1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Co Pilot 8 Live

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by DaddyCee, Jun 8, 2010.

  1. DaddyCee

    DaddyCee Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    333
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010

    Apr 22, 2010
    333
    22
    38
    Male
    Hi All.

    Anyone using the above satnav software on their HTC Desire?

    I purchased this at the weekend and took it on a couple of hours jaunt yesterday, only for the thing to lock-up my handset after approximately 1hr. I did try a couple of more times, but again it locked my handset up. The only way to get the handset working again was a power down and reboot. Which wasn't the safest of manuveurs whilst driving.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Intruder

    Intruder Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    345
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    345
    16
    58
    Bradford UK
    I have it running on mine and all is well, no locks or another as yet...
     
  3. mcnob

    mcnob Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    215
    12
    58
    I'm afraid I'm using it without issue as well. Contact ALK cos their customer service is top notch. You might wanna check their website for any known issues too.
     
  4. DaddyCee

    DaddyCee Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    333
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010

    Apr 22, 2010
    333
    22
    38
    Male
    OK cheers for that. I have contacted support and am waiting to hear back.

    I suspect its one of my apps that is causing the problem no doubt.
     
  5. tanbe174

    tanbe174 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    114
    11
    38
    why not use free google navigation ?
     
  6. DaddyCee

    DaddyCee Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    333
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010

    Apr 22, 2010
    333
    22
    38
    Male
    because that eats in to my 3G Data Allowance.

    Co Pilot stores the maps on the SD Card so you don't use so much / if any 3G Data.
     
  7. Pryomancer

    Pryomancer Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    673
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010

    Mar 29, 2010
    673
    57
    98
    Student
    Southampton, England
    In Google Navigation you can get the route using your 3G/wifi and then turn it off, it still saves the route. Then you only need GPS to track your position.
     
    DaddyCee likes this.
  8. dunbad

    dunbad Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    117
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010

    Apr 22, 2010
    117
    11
    38
    I beg to differ, let's see how long they take to get back to you. Mine was 2 months. And then they were useless. We need tomtom.
     
  9. DaddyCee

    DaddyCee Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    333
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010

    Apr 22, 2010
    333
    22
    38
    Male
    I didn't know that.
     
  10. Mark One

    Mark One Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    52
    4
    16
    Just make sure you don't deviate from the route or decide to take a detour en route without a net connection - or you'll have no map data.

    Which is where the whole concept falls on its face for me ....
     
  11. Khas

    Khas Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    Does it download the maps too though? Doesn't it need a data connection to download the maps as you go?
     
  12. ifb-online

    ifb-online Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    725
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010

    Mar 29, 2010
    725
    52
    78
    Male
    Journalist and publisher
    Hemel Hempstead, UK
    It only needs to download extra data if it needs to re-route you (when you drive off the pre-set route). Of course, if you don't have wifi for the return journey, you will need to use mobile data to download the route data.

    To be honest the amount of data is reasonably small. I did nearly 200 miles on Saturday, using five different routes and some re-routing and, including all my other use of the phone's data connection, saw less than 10MB of data usage. I didn't use wifi. 31 days at 10MB is still way less than a meagre 500MB monthly allowance, and I have 3GB with T-Mobile. I really don't worry about mobile data any more. I don't use it for really intensive stuff like video streaming, etc. I've had my Desire for 3 weeks now and I've only used 140MB of mobile data.

    Ian
     
  13. Pryomancer

    Pryomancer Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    673
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010

    Mar 29, 2010
    673
    57
    98
    Student
    Southampton, England
    Pretty interesting. Luckily I've got unlimited internet so I never need to worry, and 3GB fair usage is way more than I'll ever regularly need.
     
  14. drbell

    drbell Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    18
    2
    16
    Actually, I bought CoPilot 'cos I'd had it on my HTC HD2. Worked very very well on there and also on my Desire. HOWEVER, only today, discovered Google Maps Navigation and I'm very impressed. Not taken it on a decent test drive yet but so far it looks really useful. I didn't understand what it was before I got excited about buying CoPilot (again) at a cost of
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...