1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Compare, contrast, opinions: GSIII vs EVO 4G LTE / Sprint-CDMA-S4 only

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by spridell, Apr 28, 2012.

  1. PyroSporker

    PyroSporker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    1,773
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010

    Apr 3, 2010
    1,773
    1,281
    323
    If I'm not mistaken, the Japanese model was to have 2GB RAM from the start. The U.S. versions were supposed to get 1GB RAM, but since the unveiling they have revised their plan for the U.S to 2GB (either that or the entire tech community was in the dark about it - doubtful).
     

    Advertisement

  2. Tommydaniel

    Tommydaniel Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    844
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    844
    492
    113
    Houston, TX
    The US specs weren't announced till last week. Everyone figured it would have 1GB like the international model, but after the Japanese model was announced with the S4 and 2GBs everyone assumed the US would get the same.
     
    Shawn0413 likes this.
  3. strider70

    strider70 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    97
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011

    Feb 25, 2011
    97
    71
    33
    I had a difficult time recently trying to find the spec info for RAM comparison of the GS3 International vs U.S. version.

    If it is true that the International version has the quad core CPU and 1 GB of RAM. Then the U.S. version of 2 GB may just be the 1-up they need to sell this dual core CPU.

    I don't see why they would want to do their fans any favors and I do have a hard time seeing Touch Wiz being all that bloaty if the International version is running with 1 GB of RAM.

    Do anyone know how much RAM is "generally" available after the Touch Wiz (and their apps) are loaded on the International version (1 GB of RAM)?


    For the LTEvo, I generally have 230-270 MB of RAM available (with no widgets).
     
  4. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,589
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,589
    70,379
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    And does anyone know how much video ram the quad core requires?

    How much free ram is available while running for the quad? The S4? For memory i/o ports for the LTE radio?

    Size of TouchWiz, not the launcher alone, when running?
     
  5. jcommerce

    jcommerce Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010

    Aug 2, 2010
    119
    79
    53
    Just pre-ordered the S3 for my dad for his b-day/father's day. Will I have LTEVO buyer's remorse?? I doubt it, but who knows. Assuming the S3 arrives around the 18th - 20th, I'll have 4 - 6 days to decide whether or not to take the ELTEVO back to Best Buy. Still a EVO man at heart, but will this all change in 10 days or so?? That possibility of 2GB of RAM sure is intriguing....

    ....to be continued....
     
    PattiCakeUS and EarlyMon like this.
  6. 3volut1on

    3volut1on Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    181
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    181
    117
    68
    Project Manager
    Phoenix, AZ
    Just wanted to drop in and say thanks to all participating and doing the necessary research thats making this a great discussion / debate thread.

    Today was my last day for my 14 day return period and i've been following this as well as dropping in on the SGSIII forum to browse around a bit.


    Reasons I'm staying LTEVO :) :


    1. Im used to Sense. Just received a RAZR for work and it's amazing how bad 3rd party customization over Android can get. It hurts to look at that screen and I'm afraid i'll have the same reaction to Touchwiz after being used to Sense over the years.
    2. Kickstand
    3. Amazing Battery Life
    4. No multi-tasking issues with me. I'm by no means a power user.
    5. Amazing Camera
    6. The solid construction of this phone v/s the look of the SGSIII. (Looks like a plastic nightmare)
    7. History of Samsung GPS issues - not worth the risk.
    8. History of Samsung updates - not worth the risk.
    9. And...yeah, that about sums it up.
     
  7. strider70

    strider70 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    97
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011

    Feb 25, 2011
    97
    71
    33
    I watched this video yesterday and forgot to share it.
    It's very long.
    Watch it while eating a sandwich if you like :p

    He basically walks through the features of Samsung Galaxy S3 in a 43 mins of video. It's the International version but I'm sure the software features (different gestures, S Voice) and Touch Wiz still applies to the U.S. version.

    I'm still a Sense guy.

    Samsung Galaxy S3 Review - YouTube
     
    PattiCakeUS and EarlyMon like this.
  8. WifiMaxed

    WifiMaxed Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    288
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011

    Mar 27, 2011
    288
    382
    88
    Yep, watched this video in search of information for comparison sake to LTEVO. This video is what I based my conclusion that camera/video software looks inmature/dated compared to LTEVO. The lack of a dedicated camera button punctuates matters even further. :( IMHO
     
  9. rivera02

    rivera02 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    588
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    588
    164
    93
    Male
    I found a video of the s3 where the guy goes into the task manager and into the dedicated "RAM" tab, and with s-voice being his only active app, he had 617 out of 780mb of RAM available.
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  10. klipsch

    klipsch Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    89
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    89
    21
    18
    I haven't come across any Samsung device that has impressed me with it's build quality. That being said, I'm not impressed with the build quality of the HTC One either. I don't go running around shopping phones on a regular basis. I had no problems what so ever with my previous HTC EVO, and I'm impressed as hell with the EVO LTE. I'm REALLY glad that Sprint made the changes to the HTC One that they did. Or I may have been sitting here complaining about how my new phone feels like a toy.
    I'm sure that the G3 will be a good device. As will the next phone following behind it, from whatever manufacturer produces it. But I won't worry about that for 2 years from now...
     
    some.devil and PattiCakeUS like this.
  11. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,589
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,589
    70,379
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Post it if you find it again, I'd love to see that.
     
  12. rivera02

    rivera02 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    588
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    588
    164
    93
    Male
    strider70, EarlyMon and dan330 like this.
  13. dan330

    dan330 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,143
    Posts:
    12,493
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    12,493
    4,007
    1,143
    This is an international version with only 1gb of RAM.. Right?

