• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Coby Kyros 7120-4G

velazquez

Lurker
Nov 8, 2011
I apologize for putting this here, but there wasn't a section for the tablet I just recently purchased. So Mods, please put this posting where appropriate. Now on to my question.

I am new to the world of tablets and this particular model. What I am hoping to do is utilize my BlackBerry Bold 9780 as a wireless modem for which I would need bluetooth drivers. I haven't been able to find any information, drivers, etc., about this particular tablet on Coby. Is it possible to get bluetooth drivers other than a bluetooth keyboard for this device? Also, my unit shows me I can install a system update either from the SD card or NAND storage, but there isn't anything on either. How can I go about obtaining it?

I contacted Coby and was told this is a relatively new device for them so that is why there isn't information on their website.

Android version 2 3 3
Kernel Version 2 635 7-tcc
Build Number MID7120-Mon Sep 5 11_32_59 CST 2011

I just started a 7120 forum (I think). There's very little info online about this model. There's also a 7125 and I don't know the difference. Might be the size of miniSD card it takes or something like that. There's only 256K of memory and I'm a little concerned about that. Otherwise, appears to be a good, mid-level tablet running Gingerbread. Bought one today with Groupon. Great price.

Upvote 0
Hmmm, I thought it had 512kb? I just looked at the reviews at Amazon and while the majority give it 5 Stars there is still about 20% that give it 1 Star - mostly due to short battery life, etc.

Do you know if rooting this makes it a much better tablet?

Do you have a link to the 7120 forum you started?

Thanks
Steve

Upvote 0
I'm the guy who said he started a 7120 forum. Don't think I really did. Might have set up a 7120 thread. I'm new to the system and don't have a good handle on it yet.