1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

Complete Newbie, Help with phone choice, please

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by jc1762, Feb 14, 2011.

1. jc1762

jc1762 Lurker

Hey Everyone,

I'm a complete newbie and still live in the "stone age" as to smart phones, etc. So I'd like to appeal to everyone for some help. I've already posted this once in the introductions, accidentally, but I figured this would be a better place to post...

I'm currently a US expat in China still using a Palm T/X and a cheap $20 cell phone from six (6!) years ago. I was recently laughed at by some of my other expat coworkers as to using the palm.

It was somewhat of a wake up call, but I adamantly refuse to be an Apple fanboy and get the iPhone.

In that regard, I've done alot of shopping around and am rather lost so any advice would be helpful with respect to the below conditions

Necessary
    - UNLOCKED for GSM use in China
    - Calendar - I work in law and deadlines are treated very seriously in this line of work. As I will be constantly scheduling meetings, etc, I'm debating between a full keyboard or touch screen. (Any thoughts on this?)
    - Expenses - I need to log all my expenses for reimbursement from work (when applicable) and view them in an Excel or Google spreadsheet at the end of the month. I believe I can get an app for this?
    - PDF/Office Documents - I need to able to edit office documents, etc. on the go. I just need to be able to read PDFs.
    - Text or some word processing capability in Japanese. Chinese would also be preferable but not required.
    - All the misc stuff - camera, storing photos, writing memos, world clock, e-mail.
    - "Respectable" battery life (at least a day or so?)

Not necessary
    - Music, web surfing.
    - Extra storage via micro SD or SD.

I'm not sure if this is too much. But any help would be appreciated.