1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root combo vs radio only update

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dustwun77, Sep 8, 2011.

  1. dustwun77

    dustwun77 Endeavor to Persevere :)
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    4,825
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    4,825
    2,844
    623
    Male
    ET
    SC
    When the latest ota came out, I waited and got a radio update and a voice fix update and installed them on Mik3D beta, which both worked.

    I also installed mik2.5 and then the 5.1 which has some ota goodness for that rom.

    There is also a combo patch, which has what, all the radios updated?

    I am wondering if that combo was superior to just flashing the radio? Any feedback?

    Also, at this point, if I were to flash the combo, should it be with a fresh install of the Rom vs one that has the radio or voice individual patches?

    TIA
     

    Advertisement

  2. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,697
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,697
    2,079
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    ocnbrze and dustwun77 like this.
  3. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,510
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,510
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    Alot depends on whether or not you are using the current PRL and PRI or have them downgraded. I am running PRI 1.77 which would be upgraded with the combo flash. I only flashed the baseband upgrade and have gotten better 3g signal out of it.

    Just make sure you have plenty of battery before trying to flash them and whatever you do, DO NOT pull the battery during the flash. It WILL brick your phone.
     
    ocnbrze and dustwun77 like this.
  4. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,697
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,697
    2,079
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    I was on PRI 1.77 forever but all the recent roms don't have an issue with the recent PRI
     
  5. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,510
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,510
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    I just never upgraded it from before. Might try it and see if there is a cell signal difference.
     
  6. dustwun77

    dustwun77 Endeavor to Persevere :)
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    4,825
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    4,825
    2,844
    623
    Male
    ET
    SC
    I used a zip I got at the link in this post in the Sprint Radio update? thread.

    It worked fine ,radio only though.

    I am curious as to if flashing the combo, at this point, would give superior performance, based upon that PRI and PRL upgrade. And if it does, as if I would notice, would it be best to do so from a fresh rom install vs one that has said radio only patch in it?
     
  7. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,510
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,510
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    Radios are flash separate from the roms and are not affect by a rom flash so it is not necessary to reflash the rom. I don't believe that any roms include radios except Sprint Lover's.
     
    dustwun77 and andygu3 like this.
  8. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,697
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,697
    2,079
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    I don't think flashing the combo versus flashing each one individually would make a difference. It just makes it easier to flash the combo and Calkulin puts out each one individually for the sole purpose of just that. If a wake lock is happening, you can flash a different PRI and nothing else. Most of Virus's early Sense 3.0 roms needed the 1.77 PRI so it's nice just to flash it when needed.

    PRL will not be affected by the combo, you will have to do that yourself.
     
    dustwun77 likes this.
  9. dustwun77

    dustwun77 Endeavor to Persevere :)
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    4,825
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    4,825
    2,844
    623
    Male
    ET
    SC
    That's right, huh, update prl and update profile.

    thanks for info that flashing the radio wouldn't mess with anything in the rom, was afraid that it did and might conflict somehow with another flash.
     
  10. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,697
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,697
    2,079
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    It just like the PRL, these will not change going from rom to rom unless a developer does this for you. Example is what Xtremedays said, SprintLover's rom
     
    dustwun77 likes this.
  11. sha4000

    sha4000 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    150
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011

    Aug 16, 2011
    150
    52
    53
    So would this have anything to do with ppl having 2.3.4 or 2.3.5 meaning if your on gb 2.3.3 and flash the latest ota would it upgrade you to the latest gb. I might be getting things a lil mixed up but was just wondering. The threads over at xda get so long and i try to read them all theway thru but after like 300 pages it just gets confusing:thinking:
     
  12. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    3,108
    Posts:
    27,416
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    27,416
    17,308
    3,108
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    all an ota entails is just that it updates your software. so whenever you flash a rom depending on the rom your software version will change. so if you flash the going green rom which is 2.3.5 that is what your software version will be. while mik3d is a sense 3.0 but is 2.3.3.
     
    sha4000 likes this.
  13. sha4000

    sha4000 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    150
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011

    Aug 16, 2011
    150
    52
    53
    Ok thx now im starting to get it. Im still running rls1+Gmode and really like it but im still trying to tweak it to my liking.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...