1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Complete Newbie's Guide to rooting and flashing Evo V 4G ROMs/Kernels using fastboot

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jerofld, May 29, 2012.

  1. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,687
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,269
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
    Yes, after installing Recovery Control (or Recovery Updater), it will ask if you are S-ON / Unlocked with HTC dev. You say yes and it will make it so you will not need to use fastboot except with some experimental ROMs. (Like the Sense 4.0 ROMs require fastboot)

    I have a guide on how to set up the Android SDK here: http://androidforums.com/evo-3d-all...ng-fastboot-updated-3-17-a-2.html#post4131303
     

    Advertisement

  2. wigginst

    wigginst Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    917
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011

    Aug 12, 2011
    917
    58
    78
    That's what I followed for the full sdk but the sdk manager never opened after the install to do the rest and I can't get it to open now.
     
  3. wigginst

    wigginst Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    917
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011

    Aug 12, 2011
    917
    58
    78
    Rooting 2 triumphs was a cakewalk compared to this.
     
  4. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,687
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,269
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
    Something must be wrong with your computer if it can't load fastboot via mini-sdk and android SDK. Try a reboot and maybe even disabling your anti-virus/firewalls before your next attempt.

    I have Comodo firewall and it tries to block fastboot all the time.
     
  5. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    823
    Skaro
    @wigginst - What OS are you running?
     
  6. jmz

    jmz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    562
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010

    Apr 24, 2010
    562
    571
    163
    Java installed?
     
  7. armeN0317

    armeN0317 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    135
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011

    Jul 2, 2011
    135
    60
    53
    I've found its best to this with a Windows XP computer. For the newbies Windows 7 may pose some challenges.

    by the way if you are running this on windows 7... make sure you open command prompt as an administrator. Right click and click run as administrator.
     
    Ploni Almoni and jerofld like this.
  8. flutie98

    flutie98 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012

    Jun 3, 2012
    48
    5
    16
    Is it possible to undo the HTCdev unlock and root process. Im just trying to gauge if this will insta-kill any warranty claim.
     
  9. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,687
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,269
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
    It will say "Re-Locked" at the top if you unlock and then lock, again. So the watermark will always be there.
     
  10. wigginst

    wigginst Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    917
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011

    Aug 12, 2011
    917
    58
    78
  11. koopakid08

    koopakid08 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    772
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011

    Mar 14, 2011
    772
    165
    93
    Behind you
  12. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,687
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,269
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
    That video pre-dates the HTC method. Also, in order to flash a RUU, you need to lock the device, first. I don't recall if flashing a RUU will revert it from Re-Locked to simply Locked, but I don't think it does.

    And that RUU listed in the guide you linked is an older Sprint one. It won't flash on a 1.5x HBOOT, as you have to flash the same revision or a higher one unless you're S-OFF.
     
    agentc13 likes this.
  13. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    823
    Skaro
    Your RUU has to flash the version for your phone or it won't work. So to be able to flash on on the Evo V 4g, you would need that specific RUU (and I don't think it has been leaked yet).

    I do believe it restores it to "Locked" on the bootloader though (at least I am pretty sure it did for my One S, and I would assume it would be the same for any device).
     
  14. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    823
    Skaro
    Did you install JRE, that is what the SDK needs in order to work.
     
  15. koopakid08

    koopakid08 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    772
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011

    Mar 14, 2011
    772
    165
    93
    Behind you
    So basically, we need to wait for the RUU to leak to return to complete stock?

    Or if we have S-off, could we use a sprint RUU and then turn S-on using
    fastboot?
    EDIT:
    It looks like flashing an RUU does restore it to locked. From XDA:

     
    jerofld likes this.
  16. wigginst

    wigginst Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    917
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011

    Aug 12, 2011
    917
    58
    78
    At this point I have:

    Downloaded and installed JDK and JRE
    SDK Tools
    The Recovery Image
    The Full SDK

    I have opened the command prompt with and without adminstrator.

    I have disabled the virus software.

    Have had the phone connected and not connected when trying. Even had it in bootloader mode once.

    And I still get the fastboot error in the command prompt window. It switches to the sdk-tools fine but as soon as i type in fastboot I get the error.

    I greatly appreciate everyones help and suggestions but this seems to be getting nowhere slowly.....Apparently not enough of an android ninja to pull this off.
     
  17. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    823
    Skaro
    Where did you install the full sdk?
     
  18. wigginst

    wigginst Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    917
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011

    Aug 12, 2011
    917
    58
    78
    Full SDK installed to Android folder within program file (x86)
     
  19. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    823
    Skaro
    Well, you need to make sure you are in that directory (in cmd.exe) in order to do the fastboot command.
    So C:\Program Files (x86)\Android\android-sdk\platform-tools is where the fastboot.exe is? Did you cd to the correct place?
     
  20. flutie98

    flutie98 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012

    Jun 3, 2012
    48
    5
    16
    What are the odds that the RUU will leak for the EVO V? I pretty much know Ill root it the second I activate it (waiting till the end of the billing cycle 6/11). But god forbid something were to happen to it I would love the ability to reset the things back to default for warranty purposes.
     
  21. jmz

    jmz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    562
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010

    Apr 24, 2010
    562
    571
    163
    There are ruu leaks out already. I just need someone to post their software version. If the leaks aren't the shipped version I can get the shipped version
     
    Ploni Almoni likes this.
  22. punkmaxx

    punkmaxx Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    475
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011

    Aug 23, 2011
    475
    291
    88
    Male
    Music Producer, Arborist, General Contractor
    West Virginia
    Here is from my evo v 4g...
     

    Attached Files:

  23. swerver32

    swerver32 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011

    Nov 29, 2011
    345
    66
    53
    Seattle
    Thanks for the great guide! Followed it and it all went down just like you said. One thing was different, flashing the rom was very fast for me, seconds actually... it was so fast, the first time I didn't even see what happened, it rebooted and I assumed it f'd up. Did it again and it was just as fast but saw that the messages looked ok, sure enough it was rooted.
     
    jerofld likes this.
  24. piratesscareme

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012

    Jun 3, 2012
    19
    3
    16
    thanks for the great guide. It worked for me. I have one feedback. I can't find in it where it actually says to flash the superuser zip. I haven't put a new rom on it yet. It took me flashing the superuser zip three times to actually get root. Otherwise everything went great.
     
    jerofld likes this.
  25. jmz

    jmz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    562
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010

    Apr 24, 2010
    562
    571
    163
    The leak is same software version but has rc2 appended to it. Do you happen to be rooted?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...