isn't finished yet. I am sure there will be a thread on it (with instructions) when it gets to a releasable state.
     
  3. jreink01

    jreink01 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    962
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011

    Jul 28, 2011
    962
    32
    78
    Male
    Saginaw, MI
    Ok, thanks for your reply.
     
  4. jreink01

    jreink01 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    962
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011

    Jul 28, 2011
    962
    32
    78
    Male
    Saginaw, MI
    I am currently running CM7, 02-19, the latest from whyzor. I have been thinking about flashing back to CM9. Does anyone know if the battery life is better. When I had 0.6.5 installed, my battery life was horrible, thats with all programs closed and having wifi and bluetooth off. I would drop 5% every half hour, and thats in idle mode. Also, just to double check when I do flash, I have to do a wipe/factory reset in cwm, then flash the zipped file for CM9, then after that, flash the new gapps file, right? Am I leaving anything out??
    Thanks for your feedback.
     
  5. StaticMaal

    StaticMaal Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    315
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010

    Nov 21, 2010
    315
    155
    68
    Hacking Android Phone
    Raleigh,NC
    Yea you have to do a wipe/factory reset in cwm, then flash the zipped file for CM9, then after that, flash the new gapps file, and then reboot.
     
  6. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    If you restore your nandroid, you don't have to do that. You can just restore the nandroid and flash the new CM9 zip (0.6.7) and you are fine.

    BUT if you had issues previously, I would recommend doing a fresh install (the wipes/flash process I quoted) in order to avoid complications.
     
  7. jreink01

    jreink01 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    962
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011

    Jul 28, 2011
    962
    32
    78
    Male
    Saginaw, MI
    Ok, I had problems with the earlier version of CM9, one big one was the battery life. Does anyone know if the battery life on the new build of CM9 is better.
     
  8. Cheechmo

    Cheechmo Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011

    Dec 11, 2011
    81
    31
    23
    Tacoma, WA
    I've had excellent battery life with CM9 so far. In my personal experience, it's been better than CM7.
     
    markzombie82 likes this.
  9. johnburtjab

    johnburtjab Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011

    Sep 6, 2011
    27
    3
    16
    For me it was much better in 0.6.3 and previous, however in 0.6.7 the deep sleep problem is fixed so it should be good again!
     
  10. jreink01

    jreink01 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    962
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011

    Jul 28, 2011
    962
    32
    78
    Male
    Saginaw, MI
    I currently have CM7 installed. I am planning on flashing back to CM9. I went to the CM9 thread and there is a update (0.6.7) do I flash just this zip or do I have to flash the original CM9 file, then update with the 0.6.7??
     
  11. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    923
    Skaro
    If you restore the CM9 nandroid just flash the 0.6.7 zip after restoring the nandroid. If you don't do that you need to wipe all the normal stuff and then flash the 0.6.7 zip.
     

Share This Page

Loading...