    Side note..
    At 1:05.. He talks about dropbox..
    If you login to a buddy's account.. He will also get 48gb of extra space too.!!!
    Can anyone confirm this?? Is it also for 2 years????
     
  14. Complex757

    Complex757 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    367
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009

    Oct 10, 2009
    367
    100
    68
    Professional Cell Phone User
    Smart Stay and Facial Recognition the only thing I'm really impress about with the GS3
     
  15. i.have.droid

    i.have.droid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    424
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Jun 30, 2010
    424
    58
    53
    wow..Im loving the speed and smoothness of that s3 in the video. Boiling down to the radios and then if they are as good as the HTC, I am in.

    Touchwiz looks awesome..just hope the gps and radios are finally on the level of HTC
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  16. WifiMaxed

    WifiMaxed Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    288
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011

    Mar 27, 2011
    288
    382
    88
    Another interesting review by pocketnow SGSIII vs OneX. I wish they would use LTEVO, oh well :(

    Samsung Galaxy S III Review - YouTube

    I said before, no kickstand, no dedicated camera button, and no SLCD2 screen. You really see the pentile grid in this video :(
     
  17. Sauske

    Sauske Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    522
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011

    Mar 26, 2011
    522
    348
    113
    Student...for now!
    Orlando, Fl
    Very interesting! Hopefully Sammy fix there radio issue and whoever get's this phone don't have to worry about radio issue anymore!;)
     
    WifiMaxed likes this.
  18. WifiMaxed

    WifiMaxed Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    288
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011

    Mar 27, 2011
    288
    382
    88
    Other thing noticed in the above vid. SGSIII and creating folders on the home screen is bit of a pain as mentioned in the Pocketnow review. LTEVO just merge apps on the home screen and automatically creates folders. Huge for me, because was able to merge 5 panes of apps/widgets into one pane using folders. (utilities, games, office, and streaming audio/video) done and done :)
     
    Sauske and EarlyMon like this.
  19. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,589
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,589
    70,379
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA

    Yeah, no. Take a good look at 2:47 - that's not 617 MB free, that's 617 MB used, right? By scrolling tabs by 2:51, that took a short pop up to 628 MB used.

    The phone showed that S-voice was the only user task available to the user to kill. Not at all different than the HTC task manager in that regard - the phone was running in the background, messaging, the laucher, all sorts of other goodies and the operating system services on top of that.

    Having an even extra 100 MB available on the international SGS3 is great, no doubt about it, but if I'm right about the memory allocations for the S4, you won't be getting 780 for the user out of 1 gig, you'll be getting closer to what the LTEvo has.

    So, if true, then idling S-voice and no other apps would put you at about 628/680 MB, or let's say 60 to 100 MB free. I can eat that much opening several tabs of this site in Boat Browser. (I have been exceeding 100 MB of ram use just for web pages nearly every day for nearly a year.)

    Hence, when running large software stacks, more ram is better.

    Again, I'm not knocking the Sammy for needing more ram.

    Android is no different than any other PC - as the OS advances, as apps advance, as the devices include more features, you need more memory.

    I'm wishing that HTC would have provided more as Sammy did, it's the smart play. Meanwhile, if I'm keeping the LTEvo, I'm debloating it - no choice for the way I use things.

    PS - SK Telecom’s Galaxy S III merges quad-core CPU and 2GB RAM
     
    WifiMaxed likes this.
  20. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,589
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,589
    70,379
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Ok, that's cool, that's what I couldn't figure out. Wish I could make that work with widgets but it does work with settings shortcuts as well.
     
    WifiMaxed likes this.
  21. WifiMaxed

    WifiMaxed Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    288
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011

    Mar 27, 2011
    288
    382
    88
    There is a settings widget in the app draw. I just long pressed it dropped on the homescreen. Then just dragged it in to my "Utilities" folder. I just open my utility folder and "blam" settings. Done and done :) I also keep benchmark apps, apps2sd, titanium back-up, etc.. In that folder. 4 folders cover everything I need. Now, I only use 1 homescreen pane. Weather clock at the top, google search bar in the middle, and my 4 folders I created on the bottom. Very neat and tidy ;)
     
  22. rivera02

    rivera02 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    588
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    588
    164
    93
    Male
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  23. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,589
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,589
    70,379
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Sounds good. The Settings in the app drawer is a shortcut, not a widget though. Try long press, widgets, scroll down to Settings (HTC), grab the Profile widget - I think you'll find that won't fit into a folder, nor into the bar at the bottom by itself. Settings, apps, yes, widgets, I don't think so.
     
  24. Sauske

    Sauske Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    522
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011

    Mar 26, 2011
    522
    348
    113
    Student...for now!
    Orlando, Fl
    Yeah, I notice that too! I have 6 folders (utilites, games, internet, navigation, social and google apps) I never leave my home page...Htc made it extremely convenient by keeping that standard ICS feature!;)
     
  25. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,589
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,589
    70,379
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    After it appeared that he cleared ram, he then went over and S-voice was still running, eating 28 MB. Not sure that's doing what you think, or if he really pressed it.

    Try this - on your present phone, try Quick System Info PRO, it's free, and click on the processes tab. How much memory are essential services using under your various Android apps? (And please let me know what phone and OS.) If you've never done that sort of thing on a phone, it may prove revealing. :)

    Anyone with an SGS2 want to take the Quick System Info PRO challenge and feedback what the usual memory load is for various processes under TouchWiz? With Gingerbread is fine. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...