• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Complete newbie...

BernyB

Lurker
Jul 11, 2010
I've seen a lot of threads about rooting vs. stock. I know that there is a significant amount of difference from one to the other. It's been compared as day to night. What my main question is what differences did you notice right away? I'm currently running stock but am seriously thinking about rooting and going with a custom rom. My main issues are the lag with the phone.

I'm already pro-rooting but would like to know your experience from before to after you did it. Also can a novice learn how to root and switch back if needed?

I've seen a lot of threads about rooting vs. stock. I know that there is a significant amount of difference from one to the other. It's been compared as day to night. What my main question is what differences did you notice right away? I'm currently running stock but am seriously thinking about rooting and going with a custom rom. My main issues are the lag with the phone.

I'm already pro-rooting but would like to know your experience from before to after you did it. Also can a novice learn how to root and switch back if needed?

Root, you'll be much happier and will have a brand new phone:)

Look for everything root http://androidforums.com/sprint-her...g-guide-updated-7-10pm-est-aug-30-2010-a.html

It all depends what you want with your phone. If you like the Sense UI go with one of these: Fresh [ROM] 08/30/10 | Fresh Hero 2.4.0 | Incremental Update For Freshness - xda-developers or Zen [ROM] Zen-ROM Updated 08-30-2010. - xda-developers or NFX [ROM] NFX-Hero 2.2.1.update1, 9/5/2010 Friendstream+Deodexed/ODEX+JIT & more - xda-developers

if you want an AOSP rom (vanilla android os) go with froyo [ROM] CyanogenMod-6 for Hero CDMA - V6.0.0 (09/18/2010) - xda-developers

Best advice I can give you is read as much as you:)

DO NOT FLASH ANYTHING GSM RELATED:mad:

ONLY CDMA:D

Upvote 0